Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Gave up Knetworkmanager. Made Networkmanager-GNOME work on KDE4!

Default Gave up Knetworkmanager. Made Networkmanager-GNOME work on KDE4!

Hi, here's my guide to make nm-applet work on KDE4. It does not work on a freshly installed system (11.4). This guide is aimed at total beginners. If a user follows all the steps, it ends up with a working nm-applet in KDE4.

I have confirmation from different users, that the KNetworkManager crippled even ifup usage for wifi! My mobile bb support in KNM was very buggy and illogical. It did not work at all (in openSUSE 11.3 it worked but with problems).

here is the guide : openSUSE starter: Step 2. Need mobile broadband? Use the GNOME applet

and here's an example, what KNM/PNM does to users, i find it a total show stopper... : openSUSE starter: Comment on wifi in openSUSE 11.4!

So - all in all - if you want to blame kernel or firmware, first make yourself a GNOMISH nm-applet in your KDE4. For now, KNM/PNM are just work in progress, imho, useless waste of time.

For more experienced users, use GNOME NetworkManager Applet in KDE in openSUSE 11.4 The Blog is Hot - Cymage's console guide to do the nm-applet.

Blog Entries

Smile Re: Gave up Knetworkmanager. Made Networkmanager-GNOME work on KDE4!

This looks like a very good article which required lots of effort. You might want to duplicate this in the Unreviewed How To and FAQ forum section, though I am not the expert on such things. I have book marked this information and will give it a try on my next openSUSE 11.4 installation. Thanks for your efforts there mieszkaniec_lasu.

Thank You,
    My Blog: https://forums.opensuse.org/blogs/jdmcdaniel3/

Software efficiency halves every 18 months, thus compensating for Moore's Law

Its James again from Austin, Texas

Default Re: Gave up Knetworkmanager. Made Networkmanager-GNOME work on KDE4!