Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: OS 11.4 not starting xdm in runlevel 5

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    101

    Unhappy OS 11.4 not starting xdm in runlevel 5

    Hi.

    I've upgraded my 11.3 to 11.4 (x64) yesterday and though I'm quite pleased with the powermanagement (and system, when downgraded to FF 3.6) one strange occurrence get's on my nerves.

    Though I boot into RL 5 I still end up without GUI login and need to log in on console, start xdm manually and then log in in xdm.
    Shortly after the install it was not so, then the system still booted into xdm. But after that one froze indefinitely and I've hard-resetted the laptop I'Ve got this problem for a present.

    This reminds me of the network problem I've been having with 11.3, where the network did not start unless started manually (/etc/init.d/network start) and which I too, got after a hard-reset.

    Any suggestions what may have happened and how to fix it?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Oz
    Posts
    11,728
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default Re: OS 11.4 not starting xdm in runlevel 5

    This is not an answer to your question, just an observation. It's this sort of glitch that keeps me doing a fresh install release after release. These sorts of hard-to-resolve problems are fewer then IMHO.

    But good luck, I hope someone suggests an answer.
    Leap 42.3 & 15.1 &KDE
    FYIs from the days of yore

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Earth - Denmark
    Posts
    10,730

    Default Re: OS 11.4 not starting xdm in runlevel 5

    On 03/18/2011 11:36 AM, swerdna wrote:
    >
    > It's this sort of glitch
    > that keeps me doing a fresh install release after release.


    +1

    --
    DenverD
    CAVEAT: http://is.gd/bpoMD
    [NNTP posted w/openSUSE 11.3, KDE4.5.5, Thunderbird3.1.8, nVidia
    173.14.28 3D, Athlon 64 3000+]
    "It is far easier to read, understand and follow the instructions than
    to undo the problems caused by not." DD 23 Jan 11

  4. #4

    Default Re: OS 11.4 not starting xdm in runlevel 5

    I have the same problem. Still can't solve it.
    Any help would be appreciated.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    University of Cologne
    Posts
    3

    Default Re: OS 11.4 not starting xdm in runlevel 5

    Typically, the system reports that is has reached runlevel 5, but then fails to excute the scripts under /etc/init.d/rc.5 .

    Boot in the failsafe mode! That sometimes helps.

    If not, log in as root and execute the scripts manually. To make things easier, collect the scripts:

    ls /etc/init.d/rc5.d/S* | sed "s/$/ start/
    s?^?/init.d/rc5.d/?" >level5

    Then make it executable:

    chmod 744 level5
    ./level5

    This is an awful workaround, but it helped with my computers.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Oz
    Posts
    11,728
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default Re: OS 11.4 not starting xdm in runlevel 5

    @conram: I'll take the two posts out for you.

    @debugger13: Still I'm out of my depth, but could you put the xdm command as a line in the file /etc/init.d/after.local. I think that will execute after all init scripts for runlevel 5 have run (something like that).
    Leap 42.3 & 15.1 &KDE
    FYIs from the days of yore

  7. #7

    Default Re: OS 11.4 not starting xdm in runlevel 5

    @swerdna: after some manipulations with scripts through yast (runlevel) - just turning some scripts off and on again, everything works fine.
    I don't know what happened, what I've changed, so it works now.

    Also I've noticed, that on shutting down or rebooting I'm getting error:
    /etc/init.d/halt.local missing
    Maybe that's the reason.
    It's discussed here.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Oz
    Posts
    11,728
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default Re: OS 11.4 not starting xdm in runlevel 5

    Quote Originally Posted by debugger13 View Post
    @swerdna: after some manipulations with scripts through yast (runlevel) - just turning some scripts off and on again, everything works fine.
    I don't know what happened, what I've changed, so it works now.

    Also I've noticed, that on shutting down or rebooting I'm getting error:
    /etc/init.d/halt.local missing
    Maybe that's the reason.
    It's discussed here.

    Looks to be all under control -- good for you
    Leap 42.3 & 15.1 &KDE
    FYIs from the days of yore

  9. #9

    Default Re: OS 11.4 not starting xdm in runlevel 5

    I executed this script in an attempt to get XDMCP working. It didn't help. In fact all it did was prevent me from getting to runlevel 5.

    Master Resource Control: Running /etc/init.d.after.local
    Master Resource Control: runlevel 5 has been
    Skipped services in runlevel 5:

    How do I back out of this "awful workaround"?



    Quote Originally Posted by Deiters View Post
    Typically, the system reports that is has reached runlevel 5, but then fails to excute the scripts under /etc/init.d/rc.5 .

    Boot in the failsafe mode! That sometimes helps.

    If not, log in as root and execute the scripts manually. To make things easier, collect the scripts:

    ls /etc/init.d/rc5.d/S* | sed "s/$/ start/
    s?^?/init.d/rc5.d/?" >level5

    Then make it executable:

    chmod 744 level5
    ./level5

    This is an awful workaround, but it helped with my computers.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •