Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Konqueror question

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Sogndal, Noreg
    Posts
    1,103

    Default Konqueror question

    Hei,

    I have an annoying feature in Konqueror which I haven't found out how to disable/change. Every time I follow a link from KMail, Konversation etc, Konqueror opens the site from cache and does not go online. This is often inconvenient as it prevent me from continue the Konqueror session, can't follow links etc.
    OpenSuSE 13.1, KDE 4.11.5, 64bit
    Gigabyte 990FXA-UD3, AMD FX8350, MSI GeForce GTX 760, RME HDSP9632, 16GB HyperX Kingston DDR3, Samsung 840-Pro SSD 128GB, WD Desktop Black 1TB, Hitachi Deskstar 7K1000 750GB

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    near Munich
    Posts
    507

    Default Re: Konqueror question

    Strange problem, I have never experienced it. KDE loads files into the cache
    if you want to open them with Kate or something like this.

    Can you look at the KDE mime-types configuration an post the configuration
    for html files:

    ----
    kcmshell4 filetypes
    ----

  3. #3
    Chris Maaskant NNTP User

    Default Re: Konqueror question

    F Sauce wrote:

    >
    > Hei,
    >
    > I have an annoying feature in Konqueror which I haven't found out how
    > to disable/change. Every time I follow a link from KMail, Konversation
    > etc, Konqueror opens the site from cache and does not go online. This is
    > often inconvenient as it prevent me from continue the Konqueror session,
    > can't follow links etc.
    >

    Change the default browser from "konqbrowser" to "konqueror --profile
    webbrowsing"

    This worked for me.
    Only thing i cant figure out how to get konqueror to open an external link
    in a new tab instead of a new window.
    I configured konqueror to do this but it doesn't :s
    --
    Chris Maaskant

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    43

    Default Re: Konqueror question

    F Sauce wrote:

    > I have an annoying feature in Konqueror which I haven't found out how
    > to disable/change. Every time I follow a link from KMail, Konversation
    > etc, Konqueror opens the site from cache and does not go online. This is
    > often inconvenient as it prevent me from continue the Konqueror session,
    > can't follow links etc.


    What are the settings under

    Settings->Configure Konqueror->Web Browsing->Cache?

    --
    Don



  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Sogndal, Noreg
    Posts
    1,103

    Default Re: Konqueror question

    Strange problem, I have never experienced it. KDE loads files into the cache
    if you want to open them with Kate or something like this.

    Can you look at the KDE mime-types configuration an post the configuration
    for html files:
    I'm not sure I understood, but htm and html files are opened in Konqueror by default (file association settings), followed by KWrite ....

    Thanks
    OpenSuSE 13.1, KDE 4.11.5, 64bit
    Gigabyte 990FXA-UD3, AMD FX8350, MSI GeForce GTX 760, RME HDSP9632, 16GB HyperX Kingston DDR3, Samsung 840-Pro SSD 128GB, WD Desktop Black 1TB, Hitachi Deskstar 7K1000 750GB

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Europe
    Posts
    657

    Default Re: Konqueror question

    Quote Originally Posted by F_Sauce View Post
    Hei,

    I have an annoying feature in Konqueror which I haven't found out how to disable/change. Every time I follow a link from KMail, Konversation etc, Konqueror opens the site from cache and does not go online. This is often inconvenient as it prevent me from continue the Konqueror session, can't follow links etc.
    In Konqueror's settings there is a panel where you can configure cache. Doesn't any of that do anything for you?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Sogndal, Noreg
    Posts
    1,103

    Default Re: Konqueror question

    Thanks Chris, that changed it. I replaced 'konqbrowser' with just 'konqueror'

    I'm a bit curious to why?
    OpenSuSE 13.1, KDE 4.11.5, 64bit
    Gigabyte 990FXA-UD3, AMD FX8350, MSI GeForce GTX 760, RME HDSP9632, 16GB HyperX Kingston DDR3, Samsung 840-Pro SSD 128GB, WD Desktop Black 1TB, Hitachi Deskstar 7K1000 750GB

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •