Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Banshee and high CPU use in 11.4

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Norman, OK
    Posts
    209

    Default Banshee and high CPU use in 11.4

    Hi there,

    I'm using OpenSuse 11.4, and I was wondering if anyone else has noticed consistent high CPU utilization with banshee? By high CPU use I mean, when the application is running (whether it's idle, playing music, or scanning) CPU use on my machine is almost consistently at 100% (one core pegged).

    Scanning my music library took hours ... like 3-4 hours to scan 9500 songs, and banshee was the only application running on my machine.

    Rhythymbox doesn't suffer the same fate, scanning the same library took 5 minutes and CPU busy is less than 2% when it's running or playing music.

    I'm running banshee 1.9.3, and I'd rather use it vs Rhythmbox.

    Any help or pointers appreciated (but please no flames about mono, etc)!
    Main Machine: Dell G7 running Ubuntu 18.04
    Server: Dell PowerEdge SC1430 running CentOS 7.x

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Ardrishaig, Argyll. Scotland UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,859
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: Banshee and high CPU use in 11.4

    No problem here
    Tumbleweed_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Norman, OK
    Posts
    209

    Default Re: Banshee and high CPU use in 11.4

    Interesting, thanks caf.

    Is there some sort of 'debug' mode that I can run banshee in, or would it be worth running an strace on the banshee process to determine what it's spinning on? Obviously I've mis-configured something, or I've got a missing package ...
    Main Machine: Dell G7 running Ubuntu 18.04
    Server: Dell PowerEdge SC1430 running CentOS 7.x

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Ardrishaig, Argyll. Scotland UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,859
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: Banshee and high CPU use in 11.4

    Quote Originally Posted by katanacb View Post
    Interesting, thanks caf.

    Is there some sort of 'debug' mode that I can run banshee in, or would it be worth running an strace on the banshee process to determine what it's spinning on? Obviously I've mis-configured something, or I've got a missing package ...
    Sounds like you are answering your own question. Is your banshee from the OSS repo or have you added other repos that may be being used?
    Tumbleweed_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Norman, OK
    Posts
    209

    Default Re: Banshee and high CPU use in 11.4

    It's from the OSS repo, not the banshee one ...
    Main Machine: Dell G7 running Ubuntu 18.04
    Server: Dell PowerEdge SC1430 running CentOS 7.x

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Ardrishaig, Argyll. Scotland UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,859
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: Banshee and high CPU use in 11.4

    Please post your repo list

    zypper lr -d
    Tumbleweed_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Norman, OK
    Posts
    209

    Default Re: Banshee and high CPU use in 11.4

    okay ..

    # | Alias | Name | Enabled | Refresh | Priority | Type | URI | Service
    ---+----------------------------------+------------------------------------+---------+---------+----------+--------+-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------+--------
    1 | Latest_Stable_LibreOffice_(OBS) | Latest Stable LibreOffice (OBS) | Yes | Yes | 99 | rpm-md | Index of /repositories/LibreOffice:/Stable/openSUSE_11.4 |
    2 | SUMF_(obs) | SUMF (obs) | Yes | Yes | 99 | rpm-md | Index of /repositories/home:/lemmy04:/profilemanagement/openSUSE_11.4 |
    3 | Subpixel_Smoothing_Repository | Subpixel Smoothing Repository | Yes | Yes | 99 | rpm-md | Index of /repositories/home:/muzlocker/openSUSE_11.4 |
    4 | Updates-for-openSUSE-11.4-11.4-0 | Updates for openSUSE 11.4 11.4-0 | Yes | Yes | 99 | rpm-md | Index of /update/11.4 |
    5 | download.nvidia.com-opensuse | NVIDIA Repository | Yes | Yes | 99 | rpm-md | ftp://download.nvidia.com/opensuse/11.4/ |
    6 | download.opensuse.org-Apps | openSUSE BuildService - GNOME:Apps | Yes | Yes | 99 | rpm-md | Index of /repositories/GNOME:/Apps/openSUSE_11.4 |
    7 | download.opensuse.org-standard | Main Repository (Contrib) | Yes | Yes | 99 | rpm-md | Index of /repositories/openSUSE:/11.4:/Contrib/standard |
    8 | ftp.uni-erlangen.de-suse | Packman Repository | Yes | Yes | 99 | rpm-md | Index of /pub/mirrors/packman/suse/openSUSE_11.4/ |
    9 | openSUSE-11.4-11.4-0 | openSUSE-11.4-11.4-0 | Yes | No | 99 | yast2 | cd:///?devices=/dev/disk/by-id/usb-TSSTcorp_CDDVDW_SE-S084D_0Z468K_O-0:0,/dev/sr0 |
    10 | opensuse-guide.org-repo | libdvdcss repository | Yes | Yes | 99 | rpm-md | http://opensuse-guide.org/repo/11.4/ |
    11 | repo-debug | openSUSE-11.4-Debug | No | Yes | 99 | NONE | Index of /debug/distribution/11.4/repo/oss |
    12 | repo-debug-update | openSUSE-11.4-Update-Debug | No | Yes | 99 | NONE | Index of /debug/update/11.4 |
    13 | repo-non-oss | openSUSE-11.4-Non-Oss | Yes | Yes | 99 | yast2 | Index of /distribution/11.4/repo/non-oss |
    14 | repo-oss | openSUSE-11.4-Oss | Yes | Yes | 99 | yast2 | Index of /distribution/11.4/repo/oss |
    15 | repo-source | openSUSE-11.4-Source | No | Yes | 99 | NONE | Index of /source/distribution/11.4/repo/oss |
    Main Machine: Dell G7 running Ubuntu 18.04
    Server: Dell PowerEdge SC1430 running CentOS 7.x

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Ardrishaig, Argyll. Scotland UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,859
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: Banshee and high CPU use in 11.4

    Probably why mine is ok and yours isn't.

    Or can you be absolutely certain that banshee didn't work from default install + packman (multi-media)
    Tumbleweed_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Norman, OK
    Posts
    209

    Default Re: Banshee and high CPU use in 11.4

    So what should I delete?

    running an strace on the PID, I get this:
    read(5, 0xb5bcc4, 4096) = -1 EAGAIN (Resource temporarily unavailable)
    poll([{fd=6, events=POLLIN}, {fd=5, events=POLLIN}, {fd=12, events=POLLIN|POLLPRI}, {fd=17, events=POLLIN}, {fd=3, events=POLLIN}, {fd=19, events=POLLIN}, {fd=20, events=POLLIN}, {fd=21, events=POLLIN}], 8, 0) = 0 (Timeout)
    read(5, 0xb5bcc4, 4096) = -1 EAGAIN (Resource temporarily unavailable)
    poll([{fd=6, events=POLLIN}, {fd=5, events=POLLIN}, {fd=12, events=POLLIN|POLLPRI}, {fd=17, events=POLLIN}, {fd=3, events=POLLIN}, {fd=19, events=POLLIN}, {fd=20, events=POLLIN}, {fd=21, events=POLLIN}], 8, 0^C) = 0 (Timeout)

    scrolling really fast past the screen ... And yes, this was something that was going on with just the default install + packman.
    Main Machine: Dell G7 running Ubuntu 18.04
    Server: Dell PowerEdge SC1430 running CentOS 7.x

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Ardrishaig, Argyll. Scotland UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,859
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: Banshee and high CPU use in 11.4

    Create a new user
    Start banshee, but don't give it a media dir to load
    Place some music files in the /home/username/Music
    And try playing them

    I have to sleep now
    Tumbleweed_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •