Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Zypper question

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    297

    Default Zypper question

    Hi, I am running 11.4 64bit. I also enabled the Tumbleweed repository.

    When I check for updates zypper sees no updates. When I manually check packages I see there are new updates because I have the possibility to upgrade.

    I.E. Mozilla repository offers the 4.0 release
    Tumbleweed offers a new kernel

    I thought, when using 11.3, that all new software were listed as updates when you opened the software manager? When I change priorities from 99 to 90 or something nothing happens.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Chicago suburbs
    Posts
    15,684
    Blog Entries
    3

    Default Re: Zypper question

    I don't think you the updates are sufficient. The Tumbleweed page does say to use "zypper dup --from Tumbleweed" when you want to be updated to the current Tumbleweed level.
    openSUSE Leap 15.3; KDE Plasma 5.18.6;

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    297

    Default Re: Zypper question

    Quote Originally Posted by nrickert View Post
    I don't think you the updates are sufficient. The Tumbleweed page does say to use "zypper dup --from Tumbleweed" when you want to be updated to the current Tumbleweed level.
    This is what it says:

    "Do a distro update from Tumbleweed as needed. The first time you will need to accept the GPG key:"

    To me this means if I need to update my distro, like from 11.3 to 11.4.

    And also in other repositories I see new files that don't get listed as updates.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    1,970

    Default Re: Zypper question

    Quote Originally Posted by Ricochet View Post
    This is what it says:

    "Do a distro update from Tumbleweed as needed. The first time you will need to accept the GPG key:"

    To me this means if I need to update my distro, like from 11.3 to 11.4.

    And also in other repositories I see new files that don't get listed as updates.
    This is because You have to switch the vendor for those packages. OpenSUSE doesn't change the vendor of packages even if newer version exists unless You do a zypper dup and only then the priorities come to play (zypper up doesn't switch package vendor). You can also do this manually using YaST and switching system packages to the versions frome some repo.

    Best regards,
    Greg
    Best regards,
    Greg

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    297

    Default Re: Zypper question

    Ah ok. Thanks.

    Then I have one last question; In 11.3 it did show them and if you choose to install it asked you if you wanted to do a vendor change. Personally I thought this was horrible for none nerd users. But is it still possible to flip some switch and make zypper show them? This because I now get the feeling I need to check software manually if some vendor has a new version that might solve a problem.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    1,970

    Default Re: Zypper question

    Quote Originally Posted by Ricochet View Post
    Ah ok. Thanks.

    Then I have one last question; In 11.3 it did show them and if you choose to install it asked you if you wanted to do a vendor change. Personally I thought this was horrible for none nerd users. But is it still possible to flip some switch and make zypper show them? This because I now get the feeling I need to check software manually if some vendor has a new version that might solve a problem.
    Nope. It cheks for updates from vendors I have configured for me automatically. I think it depends on how You have Kpackagekit configured. Are You sure "zypper up" from terminal doesn't show latest packages after You switch the vendor ?

    Best regards,
    Greg
    Best regards,
    Greg

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    297

    Default Re: Zypper question

    I just installed FF4.0 from the Mozilla repo and it asked me to change vendor. So that works. Zypper up now shows me some updates, it didn't do that before. (I use gnome btw)

    What if tomorrow k3b, which I installed from repo a has an update in repo b
    How will I know this without checking this myself?

    I thought Tumbleweed just gave me new software as updates in the software manager, now, I understand, I have to zypper dup myself to get them.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    1,970

    Default Re: Zypper question

    Quote Originally Posted by Ricochet View Post
    I just installed FF4.0 from the Mozilla repo and it asked me to change vendor. So that works. Zypper up now shows me some updates, it didn't do that before. (I use gnome btw)
    Yes this is the way it worked in 11.3 as well.

    Quote Originally Posted by Ricochet View Post
    What if tomorrow k3b, which I installed from repo a has an update in repo b
    How will I know this without checking this myself?
    You won't know this.

    Quote Originally Posted by Ricochet View Post
    I thought Tumbleweed just gave me new software as updates in the software manager, now, I understand, I have to zypper dup myself to get them.
    Yes but after it's done all the packages that Tumbleweed provides will come from Tumbleweed repo and "zypper up" will show latest versions of packages from that repo automatically.

    Best regards,
    Greg
    Best regards,
    Greg

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    297

    Default Re: Zypper question

    Ok thanks!

    I never realized 11.3 did this. I must have installed stuff then to trigger those updates without knowing

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    1,970

    Default Re: Zypper question

    Quote Originally Posted by Ricochet View Post
    Ok thanks!

    I never realized 11.3 did this. I must have installed stuff then to trigger those updates without knowing
    There is a switch in YaST to voilate the rule of not changing the vendor of packages without user interaction. When You uncheck that switch I guess it will change the vendors of packages according to the priorities You've got (the ones with lowest priorities will be chosen) but I'm not sure about this.

    Best reagards,
    Greg
    Best regards,
    Greg

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •