Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: Dolphin: What is the point of a reload button that does nothing?

  1. #1

    Default Dolphin: What is the point of a reload button that does nothing?

    Many times when I create a file or folder from an application, Dolphin
    fails to show it automatically. I click on the reload button and it still
    doesn't show it. I have to use "find files/folders" to show the new file/
    folder. It really shouldn't be necessary to logoff and logon just in
    order to refresh Dolphin.


    --
    Graham Davis, Bracknell, Berks. E-mail: change boy to man
    openSUSE 11.4; KDE 4.6.00; AMD Athlon X2 Dual Core Processor 5000+;
    Video: Radeon HD 2400 Pro; Sound: MCP61 HDA (nVidia); Wireless: BCM4318

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,723
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: Dolphin: What is the point of a reload button that does nothing?

    I don't see this.
    I'm using Gnome ATM, but I just switched to check in kde and it's fine
    Leap 15_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Earth - Denmark
    Posts
    10,730

    Default Re: Dolphin: What is the point of a reload button that does nothing?

    your system is broken...that is just not something i can reproduce
    here...i mean, i never have to even click reload...instead, i right
    click, pick "Create New" from the popup menu and there it is...every time..

    move, i have not seen another report with your complaint..

    so, i wonder what is going on _there_ which is unlike the thousands of
    others..

    lets start with this:

    -where did you get your install media?

    -did you do this prior to install http://tinyurl.com/2ebcf27 and receive
    no errors?

    -did you subsequently have any errors during install?

    -did you install while connected to the internet and did you allow the
    install to preform the updates during install?

    -if not, have you run Online Update?

    -is this Dolphin the only problem you have had since initial install? if
    not, during the fixing did you have any crashes?

    -what is your experience level with Linux in general and openSUSE in
    particular? i ask because i wonder if you have installed any software
    and how you generally do that...and, i ask you to please show us the
    output of entering the following into a terminal

    Code:
    zypper lr -d
    and copy/paste the output back to this thread using the instructions
    here: http://goo.gl/i3wnr

    from there, maybe we can begin to learn why your system is doing
    something it shouldn't be doing..

    --
    CAVEAT: http://is.gd/bpoMD
    [NNTP via openSUSE 11.3 + KDE4.5.5 + Thunderbird3.1.8]
    Maybe the developers are not here because they are so busy fixing these>
    http://tinyurl.com/392jnb

  4. #4

    Default Re: Dolphin: What is the point of a reload button that doesnothing?

    On Sun, 10 Apr 2011 17:36:02 +0000, caf4926 wrote:

    > I don't see this.
    > I'm using Gnome ATM, but I just switched to check in kde and it's fine


    I've been having this trouble to a small extent ever since switching to
    KDE4 - probably did that at 4.2 as earlier versions were barely beta -
    though occurrences of the problem seem to have become more frequent
    recently. Had to switch to Dolphin then as Konqueror was too dangerous.

    I might try Gnome again myself as KDE seems to be approaching - has
    reached? - bloatware status. Since 11.4, I've had several "black screens
    of death" incidents as memory, swap, and cpu use has climbed. Be
    interesting to see if they still occur under Gnome.

    --
    Graham Davis, Bracknell, Berks. E-mail: change boy to man
    openSUSE 11.4; KDE 4.6.00; AMD Athlon X2 Dual Core Processor 5000+;
    Video: Radeon HD 2400 Pro; Sound: MCP61 HDA (nVidia); Wireless: BCM4318

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Groningen, Netherlands
    Posts
    19,476
    Blog Entries
    14

    Default Re: Dolphin: What is the point of a reload button that doesnothing?

    @Cloddy: I've seen these things, most of the time it was enough to "rebuild" the desktop appearance by removing the plasma config files.

    I don't see the Dolphin problem here , not on machines I manage. Does F5 also not work?
    ° Appreciate my reply? Click the star and let me know why.

    ° Perfection is not gonna happen. No way.

    https://en.opensuse.org/openSUSE:Board#Members
    http://en.opensuse.org/User:Knurpht
    http://nl.opensuse.org/Gebruiker:Knurpht

  6. #6

    Default Re: Dolphin: What is the point of a reload button that doesnothing?

    I've been experiencing this problem with Dolphin for years although it
    has only very recently become a major irritant. This has involved
    numerous clean installs of various releases of openSUSE and has spread
    across a change from ext3 to ext4.

    Install media is Verbatim DVD+RW, I've done media checks - all
    successful, had no install errors. Machine is not wired to internet so
    updates are always run immediately after installation and wireless has
    been set up.

    Since installing 11.4, the machine is seeming a little arthritic and, if
    left on for two or three days it will usually freeze screen, mouse and
    keyboard and require a hard reboot.

    I've been using SuSE since about release 7 but that doesn't mean that I'm
    experienced. ;-)

    Software always installed via YAST.

    Haven't included the list of repos as the problem shows up when only the
    default ones are there from the initial installation.

    --
    Graham Davis, Bracknell, Berks. E-mail: change boy to man
    openSUSE 11.4; KDE 4.6.00; AMD Athlon X2 Dual Core Processor 5000+;
    Video: Radeon HD 2400 Pro; Sound: MCP61 HDA (nVidia); Wireless: BCM4318

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,723
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: Dolphin: What is the point of a reload button that doesnothing?

    Graham,

    This sure is odd. When you say fresh install, does that include a new /home, with no crud from some old kde3 system?
    Leap 15_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Earth - Denmark
    Posts
    10,730

    Default Re: Dolphin: What is the point of a reload button that does nothing?

    On 04/10/2011 09:32 PM, Graham Peter Davis wrote:
    > Haven't included the list of repos as the problem shows up when only the
    > default ones are there from the initial installation.


    i wish to, but i can't help you because i can't duplicate your problem,
    and neither can anyone i know of..


    so, please explain _exactly_ what you do and how you do it to produce
    this error...then, maybe someone can find a way to help..

    like:

    do you only have the problem when running Dolphin as a regular user?
    or, only when using Dolphin as root?

    do the newly created folders/files always appear if created in your
    /home, but never if created outside your /home ? (or vice versa)

    or, do they always appear on your machine, but never on a machine
    reachable via the net, in and in another town?

    or, they always appear on your USB attached drive, but never on your
    internal hard drive?

    or, they always appear on a windows machine on your network, but never
    on your USB stick... or always on a networked Mac..

    or always on Vista and never on Win7

    always on sda1 but never on sdb5 ?

    in short: explain the "many times" in your initial post

    or, make a new partition, install 11.4 on it from a perfect media
    checked iso, never add anything to the system other than by YaST or
    zypper from these four repos only: oss, non-oss, update and packman..

    and tell me if you see the problem again.

    --
    CAVEAT: http://is.gd/bpoMD
    [NNTP via openSUSE 11.3 + KDE4.5.5 + Thunderbird3.1.8]
    Maybe the developers are not here because they are so busy fixing these>
    http://tinyurl.com/392jnb

  9. #9

    Default Re: Dolphin: What is the point of a reload button that does nothing?

    I sometimes see this problem when files are created outside dolphin or even copied with dolphin. I have a "clean" 11.3 X86-64 installation with KDE. When I say clean I did not delete all the directories starting with . in my home directory. 3 or 4 days ago I was testing an external USB disk and used dolphin to copy a directory tree containing about 12 GB of photos. Dolphin would not display any of the copied files until it was stopped and restarted. I do get problems with dolphin not displaying files created by application. This problem is intermittent but annoying. I suspect that this is a caching or memory overwrite problem

    I think that I also saw this problem with 11.1 which was also a "clean" install. It appears to me that the KDE project is more interested in producing clever graphics than producing a stable and working system. This is why I now use firefox and thunderbird and lightning. I am about to start looking at a replacement for dolphin

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Earth - Denmark
    Posts
    10,730

    Default Re: Dolphin: What is the point of a reload button that does nothing?

    On 04/11/2011 12:06 AM, vindevienne wrote:
    >
    > I sometimes see this problem ... This problem is intermittent


    if either of you can find a reproducible problem, then you should file a
    bug..

    see, its relatively easy to find a reproducible problem--just the next
    time it happens do the same thing again, and if it happens again and
    again file a bug..

    > It appears to me that the KDE project is more interested in
    > producing clever graphics than producing a stable and working system.


    i agree


    > This is why I now use firefox and thunderbird and lightning.


    use what works for you, i do


    > I am about to start looking at a replacement for dolphin


    there are tons of options, but i can't imagine anything better than
    Konqueror in the GUI and Midnight Commander in the CLI..

    --
    CAVEAT: http://is.gd/bpoMD
    [NNTP via openSUSE 11.3 + KDE4.5.5 + Thunderbird3.1.8]
    Maybe the developers are not here because they are so busy fixing these>
    http://tinyurl.com/392jnb

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •