Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Mount NTFS Partitions in GNOME

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    New Delhi, India
    Posts
    47

    Lightbulb Mount NTFS Partitions in GNOME

    I Just Recently Installed OpenSUSE with GNOME Desktop and was surprised to know that none of my NTFS Partiitions were mounted to the Linux File System.
    Earlier I had Installed Open SUSE with KDE Desktop and there were no problems, everything was readily mounted and i could access the NTFS Partitions.
    I am a Total Newbie To Linux.
    Please Give Me The Syntax To Mount The NTFS Partitions in Following Partition Table Acquired with fdisk :
    Disk /dev/sda: 250.1 GB, 250059350016 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 30401 cylinders
    Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
    Disk identifier: 0x00910091

    Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
    /dev/sda1 1 262 2104483+ 82 Linux swap / Solaris
    /dev/sda2 5223 30400 202242285 f W95 Ext'd (LBA)
    /dev/sda3 * 263 2267 16105162+ 83 Linux
    /dev/sda4 2268 5222 23736037+ 83 Linux
    /dev/sda5 5223 10444 41945683+ 7 HPFS/NTFS
    /dev/sda6 10445 20887 83883366 7 HPFS/NTFS
    /dev/sda7 20888 26109 41945683+ 7 HPFS/NTFS
    /dev/sda8 26110 30400 34467426 7 HPFS/NTFS

    Partition table entries are not in disk order
    Any Help Would Be Greatly Appreciated

  2. #2

    Default Re: Mount NTFS Partitions in GNOME

    Could you show us your /etc/fstab? Type:
    Code:
    cat /etc/fstab
    and post output.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,857
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: Mount NTFS Partitions in GNOME

    Do you not see in Nautilus file manager for example: 100GB File System

    If you want them mounted at boot you need to add them in the partitioner
    or manually edit fstab
    FSTAB - Editing Manually
    Tumbleweed_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    New Delhi, India
    Posts
    47

    Post Re: Mount NTFS Partitions in GNOME

    Here is the Output :
    /dev/disk/by-id/ata-ST3250310AS_6RYA8F6C-part1 swap swap defaults 0 0
    /dev/disk/by-id/ata-ST3250310AS_6RYA8F6C-part3 / ext4 acl,user_xattr 1 1
    /dev/disk/by-id/ata-ST3250310AS_6RYA8F6C-part4 /home ext4 acl,user_xattr 1 2
    /dev/disk/by-id/ata-ST3250310AS_6RYA8F6C-part5 /windows/C ntfs-3g users,gid=users,fmask=133,dmask=022,locale=en_US.UTF-8 0 0
    /dev/disk/by-id/ata-ST3250310AS_6RYA8F6C-part6 /windows/D ntfs-3g users,gid=users,fmask=133,dmask=022,locale=en_US.UTF-8 0 0
    /dev/disk/by-id/ata-ST3250310AS_6RYA8F6C-part7 /windows/E ntfs-3g users,gid=users,fmask=133,dmask=022,locale=en_US.UTF-8 0 0
    /dev/disk/by-id/ata-ST3250310AS_6RYA8F6C-part8 /windows/F ntfs-3g users,gid=users,fmask=133,dmask=022,locale=en_US.UTF-8 0 0
    proc /proc proc defaults 0 0
    sysfs /sys sysfs noauto 0 0
    debugfs /sys/kernel/debug debugfs noauto 0 0
    usbfs /proc/bus/usb usbfs noauto 0 0
    devpts /dev/pts devpts mode=0620,gid=5 0 0

  5. #5

    Default Re: Mount NTFS Partitions in GNOME

    That's fine. Don't you see them in nautilus? You can add auto in each options line if you want to have them mounted automatically. Not sure that's what you want. I assume the mountpoints /windows/C, /windows/D, etc have been created. That's where you would find these partitions when they are mounted.
    Example:

    Code:
    /dev/disk/by-id/ata-ST3250310AS_6RYA8F6C-part6 /windows/D ntfs-3g users,gid=users,auto,fmask=133,dmask=022,locale=en_US.UTF-8 0 0

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    New Delhi, India
    Posts
    47

    Default Re: Mount NTFS Partitions in GNOME

    Thank You Very Much!
    I Found The Mounted Partitions in /windows/

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,857
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: Mount NTFS Partitions in GNOME

    Tumbleweed_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •