Some kde apps won't work after downgrading 11.4->11.3

Hi,

after being not so satisfied with opensuse 11.4 (worked really slow at times), i decided to downgrade to 11.3. But now, some applications won’t start.

When starting personal kontact, i only got a notification that akonadi server is starting but it doesn’t progress. Only thing I can do is to kill the app.Same for Clementine (amarok-like player), but here it doesn’t even try to start.

So, I was thinking to delete all the settings folders concerning these apps in my home folder, but it doesn’t change anything. I did so by searching for kmail kontact and clementine and erased those folders. Could it be that I forgot some? Some folders under some different names? I’m not really experienced into this subject.

Maybe there could also be a different cause of the problems with these specific programs?

thanx in advance

On 03/25/2011 11:06 AM, sonicboy wrote:
>
> i decided to downgrade to 11.3.

how did you downgrade?

i’m not aware of a way to downgrade from 11.4 to 11.3 and NOT have
problems…

> Maybe there could also be a different cause of the problems with these
> specific programs?

my guess would be a hosed system…

unless you a better way to “downgrade” here is how i would do it on my
machine:

-backup all data to off machine medium
-fresh format install the version desired
-fully update it
-install/update all applications desired
-copy saved data to new system (note: this is NOT the same as copying
in all configurations from your old home…do NOT do that…instead,
copy in the data [music, movies, letters, emails, spreadsheets, etc
etc etc]

an even easier way would be to just restore from the full back up you
made before you ‘upgraded’…

on the other hand, there are probably others here with different
opinions…and, mine absolutely is an opinion (which differs from both
fact and advice)

DenverD
CAVEAT: http://is.gd/bpoMD
[NNTP posted w/openSUSE 11.3, KDE4.5.5, Thunderbird3.1.8, nVidia