Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Microphone problem Alsa / Pulse audio

Default Microphone problem Alsa / Pulse audio

Hello.

I have some microphone problems. I can't record anything. (I'm using openSUSE 11.3)

My sound card was detected almost correctly (at least the chip-set was i think). I have an Asrock motherboard (k7upgrade880, with a Southbridge: VIA 8237 | Audio: CMedia CMI9761 6 channel AC'97.

I ran these commands so far with these results - while i was following the audio troubleshooting guide (SDB:Audio troubleshooting - openSUSE

cat /proc/asound/version
    Advanced Linux Sound Architecture Driver Version 1.0.22.1.

cat /proc/asound/modules
    0 snd_via82xx

cat /proc/asound/cards
    0 [V8237 ]: VIA8237 - VIA 8237
    VIA 8237 with CMI9761A+ at 0xd000, irq 22

But i have NO audio playback problems - movies, games, music all play well.
    And the Microphone guid has a broken link

I tried to change my 50-sound.conf file (i read it on a forum, I'm new to linux troubleshooting) from this:
    options snd slots=snd-via82xx
    to this:
    options snd slots=snd-via82xx position_fix=1
    But that did not work either. I did not get any sound with the last line.

Any suggestions, what kind of information you guys need to help whit my problem? Or some guides that i can follow?

Thanks.

Default Re : Microphone problem Alsa / Pulse audio

When you are using Pulse Audio, start pavucontrol (control volume of Pulse Audio in the Multimedia category of the menu) and check in the input tab if the right microphone is selected. You'll see automatically if it works in this application.

Also, check with alsamixer that all the volume related to the mic are at a right level.

Blog Entries

Default Re: Microphone problem Alsa / Pulse audio

Quote Originally Posted by yrott View Post
    I tried to change my 50-sound.conf file (i read it on a forum, I'm new to linux troubleshooting) from this:
    to this:
    options snd slots=snd-via82xx position_fix=1