Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: How to change yast community from 11.3 to 11.4 for repositories?

  1. #1

    Default How to change yast community from 11.3 to 11.4 for repositories?

    I did zypper dup to move from 11.3 to 11.4. Almost everything works fine. But when I try to add community repositories I get the 11.3 repositories, not the 11.4 repositories.

    So there must be a .conf or .rc file somewhere telling yast that we're on 11.3 when in fact we are on 11.4. How/where can I change that?

    And while we're at it, how do I load a Factory repository? They do not appear in the list of Community" repositories.

    TIA, Andy

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Ελλάδα(Αθήνα)-Россия (г. Красноярск)
    Posts
    1,711

    Default Απ: How to change yast community from 11.3 to 11.4 for repositories?

    Try with terminal
    Code:
    su
    Code:
    # zypper addrepo -f <URL of Repository>
    Code:
    # zypper refresh
    Πάντα Φιλικά, Στάμος.
    Desktop: openSUSE Leap 15.3||x86_64||Gnome 3.14 & KDE 5||AMD Ryzen 7 8 core||Nvidia GTX 1080 Ti Gaming Edition
    Γλώσσες Προγραμματισμού: C++, Qt developing.
    http://bit.ly/fT8Hfi

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    25,547

    Default Re: How to change yast community from 11.3 to 11.4 for repositories?

    On 2011-03-20 21:36, alavarre wrote:
    >
    > I did zypper dup to move from 11.3 to 11.4. Almost everything works
    > fine. But when I try to add community repositories I get the 11.3
    > repositories, not the 11.4 repositories.


    cat /etc/SuSE-brand
    rpm -qf /etc/SuSE-brand


    > And while we're at it, how do I load a Factory repository? They do not
    > appear in the list of Community" repositories.


    So that you do not load them by accident >:-P

    --
    Cheers / Saludos,

    Carlos E. R.
    (from 11.2 x86_64 "Emerald" at Telcontar)

  4. #4

    Default Re: How to change yast community from 11.3 to 11.4 for repositories?

    Carlos, Stamos thank you..

    >P1630:/ # cat /etc/SuSE-brand
    openSUSE
    VERSION = 11.4

    >P1630:/ # rpm -qf /etc/SuSE-brand
    branding-openSUSE-11.4-2.1.noarch

    But when I use
    yast2 sw_single &
    ==> Configuration ==> Repositories ==> Add ==> Community Repositories ==> Next ==>
    all I see are 11.3 repositories.

    I can use most of them by simply editing 11.3 to 11.4 and enter them in the URL option, but the Gnome repos don't convert, e.g.,
    Index of /repositories/GNOME:/Apps/openSUSE_11.3

    So there is something somewhere that doesn't know I've upgraded to 11.4.

    Have a great weekend!!
    ====
    I have a friend who is going to Madrid, Huelva, and Sevilla this weekend and next week. Where are you?

    Saludos, Andy

  5. #5
    Will Honea NNTP User

    Default Re: How to change yast community from 11.3 to 11.4 for repositories?

    alavarre wrote:

    >
    > Carlos, Stamos thank you..
    >
    >>P1630:/ # cat /etc/SuSE-brand

    > openSUSE
    > VERSION = 11.4
    >
    >>P1630:/ # rpm -qf /etc/SuSE-brand

    > branding-openSUSE-11.4-2.1.noarch
    >
    > But when I use
    > yast2 sw_single &
    > ==> Configuration ==> Repositories ==> Add ==> Community
    > Repositories ==> Next ==>
    > all I see are 11.3 repositories.
    >
    > I can use most of them by simply editing 11.3 to 11.4 and enter them in
    > the URL option, but the Gnome repos don't convert, e.g.,
    > 'Index of /repositories/GNOME:/Apps/openSUSE_11.3'
    > (http://download.opensuse.org/reposit...openSUSE_11.3/)
    >
    > So there is something somewhere that doesn't know I've upgraded to
    > 11.4.


    I was seeing that same thing until I finally ran "zypper dup". There were a
    couple of "openSUSE" files that were selected there and after that update
    the 11.4 repos were offered. I figured it was a side effect of going thru
    all the RC versions before that file got updated and I can't put my finger
    on which one it was but using Yast and searching on "YAST" and/or "openSUSE"
    will show a file with a new version not offered by the update option unless
    you manually select it. I had put off the zypper dup waiting for the
    packman repos to settle down so that I didn't get a boatload of code
    switched from packman to the default repos but I just happened to catch that
    one file when checking the update/upgrade list when I ran zypper (or they
    finally got around to posting an updated community file list??).

    --
    Will Honea

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Earth - Denmark
    Posts
    10,730

    Default Re: How to change yast community from 11.3 to 11.4 for repositories?

    On 04/02/2011 06:20 AM, Will Honea wrote:
    > or they finally got around to posting an updated community file list??


    in my feeble mind, that is the most likely..

    it _seems_ to me that there were more little things not quite ready
    for release day this time, than usual..

    i don't recall them all now but a precise google will find (i think)
    many old heads here answering many "why can't i find [some package]"
    with admonisions to be patient, they will show up...eventually..

    not sure but i think The Community has more hand work than hand
    workers...[and, instead of focusing on the basics there is a recent
    tendency to fractionate and serve everyone's dream, a la education,
    tumbleweed, evergreen etc]

    --
    CAVEAT: http://is.gd/bpoMD
    Tried LibreOffice? Do that and help at http://is.gd/dZ9j2W
    [NNTP via openSUSE 11.3 + KDE4.5.5 + Thunderbird3.1.8]

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    25,547

    Default Re: How to change yast community from 11.3 to 11.4 for repositories?

    On 2011-04-02 01:06, alavarre wrote:


    >> P1630:/ # cat /etc/SuSE-brand

    > openSUSE
    > VERSION = 11.4
    >
    >> P1630:/ # rpm -qf /etc/SuSE-brand

    > branding-openSUSE-11.4-2.1.noarch
    >
    > But when I use
    > yast2 sw_single &
    > ==> Configuration ==> Repositories ==> Add ==> Community
    > Repositories ==> Next ==>
    > all I see are 11.3 repositories.


    Dunno, then.

    > So there is something somewhere that doesn't know I've upgraded to
    > 11.4.


    You could check the entire list of installed rpms in yast package
    management, there may still be one that is from 11.3.

    > I have a friend who is going to Madrid, Huelva, and Sevilla this
    > weekend and next week. Where are you?


    The other corner, Murcia.

    --
    Cheers / Saludos,

    Carlos E. R.
    (from 11.2 x86_64 "Emerald" at Telcontar)

  8. #8

    Default Re: How to change yast community from 11.3 to 11.4 for repositories?

    Mmmm. Not good: I had already done zypper dup, but just for grins started it again (without an ampersand!) which rendered

    173 packages to upgrade, 15 to downgrade, 10 new, 13 to reinstall, 1 to remove, 165 to change vendor, 5 to change arch.
    Overall download size: 262.5 MiB. After the operation, additional 104.9 MiB will be used.
    Continue?


    Well, the packages to be downgraded included libreoffice and opensuse 11.4:

    The following product is going to be downgraded:
    openSUSE 11.4


    So a quick Ctrl-C put paid to that.

    Obviously this occured because of whatever obscure file is still telling yast and zypper that I'm on 11.3 with ooo instead of what is true: 11.4 with LibreOffice.

    Maybe after finishing taxes I'll try this, but not now.

    Thanks for the feedback.

    Cheers, Andy

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Earth - Denmark
    Posts
    10,730

    Default Re: How to change yast community from 11.3 to 11.4 for repositories?

    On 04/02/2011 05:36 PM, alavarre wrote:

    hi Andy, please show us the output of entering the following into a
    terminal

    Code:
    zypper lr -d
    and copy/paste the output back to this thread using the instructions
    here: http://goo.gl/i3wnr

    --
    CAVEAT: http://is.gd/bpoMD
    Tried LibreOffice? Do that and help at http://is.gd/dZ9j2W
    [NNTP via openSUSE 11.3 + KDE4.5.5 + Thunderbird3.1.8]

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Kansas City Area, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    7,236

    Default Re: How to change yast community from 11.3 to 11.4 for repositories?

    That downgrade of 11.4 will not cause any problems. Just let it happen.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •