Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Nepomuk problem

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    i am location
    Posts
    1,421

    Default Nepomuk problem

    Hi,
    today i wasn't really believing my eyes, but nepomuk did fill my home partition.
    As it turns out it was a log file that was 186GB big.
    I never did anything with that services, is this normal?
    As always > KDE 4.6 via 11.4 OpenSuse.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    i am location
    Posts
    1,421

    Default Re: Nepomuk problem

    I forgot to mention what data i am talking about.

    Its a file called soprano-virtuoso.log. It is located in /.kde4/share/apps/nepomuk/repository/main/data/virtuosobackend/

    This file tends to go in GBs.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    near Munich
    Posts
    507

    Default Re: Nepomuk problem

    This is strange, my log file contains about 8 kb. The .db file is the one
    that holds the data.

    Can you post some lines of the log file. Maybe there is a problem that is
    reported again and again.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    i am location
    Posts
    1,421

    Default Re: Nepomuk problem

    This is what is written into the file.

    Code:
    		Mon Apr 04 2011
    12:39:23 Reference to page with free remap dp = 33554432, remap = 33554432
    12:39:23 Reference to page with free remap dp = 33554432, remap = 33554432
    12:39:23 Reference to page with free remap dp = 33554432, remap = 33554432
    12:39:23 Reference to page with free remap dp = 33554432, remap = 33554432
    12:39:23 Reference to page with free remap dp = 33554432, remap = 33554432
    12:39:23 Reference to page with free remap dp = 33554432, remap = 33554432
    Honestly, i don't know what it means, but its getting repeated all over. Which in turn fills my harddrive till its full. The first time, i only had 4k left. So right now i disable Nepomuk but in turn applications behave strangely. mm..

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    i am location
    Posts
    1,421

    Default Re: Nepomuk problem

    Mm.. i tried something different. I moved all the files to a different folder.
    I mentioned that i reinstalled the system, right. Ok, here is what i did (which you don't want to do). I copied all .kde4 folder as a backup and played it back once i installed the system. Apparently you can not write datas like database back since it mismatched the system.
    Because right now, Nepomuk is on for 10 mins., the log file is empty.
    So it was my fault, but how knew. Yesterday i just really freaked out and the day before as my harddrive was just full for no reason.
    It seems to be solved now unless it starts again.

    Can you confirm that, about the database played back into a new installed system?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    near Munich
    Posts
    507

    Default Re: Nepomuk problem

    I also ran into problems when while upgrading nepomuk (don't know which
    version it was).
    Deleting the database solved the problem.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    i am location
    Posts
    1,421

    Default Re: Nepomuk problem

    I wished i know what it is writing in the database. On the first look, it should be the same system. Well, but it works now. Thanks.
    This time it was a simple solution.

    Almost thought, gee, is it leak or a virus.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    15

    Default Re: Nepomuk problem

    Same here, kde has been very verbose with all kinds of stuff trashing the .xsession-errors..

    In my opinion they should change it, because in my opinion it should be used for critical stuff or crashes...

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Berlin
    Posts
    2,061

    Default Re: Nepomuk problem

    This is definitely *not* a regular behaviour - my soprano-virtuoso.log contains this:


    Code:
    		Sun May 01 2011
    15:27:00 Virtuoso is already running (pid 3434)
    
    		Sun May 01 2011
    15:27:01 Unable to remove /home/kalle/.kde4/share/apps/nepomuk/repository/main/data/virtuosobackend/soprano-virtuoso.lck (No such file or directory)
    ...and that's it.

    However, google says that this problem has shown on several systems: →klick. At first glance I don't see a solution, though. Should be reported, I guess.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    i am location
    Posts
    1,421

    Default Re: Nepomuk problem

    Quote Originally Posted by demilord View Post
    Same here, kde has been very verbose with all kinds of stuff trashing the .xsession-errors..

    In my opinion they should change it, because in my opinion it should be used for critical stuff or crashes...
    I think it does. My mistake was, that i run a backup but you can NOT backup the database. It doesn't match anymore and thus will create errors on end. For that reason the database was growing and growing, well till the partition was full.
    Since i deleted it, i have no more problems.
    +++ ATH0

    . . . . . . . .
    LOGOFF COMPLETE

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •