Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: libreOffice garbles my screen

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Toronto,Canada
    Posts
    549

    Default libreOffice garbles my screen

    libreOffice garbles my screen and have to emergency get aout Ctrl-Alt-Backspace.
    here is what i have in /var/log/messages:
    Mar 16 18:58:28 aruba polkitd(authority=local): Unregistered Authentication Agent for unix-session:/org/freedesktop/ConsoleKit/Session2 (system bus name :1.471, object path /org/kde/PolicyKit1/AuthenticationAgent, locale en_US.UTF-8) (disconnected from bus)
    Mar 16 18:58:29 aruba kdm[1036]: X server for display :0 terminated unexpectedly
    Mar 16 18:58:29 aruba acpid: client 9895[0:0] has disconnected
    Mar 16 18:58:29 aruba acpid: client connected from 10605[0:0]
    Mar 16 18:58:29 aruba acpid: 1 client rule loaded
    Mar 16 18:58:29 aruba kernel: [ 3994.011101] [drm:radeon_vga_detect] *ERROR* VGA-1: probed a monitor but no|invalid EDID
    Mar 16 18:58:30 aruba NetworkManager[1477]: <error> [1300316310.382451] [nm-manager.c:1368] user_proxy_init(): could not init user settings proxy: (3) Could not get owner of name 'org.freedesktop.NetworkManagerUserSettings': no such name
    Mar 16 18:58:30 aruba NetworkManager[1477]: <error> [1300316310.384665] [nm-manager.c:1368] user_proxy_init(): could not init user settings proxy: (3) Could not get owner of name 'org.freedesktop.NetworkManagerUserSettings': no such name
    Mar 16 18:58:30 aruba NetworkManager[1477]: <error> [1300316310.385640] [nm-manager.c:1368] user_proxy_init(): could not init user settings proxy: (3) Could not get owner of name 'org.freedesktop.NetworkManagerUserSettings': no such name
    Mar 16 18:58:35 aruba checkproc: checkproc: can not get session id for process 10012!
    Mar 16 18:58:36 aruba NetworkManager[1477]: <error> [1300316316.537761] [nm-manager.c:1368] user_proxy_init(): could not init user settings proxy: (3) Could not get owner of name 'org.freedesktop.NetworkManagerUserSettings': no such name
    Mar 16 18:58:36 aruba NetworkManager[1477]: <error> [1300316316.538828] [nm-manager.c:1368] user_proxy_init(): could not init user settings proxy: (3) Could not get owner of name 'org.freedesktop.NetworkManagerUserSettings': no such name
    anyone can help? I'm in 11.4 after an update which was not completely successfull. I can use my desktop without any problems otherwise.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Brazil
    Posts
    2,875

    Default Re: libreOffice garbles my screen

    It seem that none of the messages are related to libreoffice.

    Did you try disabling hardware acceleration in LO Tools>Options>Display?

    Is this KDE4? If so, did you try disabling 3D effects (ALT+SHIFT+F12)?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Toronto,Canada
    Posts
    549

    Default Re: libreOffice garbles my screen

    As soon as I start LibreOffice my screen gets garbled. I will try to capture again if there are any errors sent to /var/log/messages. I don't have 3D effects enabled(this is an old computer) and it takes too much of its power for the effects. well no messages are sent to this log. not sure where else I could find any errors. it just garbles the screen in horizontal bands of around 1/2"(1 cm) which don't have the left side of the screen as the 0 point.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Toronto,Canada
    Posts
    549

    Default Re: libreOffice garbles my screen

    KRDC(remote desktop) is another one which has the same effect. Should I install 11.4 again? Any comments? thanks
    This is something which I didn't encounter in any other releases since 10.3 on the same old computer.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Brazil
    Posts
    2,875

    Default Re: libreOffice garbles my screen

    Perhaps you should try a lighter desktop, like LXDE. According to the reports in these fora it is runs very well in older machines.

    Also you could try installing OpenOffice from the community repo (it was still there last time I looked) and see if you have the same issue.

  6. #6

    Default Re: libreOffice garbles my screen

    You have an ATI card ...
    try add this line

    Option "ColorTiling" "off"

    in /etc/X11/xorg.conf.d/50-device.conf

    restart the X server and see if it helps.

    (had a similar problem with Gimp and an ATI card)

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Toronto,Canada
    Posts
    549

    Default Re: libreOffice garbles my screen

    thank you brunomcl for suggestion but this computer worked well since 10.3 with every upgrade and with KDM since 11.0. I will stick to it for now specially that the tip provided by occhigrigi was SUCCESSFULL!. Thanks a lot!
    Now I can use libreOffice and KRDC without garbling my screen. I have just to fix my second user which doesn't have ax X window and I will be fine.
    Here is the content of my /etc/X11/xorg.conf.d/50-device.conf and I don't know if this had an effect or not, but everything is commented out in the file. Maybe Option and Driver should be uncommented? I will try. Not much to loose and let you know.
    Section "Device"
    Identifier "Default Device"
    Option "ColorTiling" "off"
    #Driver "radeon"

    ## Required magic for radeon/radeonhd drivers; output name
    ## (here: "DVI-0") can be figured out via 'xrandr -q'
    #Option "monitor-DVI-0" "Default Monitor"

    EndSection

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Toronto,Canada
    Posts
    549

    Default Re: libreOffice garbles my screen

    It didn't work.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    West Virginia Sector 13
    Posts
    15,699

    Default Re: libreOffice garbles my screen

    Did you restart X? Or reboot after the edit?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Toronto,Canada
    Posts
    549

    Default Re: libreOffice garbles my screen

    I removed the comment for the driver and option and restarted the computer without success.
    Only the second user when I try to log in doesn't have an X window. I think this should be very puzzling for the ones who understand how the OS works.
    I verified the user(in Yast) and has the same rights as the one which is working.
    There must be a place which collects the logs if I try to switch the user which could give more details on what is wrong why some configurations are not available.
    I just don't know where, which file. (/var/log/messages doesn't log anything)
    I will try to recreate the user to see if that helps, but I will wait for gogalthorp if he has time to let me know what processes would log the in fact the start of I think init5 for an user. I would like to understand why it doesn't work first if possible. Thank you

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •