inbound connection problem on huawei k3765

hi,

i’ve been using gnu/linux since 1999, so i guess i’m an experienced user. but this problem has completely flummoxed me.

last week i got this vodafone 3g connection on their huawei k3765 usb dongle. before this, i was using an ev-do connection on a zte dongle.

setting it up was a breeze, and it’s giving good speeds. i have no reason to complain, except inbound connections don’t work.

when i use the ev-do connection, inbound connections are successful. when i use the 3g connection, they fail.

i thought it was a firewall issue. so i tinkered with it using yast. when that didn’t work, i completely disabled the SuSEfirewall services in the runlevel editor, and rebooted. when the system came back up, ‘rcSuSEfirewall status’ returned ‘unused’, and ‘iptables-save’ returned a blank output.

i started the connection and then checked with ‘iptables-save’ again, and it was still blank.

however, inbound connections still didn’t work. i couldn’t ssh into my box, or even ping it. azureus showed ‘nat error’.

i thought maybe it had something to do with qinternet and smpppd. so i disabled those, and used wvdial instead.

still nothing.

i completely removed the leftover ev-do configs from the system, and deleted the corresponding interface in /etc/sysconfig/network/SuSEfirewall.

nothing.

so perhaps it is a hardware issue? maybe vodafone sold me a lemon? or maybe they aren’t forwarding certain ports?

no, because when i used the same modem on my laptop running ubuntu 10.04, IT WORKED BEAUTIFULLY!

azureus worked, ssh worked, everything worked.

i’m at my wit’s end. please advise.

thanks in advance.