Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Where is Swap?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Michigan USA
    Posts
    102

    Default Where is Swap?

    I just now realized after clicking on System Monitor, I have no swap. I thought when I installed I saw it there initially. Hmmm. System is running great. Is this something I should fix?

    SUSE Paste
    Laptop: openSUSE 13.1 | Gnome 3.2.1 | i3 350m 2.27 GHz | HP Pavilion dv6 | 4GB RAM | Intel HD Integrated Graphics

    Installed openSUSE, never going back!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Montgomery, AL
    Posts
    64

    Default Re: Where is Swap?

    Quote Originally Posted by newtosuse View Post
    I just now realized after clicking on System Monitor, I have no swap. I thought when I installed I saw it there initially. Hmmm. System is running great. Is this something I should fix?

    SUSE Paste
    I can't verify on my system (I'm running GNOME 3 right now), but I don't think the system monitor shows swap on the file system tab. Take a look on the resources tab, it should be there next to memory in the memory and swap history section. You can also see it from the command line:

    Code:
    unamanic@legolas:~> sudo /sbin/fdisk -l /dev/sda
    root's password:
    
    Disk /dev/sda: 320.1 GB, 320072933376 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 38913 cylinders, total 625142448 sectors
    Units = sectors of 1 * 512 = 512 bytes
    Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
    I/O size (minimum/optimal): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
    Disk identifier: 0x71bb6bfa
    
       Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks   Id  System
    /dev/sda1            2048      616447      307200    7  HPFS/NTFS/exFAT
    /dev/sda2          616448   302432255   150907904    7  HPFS/NTFS/exFAT
    /dev/sda3   *   302432256   363872255    30720000   83  Linux
    /dev/sda4       363872256   625141759   130634752    5  Extended
    /dev/sda5       363874304   380651519     8388608   82  Linux swap / Solaris
    /dev/sda6       380653568   625141759   122244096   83  Linux
    unamanic@legolas:~> free
                 total       used       free     shared    buffers     cached
    Mem:       3844208    1758692    2085516          0      64364     917844
    -/+ buffers/cache:     776484    3067724
    Swap:      8388604          0    8388604

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Michigan USA
    Posts
    102

    Default Re: Where is Swap?

    OK Thank you! You are correct. Here is is:

    Disk /dev/sda: 500.1 GB, 500107862016 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 60801 cylinders, total 976773168 sectors
    Units = sectors of 1 * 512 = 512 bytes
    Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
    I/O size (minimum/optimal): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
    Disk identifier: 0xb535244a

    Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
    /dev/sda1 2048 409599 203776 7 HPFS/NTFS/exFAT
    /dev/sda2 409600 205407089 102498745 7 HPFS/NTFS/exFAT
    /dev/sda3 * 205408256 976560127 385575936 f W95 Ext'd (LBA)
    /dev/sda4 976560128 976771119 105496 c W95 FAT32 (LBA)
    /dev/sda5 205410304 209616895 2103296 82 Linux swap / Solaris
    /dev/sda6 209618944 251561983 20971520 83 Linux
    /dev/sda7 251564032 976560127 362498048 83 Linux


    Thanks Again!!
    Laptop: openSUSE 13.1 | Gnome 3.2.1 | i3 350m 2.27 GHz | HP Pavilion dv6 | 4GB RAM | Intel HD Integrated Graphics

    Installed openSUSE, never going back!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Austin - Texas
    Posts
    10,140
    Blog Entries
    48

    Smile Re: Where is Swap?

    The GNOME System Monitor does not appear to show SWAP files and really they are only usable by the system. I suggest you run:

    YaST / System / Partitioner / Press OK to the Warning. You should see any SWAP partitions shown in the default display (Available Storage on your.computer.name) on the Right.

    Thank You,
    My Blog: https://forums.opensuse.org/blogs/jdmcdaniel3/

    Software efficiency halves every 18 months, thus compensating for Moore's Law

    Its James again from Austin, Texas

  5. #5

    Default Re: Where is Swap?

    Quote Originally Posted by newtosuse View Post
    I just now realized after clicking on System Monitor, I have no swap. I thought when I installed I saw it there initially. Hmmm. System is running great. Is this something I should fix?

    SUSE Paste
    It doesn't show in the file system tab like in your suse paste but if you look at your resource tab it clearly shows SWAP, percent in use and total size. You can even use preference to change the line colors.
    Box 1: OpenSuse 11.1/Win7 | Linux 2.6.27 Gnome | AMD 64 X2 6000+ | nVidia 8600GT | 2GB RAM
    Box 2: OpenSuse 11.2 | Linux 2.6.31 Gnome | AMD 64 3000+ | ATI X800 Pro | 1GB RAM
    Box 3: Win7 Premium Home | Intel P4 3.0Gz | ATI AIW 2006 | 2GB RAM

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Michigan USA
    Posts
    102

    Default Re: Where is Swap?

    Great Replies. Thank you to all!
    Laptop: openSUSE 13.1 | Gnome 3.2.1 | i3 350m 2.27 GHz | HP Pavilion dv6 | 4GB RAM | Intel HD Integrated Graphics

    Installed openSUSE, never going back!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Chicago suburbs
    Posts
    15,673
    Blog Entries
    3

    Default Re: Where is Swap?

    Open a terminal, and type the command:
    Code:
    free
    That will tell you how much swap is configured and how much is in use.

    I currently see:
    Code:
                 total       used       free     shared    buffers     cached
    Mem:       1988928    1922640      66288          0     203284     914968
    -/+ buffers/cache:     804388    1184540
    Swap:     10482408       3356   10479052
    openSUSE Leap 15.3; KDE Plasma 5.18.6;

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    29,777

    Default Re: Where is Swap?

    Code:
    sudo -i swapon -s
    Henk van Velden

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Earth - Denmark
    Posts
    10,730

    Default Re: Where is Swap?

    On 04/02/2011 03:36 AM, newtosuse wrote:
    >
    > System is running great. Is this something I should fix?


    rule 1: If it ain't broke, don't fix it.
    rule 2: Use what works.
    rule 3: Relax and enjoy.
    rule 4: Have a lot of fun.
    rule 5: It is far easier to read, understand and follow the
    instructions than to undo the problems caused by not.

    --
    CAVEAT: http://is.gd/bpoMD
    Tried LibreOffice? Do that and help at http://is.gd/dZ9j2W
    [NNTP via openSUSE 11.3 + KDE4.5.5 + Thunderbird3.1.8]

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •