Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Amarok CD playback

  1. #1

    Default Amarok CD playback

    Hi all.

    Originally in 11.3 amarok played CDs fine.

    Upgraded to 11.4. Amarok no longer plays CDs. Not issue for me as I rip to CD.

    However wife peved off because "it can't play cds like windows!"

    I have checked all multimedia and seems fine. Zypper reports all repos upto date 11.4s and packman repo and libdvdcss repo.

    Amarok plays MP3s fine. KCD plays CDs as well, but wife doesn't like it - no info on the CD being played apart from basic track details.

    I think it has something to do with the backed in Amarok its using Xine 4.4.4 at moment but not sure if my system is missing a CD playback codec for xine?

    What is bugging me is I can't recall how I got it working in 11.3

    any help appreciated thanks Ben.

  2. #2

    Default Re: Amarok CD playback

    sorry, update. Amarok shows the CD tracks but no sound...

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,857
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: Amarok CD playback

    Quote Originally Posted by waveheadwales View Post
    sorry, update. Amarok shows the CD tracks but no sound...
    Does that mean no sound ONLY when playing CD's, but otherwise OK?
    Tumbleweed_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Sogndal, Noreg
    Posts
    1,103

    Default Re: Amarok CD playback

    I believe there are some problems with Amarok version 2.4.x: Amarok 2.4.0 Using KDE 4.6.0: how do I play an audio CD? • KDE Community Forums
    It applies to me as well, I am on OS 11.2 and KDE 4.5 with Amrok 2.4.0, and I could play audiocd earlier using Amarok. However, Clementine, Bangarang, Kaffeine(kde3) and Audacious works fine (I've just tested them all).
    OpenSuSE 13.1, KDE 4.11.5, 64bit
    Gigabyte 990FXA-UD3, AMD FX8350, MSI GeForce GTX 760, RME HDSP9632, 16GB HyperX Kingston DDR3, Samsung 840-Pro SSD 128GB, WD Desktop Black 1TB, Hitachi Deskstar 7K1000 750GB

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Sogndal, Noreg
    Posts
    1,103

    Default Re: Amarok CD playback

    In case you have several CD/DVD roms, you might also have to define which one you wish to use for playback: System settings > Hardware > Multimedia.

    Both Audacious and Kaffeine do cddb look-up and include track information. Clementine and Bangarang did not do this for me by 'default'.
    OpenSuSE 13.1, KDE 4.11.5, 64bit
    Gigabyte 990FXA-UD3, AMD FX8350, MSI GeForce GTX 760, RME HDSP9632, 16GB HyperX Kingston DDR3, Samsung 840-Pro SSD 128GB, WD Desktop Black 1TB, Hitachi Deskstar 7K1000 750GB

  6. #6

    Default Re: Amarok CD playback

    Hi,

    yes music from all other sources is fine mp3 etc ... however no CD. Only one drive so no conflicts.

    I did see earlier posts that Amarok announced they were not supporting CD playback in earlier releases, but their website now refers to CD playback and given it worked in 11.3 can't see what the issue is now.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,857
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: Amarok CD playback

    With me the file doesn't progress even though Play has been actioned
    Is your track actually progressing ?
    Tumbleweed_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  8. #8

    Default Re: Amarok CD playback

    Hi Caf

    there is no progress along the track bar, but the disc spins up.

    I think I recall that in the backend option on Amarok before I upgraded to 11.4 I had lame as the preferred decoder. Its now xine and no lame option. I have gstreamer and VLC - gstreamer works fine for everything but no CD playback. VLC crashes amarok .

    K3B rips cd's fine to mp3, flac etc so I think it must be some issue with Amarok. Ripping cds to mp3 via dolphin I get the libsndfile - r error though - which is something else I am trying to sort and had sorted in 11.3

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,857
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: Amarok CD playback

    I don't this is a backend issue or codecs
    Just a KDE problem
    If there is a bug report on this upstream, add to it
    Tumbleweed_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Sogndal, Noreg
    Posts
    1,103

    Default Re: Amarok CD playback

    Ripping cds to mp3 via dolphin I get the libsndfile - r error though - which is something else I am trying to sort and had sorted in 11.3
    If your'e using Audiokonverter or PACPL there may be some conflicts as I don't think those applications are back yet to the packman repo. So if your upgrade is recent, those apps might still be the OS 11.3 version ones?

    Lots of apps still missing after Packmans migration, at least on OpenSuSE 11.2, though I don't know if they intend to support the similar software catalogue as they used to do..
    OpenSuSE 13.1, KDE 4.11.5, 64bit
    Gigabyte 990FXA-UD3, AMD FX8350, MSI GeForce GTX 760, RME HDSP9632, 16GB HyperX Kingston DDR3, Samsung 840-Pro SSD 128GB, WD Desktop Black 1TB, Hitachi Deskstar 7K1000 750GB

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •