Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Dual Booting right now - I sure hope someone can help ASAP

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Michigan USA
    Posts
    102

    Default Dual Booting right now - I sure hope someone can help ASAP

    Ok. NEW Laptop w win7. I want to dual boot for now.

    First confusion:
    0. no emulation system type:00
    2. no emulation system type:00

    choice o boots to install
    choice 1 boots to windows
    NOTE: already chose 0. and moved on

    Second confusion:
    Resolution: at initial screen res is 1024x768
    can f3 and opt for 1366x768 QUESTION: is this better?
    NOTE: for now, I left it at 1024x768 so we can move on here.

    Screen seems a bit dark for some reason...hmmm. we will see

    OK. HERE IS THE MAIN EVENT AND ISSUE, suggested partitioning: as follows

    shrink windows partition /dev/sda2 to 183.56 GB
    create extended partition /dev/sda4 (281.91 GB)
    create swap volume /dev/sda5 (2.01 GB)
    create root volume /dev/sd6 (20.0 GB) w ext4
    create volume /dev/sda7 (259.90 GB) for /home with ext4
    set mount point of dev/sda1 to /windows/C
    set mount point of dev/sda3 to /windows/E

    QUESTION: does this look right? why 2 set mount points, and what is /E?
    NOTE: This new laptop did have a recovery partition that I deleted AFTER I updated through windows service pack1 and made recover discs. so that is no longer there. HOWEVER, when I click on EDIT PARTITION, I see sda3 is 103.02mb is win95fat32 HP_TOOLS recovery or something.

    PLEASE ADVISE on the two mount points and what to do next. thx. BTW I read cafs guide and quite honestly, if it looked like his screen shots with one mount set point I would have moved forward, so right now I am afraid to do anything other than abort, PLEASE HELP so I can move forward, anyone!! thank you in advance.

    Oh yes, I am NEW to SUSE so be easy as I only speak user right now. lol
    Laptop: openSUSE 13.1 | Gnome 3.2.1 | i3 350m 2.27 GHz | HP Pavilion dv6 | 4GB RAM | Intel HD Integrated Graphics

    Installed openSUSE, never going back!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Michigan USA
    Posts
    102

    Default Re: Dual Booting right now - I sure hope someone can help ASAP

    OK, I pushed on as I got no replies and here is what I found out. WARNING, MBR on sda1 less than 128gb, will get error 18 and will not boot, etc...

    I looked and sda1 is 199 mb

    Wow, I need some help, ABORT!
    Laptop: openSUSE 13.1 | Gnome 3.2.1 | i3 350m 2.27 GHz | HP Pavilion dv6 | 4GB RAM | Intel HD Integrated Graphics

    Installed openSUSE, never going back!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Michigan USA
    Posts
    102

    Default Re: Dual Booting right now - I sure hope someone can help ASAP

    ok, read Dual boot tutorial? Adding SuSE 11.0 to Windows 7 and all about grub....will keep working at it.
    Laptop: openSUSE 13.1 | Gnome 3.2.1 | i3 350m 2.27 GHz | HP Pavilion dv6 | 4GB RAM | Intel HD Integrated Graphics

    Installed openSUSE, never going back!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    25,547

    Default Re: Dual Booting right now - I sure hope someone can help ASAP

    On 2011-03-16 00:36, newtosuse wrote:

    > Second confusion:
    > Resolution: at initial screen res is 1024x768
    > CAN F3 AND OPT FOR 1366X768 QUESTION: IS THIS BETTER?


    Who knows? Only you know the resolution of your display.


    > OK. HERE IS THE MAIN EVENT AND ISSUE, suggested partitioning: as
    > follows
    >
    > shrink windows partition /dev/sda2 to 183.56 GB
    > create extended partition /dev/sda4 (281.91 GB)
    > create swap volume /dev/sda5 (2.01 GB)
    > create root volume /dev/sd6 (20.0 GB) w ext4
    > create volume /dev/sda7 (259.90 GB) for /home with ext4
    > set mount point of dev/sda1 to /windows/C
    > set mount point of dev/sda3 to /windows/E
    >
    > QUESTION: does this look right?


    Probably. We do not know your existing layout.

    > why 2 set mount points,


    Two? I see six.

    > and what is
    > /E?


    Windows 7 uses at least two partitions, one is the system, other is the
    boot partition, very small.


    > PLEASE HELP so I can move
    > forward, anyone!!


    Please be patient. We are sleeping, wait a day or two. >:-|

    --
    Cheers / Saludos,

    Carlos E. R.
    (from 11.2 x86_64 "Emerald" at Telcontar)

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Michigan USA
    Posts
    102

    Default Re: Dual Booting right now - I sure hope someone can help ASAP

    Thank you Carlos!
    Laptop: openSUSE 13.1 | Gnome 3.2.1 | i3 350m 2.27 GHz | HP Pavilion dv6 | 4GB RAM | Intel HD Integrated Graphics

    Installed openSUSE, never going back!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Michigan USA
    Posts
    102

    Default Re: Dual Booting right now - I sure hope someone can help ASAP

    ok, sorry carlos.

    I only wanted win7 for the intel wireless display option to sit at a distance without wires and stream to my tv.

    I am currently blowing windows out right now and installing 11.4. Hopefully I can find a linux version that will do the same thing.

    I will let you know how my install goes tomorrow evening after work.
    Laptop: openSUSE 13.1 | Gnome 3.2.1 | i3 350m 2.27 GHz | HP Pavilion dv6 | 4GB RAM | Intel HD Integrated Graphics

    Installed openSUSE, never going back!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Michigan USA
    Posts
    102

    Default Re: Dual Booting right now - I sure hope someone can help ASAP

    OK I now only have 11.4 installed. No more Windows. Honestly, I thought win 7 was slow and frustrating. As soon as I got 11.4 on....I am very happy again!

    So far, then only thing I know is wrong right now, is that Firefox will not play videos in youtube full screen. and the fonts are abit off. If anyone has suggestions, please let me know.

    This is the end of this thread. However should anyone want to explain to me the boot flag and how I could have changed it to mount drive c instead, I would appreciate it. Sorry Carlos, I just was not that patient....
    Laptop: openSUSE 13.1 | Gnome 3.2.1 | i3 350m 2.27 GHz | HP Pavilion dv6 | 4GB RAM | Intel HD Integrated Graphics

    Installed openSUSE, never going back!

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Michigan USA
    Posts
    102

    Default Re: Dual Booting right now - I sure hope someone can help ASAP

    OK. Several hours later...

    I have decided to reload windows 7 and do a dual boot. I did research the intel wireless display software and they do not have it for linux as of yet. I realized that would come in handy as I do have a few training classes at work to administer and this way I can just bring my laptop and netgear wireless display adapter., etc..ptv

    Honestly, the few minutes I had on win7, I just did not like it after being 11.3.. It was slow booting up and sluggish to me.

    Hopefully I can reload windows fairly quickly (with recovery disks) and start over.

    In the meantime, can anyone provide any tips on the boot flag as I beleive that was the issue. it was not set for just windows main partition but a windows 103.xx mg partition. I was warned during the install process it would not work, and it did not. I should have just been patient like Carlo requested. I just was not thinking about doing the training classes at work and how handy that would be.

    Also, can anyone suggest what to do regarding full screen youtube videos in firefox?

    Any replies would be great....but AFTER I reload windows, I will start any new and appropriate threads individually as I need. thanks everyone!
    Laptop: openSUSE 13.1 | Gnome 3.2.1 | i3 350m 2.27 GHz | HP Pavilion dv6 | 4GB RAM | Intel HD Integrated Graphics

    Installed openSUSE, never going back!

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    West Virginia Sector 13
    Posts
    16,285

    Default Re: Dual Booting right now - I sure hope someone can help ASAP

    It depends on how you control the boot. The boot flag is only meaningful if you use generic boot code in the MBR. If you install grub to the MBR then it will point itself to the associated partition where /boot is installed. This ignores any boot flag. If you install grub to the partition that has /boot and have generic code in MBR then the boot flag is used.. Note in this case the /boot needs to be in a primary partition not a logical since the generic code does not recognize logicals.

    Full screen youtub problems are a video driver problem.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Michigan USA
    Posts
    102

    Default Re: Dual Booting right now - I sure hope someone can help ASAP

    Thank you gogalthorp!

    I am at work right now...as soon as I can, I will re-read the 'install grub' guides. And try again.
    Laptop: openSUSE 13.1 | Gnome 3.2.1 | i3 350m 2.27 GHz | HP Pavilion dv6 | 4GB RAM | Intel HD Integrated Graphics

    Installed openSUSE, never going back!

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •