Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: starting mobile broadband

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    India
    Posts
    318

    Default starting mobile broadband

    i started to use suse 11.i am new to suse.i want to use mobile broadband in suse.i used it easily in ubuntu but don't how to do this in suse11 so please gave me instructions step by step.

  2. #2

    Default Re: starting mobile broadband

    -----BEGIN PGP SIGNED MESSAGE-----
    Hash: SHA1

    Right-click on Network Manager in the lower-right-hand corner (icon with
    two computers). Edit Connections. Click Mobile Broadband, then click
    Add. Go from there.

    Good luck.





    On 03/28/2011 01:36 PM, vike4 wrote:
    >
    > i started to use suse 11.i am new to suse.i want to use mobile broadband
    > in suse.i used it easily in ubuntu but don't how to do this in suse11 so
    > please gave me instructions step by step.
    >
    >

    -----BEGIN PGP SIGNATURE-----
    Version: GnuPG v2.0.15 (GNU/Linux)
    Comment: Using GnuPG with Mozilla - http://enigmail.mozdev.org/

    iQIcBAEBAgAGBQJNkOaJAAoJEF+XTK08PnB5jvUP+wfxp7xIhvt7d/S0IW04c012
    HTPBmKU6uXbtIRPAR+fj+zOZr/ogByCAe5ANvUrH7deAlN97lLjh6Z29HMLLzrcY
    zU0hueSeZmykEVcMAHjP25JrPieUQwTzgIylh3bA0DN8bSspyZOYNijtXIW8Nmwe
    3siZOLRmQp3cTqTgEWCG0tX85/3afoOeYb6Sog8f/89aguCM82uNID2+C/0O6qLZ
    JvtS/97cHEBodKL9PuGH6HlJn8IMaSX/kCe8YoymqGnzKZPte35xjH0P4Zed6Lf+
    ZwkVQxnfKwUbGxxbubRzlc+JjP1d4f5ibyxcFpFJDh/tm6PHs/la6YsW3aLKRD4g
    JAVEy3TMUSJ6rgs9Oq4ywvfDaQnBUFalY6UkTdPOF8CVjllzhRslat+4f3XAl24M
    jjXob/mcCxRrbDcOGg3kSz/HlUHIFT3mlWyOv3yn90vIflIAxYuQqy+D95QiA2/K
    GbWMhzXkTr98uZIG5/Al8IL88+apVzA1jEHne2d+C14rGCDOwzMdtw7JGxhcFAXb
    3daVxV/0a0N4gl/D4hRA2olvskOdUGy5kRFiYjRbSSdEiQHDss8GDPYajki3W+MZ
    QOUSXQGpTQNYHsMbosxcFE4aJNRDc8mtfNlDSCFfbDKZoth2WdjEsYZycBhxXPd9
    mp+WQIkOrNj0C7FqDBna
    =1Rvf
    -----END PGP SIGNATURE-----

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    India
    Posts
    318

    Default Re: starting mobile broadband

    I can't find that network manager icon.please help me.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    India
    Posts
    318

    Default Re: starting mobile broadband

    please help me i can't connect to the network.i can't find network manager in gnome and kde.please tell me how to start it manually.though gnome and kde can't detect my device.please please help me.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Poland, Cracov
    Posts
    55

    Lightbulb Re: starting mobile broadband

    Quote Originally Posted by vike4 View Post
    please help me i can't connect to the network.i can't find network manager in gnome and kde.please tell me how to start it manually.though gnome and kde can't detect my device.please please help me.

    In KDE looks like this:



    In Gnome looks like thiS:



    You could try following the steps in my blog. Start from Step 1. So you will learn about how to add repos and make all multimedia stuff work. You might continue with Step 2, if you would need to make the Networkmanager-GNOME work in KDE. Before taking these steps, check Step Zero - there are links to most important repos. If not feel ready enough, don't take those marked as expert.

    Step Zero:

    openSUSE starter: Step Zero: Repos you need before proceeding

    Further Steps:
    openSUSE starter

    BEWARE to take the instructions step by step, following ALL instructions in the proposed order. I advice you to take Step 1, and, if the KDE's network management fails for you, also Step 2.
    I am daddy, u r son - I am now and u r gone!! [MC Hammer - They put me in the mix]

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    India
    Posts
    318

    Default Re: starting mobile broadband

    i am using suse 11 and have no network connection in linux so gave me a different solution.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    1,970

    Default Re: starting mobile broadband

    Quote Originally Posted by vike4 View Post
    I can't find that network manager icon.please help me.
    Chapter35.Using NetworkManager

    What have You got set up there ?

    Best regards,
    Greg
    Best regards,
    Greg

  8. #8

    Default Re: starting mobile broadband

    This is what worked for me with a ZTE MF100 HSDPA modem on OpenSUSE 11.3 64-bit:

    1. Click on "Start" -> "Computer" -> "YaST".
    2. Enter the root password.
    3. Click on "Network Devices" -> "Modem".
    4. Click "Add".
    5. Under "Modem device:" try "/dev/ttyUSB2". If you can't connect later on, try using "/dev/ttyUSB1" or "/dev/ttyUSB0".
    6. Click "Details".
    7. Set "Baud Rate" to "460800" (might be different for you).
    8. Under "Init 1" enter "ATZ".
    9. Under "Init 2" enter "ATQ0 V1 E1 S0=0 &C1 &D2".
    10. Under "Init 3" enter "AT+CGDCONT=1,"IP","APN"", replacing APN with your providers' APN such as "web.htgprs".
    11. Click "Ok".
    12. Click "Next".
    13. Select "Generic service provider".
    14. Click "New".
    15. Enter your providers' name (this can really be anything you like).
    16. Enter "*99#" under "Phone number".
    17. Unselect "Always ask me for the password".
    18. Under "Username" and "Password" enter "null".
    19. Click "Next".
    20. Under "Idle Time-Out" select "0 (0. min)".
    21. Click "Next".
    22. Click "Ok".
    23. Close "YaST".


    To connect, do the following:

    1. Click "Start" -> "Applications" -> "System" -> "Terminal" -> "Terminal - Super User Mode".
    2. Enter the root password.
    3. Type "ifup modem0". Hit ENTER. If all goes well, you should see something like:

      Code:
          modem0    name: Modem
      interface modem0 is up
      SuSEfirewall2: Warning: no default firewall zone defined, assuming 'ext'
    4. To check if you are connected, type "ifconfig modem0". Hit ENTER. Try repeating this step a few times untill you see something like:

      Code:
      modem0    Link encap:Point-to-Point Protocol  
                inet addr:1.2.3.4  P-t-P:10.64.64.64  Mask:255.255.255.255
                UP POINTOPOINT RUNNING NOARP MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
                RX packets:6 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
                TX packets:7 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
                collisions:0 txqueuelen:3 
                RX bytes:84 (84.0 b)  TX bytes:105 (105.0 b)
      If modem0 doesn't come up, try a different modem device under step 5 from the first list. If you see something similar to the above output, you are now connected to the Internet!
    5. To disconnect, type "ifdown modem0". Hit ENTER.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •