Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Help needed with starting KDE

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    2

    Unhappy Help needed with starting KDE

    So, I recently installed the newest version of opensuse. I boot it up and log in as root user then type startx BUT then the screen does a few flickers of a black screen and i get some graphical errors.
    so i goto
    forums.opensuse.org/information-new-users/advanced-how-faq-read-only/438705-opensuse-graphic-card-practical-theory-guide-users.html

    i go through these steps thinking it might solve any problems
    Xorg -configure
    cp /root/xorg.conf.new /etc/X11/xorg.conf

    this did not solve any issues
    then i go here

    opensuse.org//SDB:Configuring_graphics_cards

    to try nomodeset but i get different errors after startx:

    fail to load vnc
    no devices detected
    fatal server error
    no screens found

    the same happens in failsafe mode

    Is there anything I'm not doing correctly to get the GUI to load?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    20,016
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Help needed with starting KDE

    1) We really need more info about your graphics card.

    Code:
    /sbin/lspci -nnk
    One of these might help single out the graphics card chipset details

    Code:
    /sbin/lspci -nnk|grep Graphics
    Code:
    /sbin/lspci -nnk|grep VGA
    Post the output here.

    Edit: Better advice.
    Last edited by deano_ferrari; 02-Apr-2011 at 19:01.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Earth - Denmark
    Posts
    10,730

    Default Re: Help needed with starting KDE

    On 04/03/2011 12:06 AM, 240 wrote:
    >
    > So, I recently installed the newest version of opensuse. I boot it up
    > and log in as root user then type startx


    that puts you in the GUI as root...which you don't really want,
    instead use init5 if root


    > Is there anything I'm not doing correctly to get the GUI to load?


    a default install of openSUSE 11.4 will boot directly to the GUI
    selected during install--why yours does not needs to be answered..

    and, i see 'vnc': are you working a distant machine, or in a VM?
    please give more info..

    --
    CAVEAT: http://is.gd/bpoMD
    Tried LibreOffice? Do that and help at http://is.gd/dZ9j2W
    [NNTP via openSUSE 11.3 + KDE4.5.5 + Thunderbird3.1.8]

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    San Diego, Ca, USA
    Posts
    10,842
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default Re: Help needed with starting KDE

    What video card are you using?
    If nVidia, see my post #323, from a CLI add the nVidia repository to update your driver to latest stable using zypper
    NVIDIA 260.19 Issues

    HTH,
    Tony

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    2

    Default Re: Help needed with starting KDE

    Quote Originally Posted by deano_ferrari View Post
    1) We really need more info about your graphics card.

    Code:
    /sbin/lspci -nnk
    One of these might help single out the graphics card chipset details

    Code:
    /sbin/lspci -nnk|grep Graphics
    Code:
    /sbin/lspci -nnk|grep VGA
    Post the output here.

    Edit: Better advice.

    there was a lot of output but heres the bit on VGA
    vga compatible controller [0300] :nVidia Corporation gf108 [geforce gt430] [10de:0de1] (rev a1)
    Subsystem: device [196e:0828]
    kernel driver in use :nouveau

    Quote Originally Posted by DenverD View Post
    On 04/03/2011 12:06 AM, 240 wrote:
    >
    > So, I recently installed the newest version of opensuse. I boot it up
    > and log in as root user then type startx


    that puts you in the GUI as root...which you don't really want,
    instead use init5 if root


    > Is there anything I'm not doing correctly to get the GUI to load?


    a default install of openSUSE 11.4 will boot directly to the GUI
    selected during install--why yours does not needs to be answered..

    and, i see 'vnc': are you working a distant machine, or in a VM?
    please give more info..

    --
    CAVEAT: C A V E A T
    Tried LibreOffice? Do that and help at Welcome LibreOffice Funding Challenge
    [NNTP via openSUSE 11.3 + KDE4.5.5 + Thunderbird3.1.8]
    I have no clue why it does not boot into the GUI
    I was also under the assumption that you need to be root user to startx
    and i am in init 5 :S
    i typed init 3 then init 5 but no GUI loads up

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Earth - Denmark
    Posts
    10,730

    Default Re: Help needed with starting KDE

    On 04/03/2011 07:06 PM, 240 wrote:
    > I was also under the assumption that you need to be root user to startx


    well, i may be wrong, but i thinks one can launch startx as a
    user...but, i've not tried in an interval of time sufficiently short
    to allow recall


    > and i am in init 5 :S
    > i typed init 3 then init 5 but no GUI loads up


    well....hmmmmm, since you say you tried nomodeset as boot option and
    that didn't help then i want to assume you have a bad install, did you
    do this prior to beginning the install: http://tinyurl.com/2ebcf27

    if you have a good install, and have not 'fiddled' with the system,
    and put nomodeset in the Boot options line at the first green screen,
    then it MUST launch X or give reason why....

    check /var/log/messages

    --
    CAVEAT: http://is.gd/bpoMD
    Tried LibreOffice? Do that and help at http://is.gd/dZ9j2W
    [NNTP via openSUSE 11.3 + KDE4.5.5 + Thunderbird3.1.8]

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •