Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17

Thread: dual booting sle11 and windows 7

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    India
    Posts
    318

    Default dual booting sle11 and windows 7

    i want a dual boot system with sle11 and windows 7.i have already installed 7.when i am trying to install suse suse can't find the installed windows and i can't resize or edit a
    ntfs partition.suse asked to format the whole harddisk.how to install sle11 with windows 7.please help me i am new to linux

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Oz
    Posts
    11,731
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default Re: dual booting sle11 and windows 7

    Use the partitioner in windows (in control panel) to shrink the windows partition. Make sure no residual Linux partitions were left on the drive (delete from in windows if there are some there). This leaves empty space at the end. Then the SLES installer should choose to use the empty space and leave windows 7 alone.

    Once you have created empty space with the windows partitioner, prevent the SLE installer from changing windows' partition.
    Leap 42.3 & 15.1 &KDE
    FYIs from the days of yore

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    India
    Posts
    318

    Default Re: dual booting sle11 and windows 7

    thank u swerdna.it is working.i shrink the local c volume by 15gb.when installing sle.it told the memory is not sufficient to install.please tell me the recommended shrink volume.after i shrink the volume by 25gb.when i go to install sle the same error "no automatic proposal possible specify mount points manually in the partitioner dialog" i saw,please help me in fixing this problem.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    29,841

    Default Re: dual booting sle11 and windows 7

    @vike4
    To bein with this is NOT an SLE forium, this is an openSUSE forum. People may try to help you here nevertheless (we are all very friendly girls and guys), but it may reach beyond our knowledge and you may better go to: NOVELL FORUMS.

    IMHO when the installer tells you that there is not enough memory, then it means that there is not enough memory, not disk space. This conclusion does not come from my experience with SLE (which I haven't), but from my experience with computer terms.
    Henk van Velden

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Oz
    Posts
    11,731
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default Re: dual booting sle11 and windows 7

    I think 25Gb is enough. And this installation procedure is common across SLE and openSUSE IIRC. You need to use the advanced option and add the partitions.

    But there is a complication in that windows 7 nearly always uses two partitions and SLE likes to have three partitions, so the total needs are 5 partitions. However you can only have four primary partitions on a hard drive. So you have to have a mix of primary partitions and logical partitions within an extended container partition.

    I would first create a 25Gb extended partition to occupy the whole clear zone. This will be a container wherein you place the three partitions that you need for SLE. Then create in that container a root partition of 10Gb, a swap partition of 1Gb and a home partition of 14Gb (you know your needs -- modify that if you think a different proportioning is appropriate).

    And before you do any of that: I think you are new to this business of partitions and it's a super-tricky area. So you must back up all important windows data before you start. I would (myself) additionally make a disk image of the whole windows shebang before I began, so if it goes nuts because I clicked the wrong button, I could write windows back over the top of the whole mess, if I made a mess, which I often did make when I was a new user.

    Finally, you are in the openSUSE forums as hcvv noted. While I'm sure that this approach is the right one, it's up to you to decide whether you want to start again in the SLE forums over at Novell or just get on and do the job

    .
    Leap 42.3 & 15.1 &KDE
    FYIs from the days of yore

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    29,841

    Default Re: dual booting sle11 and windows 7

    @swerdna. It could be a bit more complicated John. As he reports that the installer says "it told the memory is not sufficient to install", [I] am still afraid there is not enough memory to install. When there isn't and IIRC then there must first be a Swap partition to get the install going. And becuse that Swap partition must be there before the install starts, it then reports "no automatic proposal possible ". I can be wrong, but it is difficult to decide from here.

    @vike4. Please report how much memory your system has.
    Henk van Velden

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Earth - Denmark
    Posts
    10,730

    Default Re: dual booting sle11 and windows 7

    you are, of course welcome to seek/accept and use all help offered
    here, but be advised that since your subject line says you are working
    with the enterprise offering of Novell named SUSE Linux Enterprise
    Desktop, then you have rights to seek assistance from the directly
    folks who produce that software, at forums.novell.com

    yes, there is a family connection between the focus of this forum
    (openSUSE) and SLED...but they are not the same product and while
    openSUSE provides updates and patches without cost for the version's
    life time, after 60 days that requires a fee paid to Novell for SLED
    support..

    there are advantages to that (version longevity for one, SLED 11 has
    several years of life remaining, openSUSE 11.4 just out, will drop
    dead September 15th 2012 <http://en.opensuse.org/Lifetime>)

    if you intended to install the free and open source openSUSE then you
    want a download from here: http://software.opensuse.org/

    your money, your time..

    you might save yourself some time by reviewing the new user info in
    http://forums.opensuse.org/english/g...faq-read-only/

    as well as information linked on the openSUSE download page..

    --
    DenverD
    CAVEAT: http://is.gd/bpoMD
    [NNTP posted w/openSUSE 11.3, KDE4.5.5, Thunderbird3.1.8, nVidia
    173.14.28 3D, Athlon 64 3000+]
    "It is far easier to read, understand and follow the instructions than
    to undo the problems caused by not." DD 23 Jan 11

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    25,547

    Default Re: dual booting sle11 and windows 7

    On 2011-03-27 20:06, swerdna wrote:
    > I think 25Gb is enough.


    Not enough memory means not enough RAM. He probably needs to create a swap
    partition first. He really must ask about this in the SLES forum, I don't
    know if the SLES installer will catch that swap.

    --
    Cheers / Saludos,

    Carlos E. R.
    (from 11.2 x86_64 "Emerald" at Telcontar)

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Aveiro, Portugal
    Posts
    313

    Default Re: dual booting sle11 and windows 7

    Though I'm not a computer engineer... This message (if related to memory) can be legit and there are known cases in which it might pop in... a couple of things that can be done:

    * Grab the motherboard manufacturer's manual and check if there's an option close to 'Fix Memory Holes' and enable it;
    * set 'mem=256' on boot kernel parameter for installation;
    * Boot the installer with the PAE Kernel (I would personally pick this one) and later on the runtime fix it; (IF SLES SHIPs WITH ONE, I don't know, I've nerver used SLES)

    This are some of the possible workarounds... but there's more...

    Boot the installer on rescue mode, load fdisk and create a swap partition (primary). This can also solve the problem under certain circumstances... As this is SLED, I would definatly for Novell support as they can debug backtrace the origins of this easier. Providing the relevant info would help a long way.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    India
    Posts
    318

    Default Re: dual booting sle11 and windows 7

    @hcvv my product:hp probook 4520s,300gb hdd,2gb ram,intel core i3 processor.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •