Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Help with 3G Mobile Broadband. I know it can work, now it really matters. (11.4 KDE)

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Riverside, Ca.
    Posts
    220

    Default Help with 3G Mobile Broadband. I know it can work, now it really matters. (11.4 KDE)

    YaST hardware profiler info:

    YaST hardware info 1 - Pastebin.com

    I would really like to get this to work. This has worked before in a previous install, though it broke when I closed the laptop. It does not work at all in the current install, never did. The Mobile Broadband tab in NetworkManager is inaccessible.

    Being qualcomm chipset it uses the qcserial driver.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Ελλάδα(Αθήνα)-Россия (г. Красноярск)
    Posts
    1,711

    Default Απ: Help with 3G Mobile Broadband. I know it can work, now it really matters. (11.4 KDE)

    Πάντα Φιλικά, Στάμος.
    Desktop: openSUSE Leap 15.3||x86_64||Gnome 3.14 & KDE 5||AMD Ryzen 7 8 core||Nvidia GTX 1080 Ti Gaming Edition
    Γλώσσες Προγραμματισμού: C++, Qt developing.
    http://bit.ly/fT8Hfi

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Riverside, Ca.
    Posts
    220

    Default Re: Help with 3G Mobile Broadband. I know it can work, now it really matters. (11.4 KDE)

    The "Mobile Broadband" tab is greyed out and cannot be selected.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    23,708
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Help with 3G Mobile Broadband. I know it can work, now it really matters. (11.4 KDE)

    Just a thought: Do you have rfkill installed? My HP laptop uses a different chipset {03f0:171d Hewlett-Packard Wireless (Bluetooth + WLAN) Interface [Integrated Module]}, but I rmember when I first installed 11.3, I needed to enable the WLAN device with rfkill first, before I could configure with network IIRC.

    For reference:

    Code:
     rfkill list
    0: hci0: Bluetooth
            Soft blocked: no
            Hard blocked: no
    1: hp-wifi: Wireless LAN
            Soft blocked: no
            Hard blocked: no
    2: hp-bluetooth: Bluetooth
            Soft blocked: no
            Hard blocked: no
    3: hp-wwan: Wireless WAN
            Soft blocked: no
            Hard blocked: no

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Riverside, Ca.
    Posts
    220

    Default Re: Help with 3G Mobile Broadband. I know it can work, now it really matters. (11.4 KDE)

    0: hp-wifi: Wireless LAN
    Soft blocked: no
    Hard blocked: no
    1: hp-bluetooth: Bluetooth
    Soft blocked: no
    Hard blocked: no
    2: hp-wwan: Wireless WAN
    Soft blocked: no
    Hard blocked: no
    6: hci0: Bluetooth
    Soft blocked: no
    Hard blocked: no
    THeres my rfkill output. Thats all I know.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Riverside, Ca.
    Posts
    220

    Default Re: Help with 3G Mobile Broadband. I know it can work, now it really matters. (11.4 KDE)

    Ok. I replaced the faulty plasmoid network manager with the Gnome one. Now I have access to the Mobile Broadband and can add connections. However, those connections do not show after being configured.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Riverside, Ca.
    Posts
    220

    Lightbulb Re: Help with 3G Mobile Broadband. I know it can work, now it really matters. (11.4 KDE)

    Ok. So now I have looked into Network Manager as the culprit. Here is some debugging goodness.

    ModemManager
    SUSE Paste

    NetworkManager (Gnome)
    SUSE Paste

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Ελλάδα(Αθήνα)-Россия (г. Красноярск)
    Posts
    1,711

    Default Απ: Re: Help with 3G Mobile Broadband. I know it can work, now it really matters. (11.4 KDE)

    Quote Originally Posted by Shadowolf7 View Post
    Ok. So now I have looked into Network Manager as the culprit. Here is some debugging goodness.

    ModemManager
    SUSE Paste

    NetworkManager (Gnome)
    SUSE Paste
    Try on network manager this technique who I have given, So you can install your 3G mobile broadband.
    First go to start menu-->computer-->yast
    And then Yast-->network devices-->network settings and disable network card.
    Πάντα Φιλικά, Στάμος.
    Desktop: openSUSE Leap 15.3||x86_64||Gnome 3.14 & KDE 5||AMD Ryzen 7 8 core||Nvidia GTX 1080 Ti Gaming Edition
    Γλώσσες Προγραμματισμού: C++, Qt developing.
    http://bit.ly/fT8Hfi

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Riverside, Ca.
    Posts
    220

    Default Re: Help with 3G Mobile Broadband. I know it can work, now it really matters. (11.4 KDE)

    I assume you mean the broadband card? I don't know which one that is in the list. Warning: control with NetworkManager.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Ελλάδα(Αθήνα)-Россия (г. Красноярск)
    Posts
    1,711

    Default Απ: Re: Help with 3G Mobile Broadband. I know it can work, now it really matters. (11.4 KDE)

    Quote Originally Posted by Shadowolf7 View Post
    I assume you mean the broadband card? I don't know which one that is in the list. Warning: control with NetworkManager.
    Sorry for misunderstanding, No the broadband card I mean your network card.
    Πάντα Φιλικά, Στάμος.
    Desktop: openSUSE Leap 15.3||x86_64||Gnome 3.14 & KDE 5||AMD Ryzen 7 8 core||Nvidia GTX 1080 Ti Gaming Edition
    Γλώσσες Προγραμματισμού: C++, Qt developing.
    http://bit.ly/fT8Hfi

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •