Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Re-install - Auto Configure

  1. #1

    Default Re-install - Auto Configure

    Hi,
    Is there a way to get a list of all packages installed since install (that are currently on the system) and upon re-install run an application that will automatically install those packages. This would save greatly on initialisation time (the re-set up afterwards)
    Essentially, I want to re-install and/or move to another machine and want to the new install to reflect the system as it currently stands
    Kind Regards

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    4,654

    Default Re: Re-install - Auto Configure

    rpm -qa
    gives you alist of all packages on the system. From this output you now just
    need to write a script which reduces every line to the basename and a script
    which calls a "zypper in" for every line.

    --
    PC: oS 11.3 64 bit | Intel Core2 Quad Q8300@2.50GHz | KDE 4.6.1 | GeForce
    9600 GT | 4GB Ram
    Eee PC 1201n: oS 11.4 64 bit | Intel Atom 330@1.60GHz | KDE 4.6.0 | nVidia
    ION | 3GB Ram

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    4,654

    Default Re: Re-install - Auto Configure

    martin_helm wrote:

    > rpm -qa
    > gives you alist of all packages on the system. From this output you now
    > just need to write a script which reduces every line to the basename and a
    > script which calls a "zypper in" for every line.
    >

    As an alternative to this handmade solution (I guess some people already did
    it and I am sure they are willing to share their scripts) have a look at
    autoyast.

    Install the package autoyast2 and afterwards you will find a new module in
    yast which is named 'automatic installation' or similar. Have a look if that
    is what you want.

    --
    PC: oS 11.3 64 bit | Intel Core2 Quad Q8300@2.50GHz | KDE 4.6.1 | GeForce
    9600 GT | 4GB Ram
    Eee PC 1201n: oS 11.4 64 bit | Intel Atom 330@1.60GHz | KDE 4.6.0 | nVidia
    ION | 3GB Ram

Similar Threads

  1. Graphics Problem .. sax2 unable to auto configure
    By sks143suse in forum Hardware
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 25-Feb-2009, 19:22
  2. How can I auto configure windows mount?
    By devanski in forum Install/Boot/Login
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 05-Feb-2009, 07:26
  3. TV Card new auto-configure
    By allesquarks in forum Hardware
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-Jul-2008, 08:09
  4. Install error on Auto Configure phase,Opensuse 11.0
    By freecutelei in forum Install/Boot/Login
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 23-Jun-2008, 04:32

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •