Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 20

Thread: Can't log in to GUI after clone

  1. #1

    Default Can't log in to GUI after clone

    I am having a problem logging into the GUI after I cloned this system from another drive.

    System A and System B are essentially identical except for hostname, IP, and some nfs mappings. System B's HD went bad. I bought a new drive of the same size, but Western Digital instead of Samsung. I used CloneZilla to copy all of System A's drive to the new System B's drive. I mounted the drive into System B, booted with a SUSE 11.4 Live CD, and edited fstab and menu.lst to reflect the ID of the new drive. Everything works well until it gets to the graphical log in screen. I can't log in as either the user or root, however if I change the session type to "console", I can log in just fine.

    Does anyone have any suggestions on where to look?

    Tron

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    West Virginia Sector 13
    Posts
    16,287

    Default Re: Can't log in to GUI after clone

    Well, exactly how alike are they?

    Since you can get to the terminal prompts, log in as root and type init 3 then a enter and then init 5. See what errors you get?

  3. #3

    Default Re: Can't log in to GUI after clone

    Hardware wise, they are identical except for the brand of hard drive.

    I did the init 3 and init 5 commands and received no errors. It successfully entered each state.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    West Virginia Sector 13
    Posts
    16,287

    Default Re: Can't log in to GUI after clone

    But the GUI did not start when you did a init 5???

    Did you try a failsafe boot?

  5. #5

    Default Re: Can't log in to GUI after clone

    After I did an init 5 the GUI log in screen came back up, but with the same results. It doesn't act like a bad password, it seems to accept it, the screen goes black, and then it goes back to the log in screen again. I have seen this type of thing before on an old Debian system and it turned out that the /home partition was full. Not so in this case.

    No, I haven't tried a failsafe boot because I honestly don't know exactly what one does.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Phuket, Thailand
    Posts
    27,109
    Blog Entries
    40

    Default Re: Can't log in to GUI after clone

    Did you check to see if the /boot/grub/device.map needed editing also ?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Earth - Denmark
    Posts
    10,730

    Default Re: Can't log in to GUI after clone

    On 04/08/2011 05:06 PM, TronCarter wrote:
    >
    > I can't log in as either the user or root


    when you say "I can't log in as either the user or root" does that mean
    there are no blanks where you can type the user ID or "root"? [by the
    way, logging into the GUI as root should not be done]

    or does it mean you do type in the ID/Pass, hit enter then:
    -you get an error (what?)
    -the machine powers down?
    -the screen shows "no contact" or something like that and powers down?
    -the screen goes to a pure black/blank screen with no errors
    -or just what happens? exactly.


    > however if I change the session type to "console", I can log in just fine.


    you can log in as either user or root?
    using the same ID/Pass as system A?


    > Does anyone have any suggestions on where to look?


    a typo in fstab/meun.lst edit is where i would begin..

    on the other hand, if you log in and go to a blank screen, see here:
    http://en.opensuse.org/SDB:Configuring_graphics_cards

    --
    CAVEAT: http://is.gd/bpoMD [NNTP via openSUSE 11.3 + KDE4.5.5 +
    Thunderbird3.1.8] Can you believe it? This guy Ralph wins $181 million
    in the lottery last Wednesday, and then finds the love of his life just
    2 days later. Talk about LUCK!

  8. #8

    Default Re: Can't log in to GUI after clone

    I didn't do that before, but in just checking it I don't see anything out of the ordinary. If it were wrong, I would think that booting in the first place wouldn't occur.

    Also, failsafe produces the same results. I can log in from console but init 5 just brings up graphical log in and I can't get past it.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Phuket, Thailand
    Posts
    27,109
    Blog Entries
    40

    Default Re: Can't log in to GUI after clone

    Quote Originally Posted by TronCarter View Post
    I didn't do that before, but in just checking it I don't see anything out of the ordinary.
    Fair enough. Sometimes when cloning that also requires an edit, as it may have disk-by-id information.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Phuket, Thailand
    Posts
    27,109
    Blog Entries
    40

    Default Re: Can't log in to GUI after clone

    Did you check the /var/log/messages and /var/log/boot.msg and /var/log/Xorg.0.log files to see if they can provide any clues ?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •