Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: Is it Possbile

  1. #1

    Default Is it Possbile

    That one day Opensuse will have on release of a
    11+ new system will have a working wireless.

    Before the questions start flowing.

    I have read Iwfinger stickies.
    I have spent hours possibly day's if you add them.
    Trying to get wireless to work

    This weekend I downloaded the following systems.
    Fedora 14, Ubuntu 10.10, Mint,PClinux to my laptop.
    All gave wireless out of the box, Suse 11.4 did not.

    Is this a rant NO, I have run opensuse on my main system
    since 9,And love it.

    In the past I have just jumped to WICD, but does work in 11.4
    It installs but does not load,with errors line 54 in modules, and more often
    dbus error.

    While looking for a cure You cannot help but notice how many others
    struggle with the same problem.

    Does anyone expect a cure sometime soon??

    Feel free to tell me the above is not true.

    I do run 11.4 on my main with much video conversation
    and its great.

    rushman

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Podunk
    Posts
    32,324
    Blog Entries
    15

    Default Re: Is it Possbile

    On Sun, 2011-04-10 at 11:06 +0000, rushman wrote:
    > That one day Opensuse will have on release of a
    > 11+ new system will have a working wireless.
    >
    > Before the questions start flowing.
    >
    > I have read Iwfinger stickies.
    > I have spent hours possibly day's if you add them.
    > Trying to get wireless to work
    >
    > This weekend I downloaded the following systems.
    > Fedora 14, Ubuntu 10.10, Mint,PClinux to my laptop.
    > All gave wireless out of the box, Suse 11.4 did not.
    >
    > Is this a rant NO, I have run opensuse on my main system
    > since 9,And love it.
    >
    > In the past I have just jumped to WICD, but does work in 11.4
    > It installs but does not load,with errors line 54 in modules, and more
    > often
    > dbus error.
    >
    > While looking for a cure You cannot help but notice how many others
    > struggle with the same problem.
    >
    > Does anyone expect a cure sometime soon??
    >
    > Feel free to tell me the above is not true.
    >
    > I do run 11.4 on my main with much video conversation
    > and its great.
    >
    > rushman
    >
    >

    Hi
    Not running KDE are you? My netbook works fine with Atheros chipset, but
    I use the Gnome DE.

    --
    Cheers Malcolm (Linux Counter #276890)
    SUSE Linux Enterprise Desktop 11 (x86_64) Kernel 2.6.32.29-0.3-default
    up 3 days 21:58, 2 users, load average: 1.12, 1.14, 1.15
    GPU GeForce 8600 GTS Silent - Driver Version: 260.19.26


  3. #3

    Default Re: Is it Possbile

    Hi,

    Yes I am running KDE, but I did give 11.4 gnome cd a go
    but the result was exactly the same.

    I am begging to wonder if suse are content to let the very helpful
    bods on here sort a problem that should not have been there
    in thr first place.
    regards
    jim

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Podunk
    Posts
    32,324
    Blog Entries
    15

    Default Re: Is it Possbile

    On Sun, 2011-04-10 at 14:36 +0000, rushman wrote:
    > Hi,
    >
    > Yes I am running KDE, but I did give 11.4 gnome cd a go
    > but the result was exactly the same.
    >
    > I am begging to wonder if suse are content to let the very helpful
    > bods on here sort a problem that should not have been there
    > in thr first place.
    > regards
    > jim
    >
    >

    Hi
    So if you don't use the network manager and define the wireless
    connection via YaST, does it work?

    Some people have been dropping the KDE NetworkManager and using the
    Gnome one...

    --
    Cheers Malcolm (Linux Counter #276890)
    SUSE Linux Enterprise Desktop 11 (x86_64) Kernel 2.6.32.29-0.3-default
    up 3 days 22:36, 2 users, load average: 1.42, 1.43, 1.37
    GPU GeForce 8600 GTS Silent - Driver Version: 260.19.26


  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Kansas City Area, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    7,236

    Default Re: Is it Possbile

    On 04/10/2011 09:41 AM, malcolmlewis wrote:
    > On Sun, 2011-04-10 at 14:36 +0000, rushman wrote:
    >> Hi,
    >>
    >> Yes I am running KDE, but I did give 11.4 gnome cd a go
    >> but the result was exactly the same.
    >>
    >> I am begging to wonder if suse are content to let the very helpful
    >> bods on here sort a problem that should not have been there
    >> in thr first place.
    >> regards
    >> jim
    >>
    >>

    > Hi
    > So if you don't use the network manager and define the wireless
    > connection via YaST, does it work?
    >
    > Some people have been dropping the KDE NetworkManager and using the
    > Gnome one...


    For me, KDE networkmanager works. I have no idea where your problem lies, but
    I'm not sure you understood the stickies. At least you have not followed one of
    them. Your posting has a very generic title, and you supplied no real
    information. You gave a variation of "My wireless doesn't work".

    Many of the problems that occur in this release are in handling of the rfkill
    switch for some kinds of laptops. If your computer has a real on/off switch like
    mine, then there is not a problem. If it has a function key that needs support
    of a Windows Management Interface (WMI) routine, then it may not work for your
    model. What model do you have? Oh, you didn't say!

    You may also have a wireless device whose driver is broken in 2.6.37. As you
    carefully failed to tell us what you have, how would we know? What kernel
    versions are in all those other distros you tried?

    If either of the above problems describe your situation, please be aware that
    they are kernel problems and openSUSE does not control them.

    Now, please drop the attitude and supply useful information. Once you do, I will
    try to help you.

  6. #6

    Default Re: Is it Possbile

    Hi,

    I have no attitude.

    I did even thank bods like you.

    And yes I followed your to stickies and yes I
    tried rfkill switch which did not remove acer on.
    and I have now removed removed the acer on off.



    I am not here to push for help, I will not reinstall
    11.4 on my laptop until such times as they put right
    the problem.
    I would surgest you look accross the internet and see
    just how many are haveing the problem.If there was not
    a problem you would not have 2 stickies, don't me so touchy.

    I have given my thoughts as to how I see it.11.4 it is not for first
    time or users without knowledge of the command line,
    and i know that you and others do your best to help them.
    That does not alter the fact that something is flawed in the system.

    New users should be able to install and access without problems.

    Instead of putting me down,put your great knowledge to work on
    an update, that please many want to users. It would be nice if you attacked
    the cause and not the problems.

    please do no take this personnell you give avery good service.

    In closeing my wifi works with ifup.

    regards

    jim

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    25,547

    Default Re: Is it Possbile

    On 2011-04-10 20:06, rushman wrote:
    > Instead of putting me down,put your great knowledge to work on
    > an update,


    We are not support personnel. You are barking at the wrong tree.

    --
    Cheers / Saludos,

    Carlos E. R.
    (from 11.2 x86_64 "Emerald" at Telcontar)

  8. #8

    Default Re: Is it Possbile

    Quote Originally Posted by robin_listas View Post
    On 2011-04-10 20:06, rushman wrote:
    > Instead of putting me down,put your great knowledge to work on
    > an update,


    We are not support personnel. You are barking at the wrong tree.

    --
    Cheers / Saludos,

    Carlos E. R.
    (from 11.2 x86_64 "Emerald" at Telcontar)
    It would be nice if you took the trouble to read the post.
    I asked a question about the future of suse..
    It just required answer of YES or No with your comments.

    I did not ask for support.

    there are no trees here so dogs do not bark up them.

    I am part of a small group of growing linux user here,
    most of which do not use 11.4 If as iwfinger says
    its a Kernel problem then don't use 37 I am useing 38
    from tumbleweed and the problem is still there.
    The problem is knetworkmanager.

    jim

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    West Yorkshire, UK
    Posts
    3,611

    Default Re: Is it Possbile

    I don't think the issue is anything to do with openSUSE in the future. Wireless has worked out of the box for me with openSUSE KDE for several years.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    23,698
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Is it Possbile

    I am not here to push for help, I will not reinstall
    11.4 on my laptop until such times as they put right
    the problem.
    I would surgest you look accross the internet and see
    just how many are haveing the problem.If there was not
    a problem you would not have 2 stickies, don't me so touchy.
    I have given my thoughts as to how I see it.11.4 it is not for first
    time or users without knowledge of the command line,
    and i know that you and others do your best to help them.
    That does not alter the fact that something is flawed in the system.
    Then you should really have posted this in the Soapbox forum as you're not requesting help. You haven't supplied enough information that would allow anyone to assist anyway....

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •