Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 39

Thread: EDITTED : Gnome3 packages now in the official repos

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Groningen, Netherlands
    Posts
    20,925
    Blog Entries
    14

    Default EDITTED : Gnome3 packages now in the official repos

    Edit: DO NOT USE THIS REPO YET, YOU MAY RUN INTO SERIOUS TROUBLE !!


    Hi all,

    For those who waited for GNOME3 to appear in the stable repos:

    Index of /repositories/GNOME:/STABLE:/3.0/openSUSE_11.4

    Enjoy
    Last edited by Knurpht; 16-Apr-2011 at 03:52.
    ° Appreciate my reply? Click the star and let me know why.

    ° Perfection is not gonna happen. No way.

    http://en.opensuse.org/User:Knurpht
    http://nl.opensuse.org/Gebruiker:Knurpht

  2. #2

    Default Re: Gnome3 packages now in the official repos

    Ive added it to the repo , how do I get it installed ?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Groningen, Netherlands
    Posts
    20,925
    Blog Entries
    14

    Default Re: Gnome3 packages now in the official repos

    Quote Originally Posted by Tw4T View Post
    Ive added it to the repo , how do I get it installed ?
    Haven't found out yet.
    ° Appreciate my reply? Click the star and let me know why.

    ° Perfection is not gonna happen. No way.

    http://en.opensuse.org/User:Knurpht
    http://nl.opensuse.org/Gebruiker:Knurpht

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Montreal, Québec
    Posts
    833

    Default Re : Re: Gnome3 packages now in the official repos

    Does a zypper dup do the trick ?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Fairfax, VA
    Posts
    5

    Default Re: Re : Re: Gnome3 packages now in the official repos

    Apparently, it does! I just did a zypper dup and had no dependency issues. Just make sure that the Gnome stable repo has the same priority as the other ones.

    best,

    Javier

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Montreal, Québec
    Posts
    833

    Default Re : Re: Re : Re: Gnome3 packages now in the official repos

    Cool, happy it worked.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    India
    Posts
    303

    Default Re: Re : Re: Re : Re: Gnome3 packages now in the official repos

    Well I am in trouble here.

    I added the repo then did
    Code:
    zypper dup
    After the installation completed I tried to logout (from Gnome 3 shell) but couldn't. A notification appeared saying "cannot find gnome save session" or something similar.

    Then pressed ctrl+alt+F2 then used the reboot command as root

    After booting the new looking login screen appeared but after typing my password when I tried to login it said "something has gone wrong" and the only option which I see there is logout.

    Please help.
    openSUSE Leap 15
    You aren't rich until you have something that money can't buy.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    India
    Posts
    303

    Default Re: Re : Re: Re : Re: Gnome3 packages now in the official repos

    Quote Originally Posted by suse_kid View Post
    Well I am in trouble here.

    I added the repo then did
    Code:
    zypper dup
    After the installation completed I tried to logout (from Gnome 3 shell) but couldn't. A notification appeared saying "cannot find gnome save session" or something similar.

    Then pressed ctrl+alt+F2 then used the reboot command as root

    After booting the new looking login screen appeared but after typing my password when I tried to login it said "something has gone wrong" and the only option which I see there is logout.

    Please help.
    I have created thread for this please reply there. I shoul have done that in the first place. I just got hassled

    Here is the thread
    Cannot login after upgrading to Gnome 3
    openSUSE Leap 15
    You aren't rich until you have something that money can't buy.

  9. #9

    Default Re: Re : Re: Re : Re: Gnome3 packages now in the official repos

    Is it possible to install it as a separate desktop, ie. selectable from the login screen. So I have the option to choose Gnome2 or Gnome3 ? If so, How would I do it ?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Barcelona, Spain
    Posts
    35

    Default Re: Gnome3 packages now in the official repos

    Hi!
    I just made the "zypper ar repo", "zypper ref + zypper dup" and reboot my laptop. Gnome 3 doesn't work because some problem with my accel vga hardware. Then reboot from root shell account (it's impossible to use the "Off" gnome menu), nothing...
    Then I install the nvidia driver (up today, I was running with nouveau driver), reboot but I have the same persistent problem...

    Anyboy could help me, please?

    Thanks a lot.

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •