Page 1 of 9 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 84

Thread: swap never used

  1. #1

    Default swap never used

    Hi,

    serious problem,

    I installed opensuse 11.4 on my Dell workstation just as I did for 11.3.

    But now, I saw that my 2G swap has never been used, that is very strange, always
    0 bytes (0.0 %) of 2.0 GiB

    and my system runs quite slowly than before I worked on 11.3


    Help pls.



    Daniel W

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Montreal, Québec
    Posts
    833

    Default Re : swap never used

    Hi,

    Can you post the result of this command :

    Code:
    fdisk -l

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    West Virginia Sector 13
    Posts
    16,287

    Default Re: swap never used

    Unless you use a lot of apps or a huge one you may never hit swap. How much memory do you have?

    What video card/chip do you have and did you install the proprietor drive for it? My Computer on the desktop should tell you what card and driver are running.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,857
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: swap never used

    Quote Originally Posted by lakeatmt View Post
    Hi,

    serious problem,

    I installed opensuse 11.4 on my Dell workstation just as I did for 11.3.

    But now, I saw that my 2G swap has never been used, that is very strange, always
    0 bytes (0.0 %) of 2.0 GiB

    and my system runs quite slowly than before I worked on 11.3


    Help pls.



    Daniel W
    I take it you are attributing the seeming slowness to swap not being used.
    It seldom is - Though it will depend how much RAM you have on the machine in question.
    Tumbleweed_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  5. #5

    Default Re: swap never used

    daniel@Office:~> sudo /sbin/fdisk -l
    root's password:

    Disk /dev/sdb: 500.1 GB, 500107862016 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 60801 cylinders, total 976773168 sectors
    Units = sectors of 1 * 512 = 512 bytes
    Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
    I/O size (minimum/optimal): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
    Disk identifier: 0x08000000

    Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
    /dev/sdb1 63 160649 80293+ de Dell Utility
    /dev/sdb2 160650 12755609 6297480 c W95 FAT32 (LBA)
    /dev/sdb3 * 12755610 976768064 482006227+ f W95 Ext'd (LBA)
    /dev/sdb5 12755673 16964639 2104483+ 82 Linux swap / Solaris
    /dev/sdb6 16964703 58910354 20972826 83 Linux
    /dev/sdb7 58910418 976768064 458928823+ 83 Linux
    daniel@Office:~>



    I got 12G physical memory.

    I do simulations, I am pretty sure I will and I always use large memories than ordinary people, because I am running computation fluid dynamic simulation, with a large mesh always. sometime it will use physical memory up to 80% of my physical memory. But still I cannot find swap using as I have seen b4 on my 11.3. So I feel confused. Esp When I on my new 11.4 I found switching the tabs is sometime very slow than b4, like in nautilus or gnome terminal...

    I use NVIDIA Quadro FX 3800 video card, I follow the step on a page of opensuse , that is "hard way", just as I did b4 for 11.3 which worked greatly with no problem (I took notes).

    SO what's going wrong ...

    Thanks so much


    Daniel W

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Montreal, Québec
    Posts
    833

    Default Re : Re: swap never used

    Quote Originally Posted by lakeatmt View Post
    daniel@Office:~>
    I got 12G physical memory.
    Wow ! With that RAM, a 2 GB of swap is of no use.... Don't bother....

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,857
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: swap never used

    Show us the output of 'top' from your terminal
    Maybe something is hogging the CPU
    Tumbleweed_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  8. #8

    Default Re: swap never used

    Really??? I don't need swap? Are you sure?

    Well, I don;t know how to upload a picture here on this forum. But I have already just ended up with a situation that "run up my 12 G completely, and the program crashes", when I meshing my flow field. And even then no swap was used.... Isn't this a symbol of something going wrong...








    ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    daniel@Office:~/OpenFOAM/daniel-1.6-ext/run/BARC/mesh2/m2LESA> top

    top - 13:00:21 up 27 min, 4 users, load average: 0.08, 0.68, 0.70
    Tasks: 178 total, 1 running, 177 sleeping, 0 stopped, 0 zombie
    Cpu(s): 0.0%us, 20.0%sy, 0.0%ni, 80.0%id, 0.0%wa, 0.0%hi, 0.0%si, 0.0%st
    Mem: 12033M total, 1240M used, 10793M free, 17M buffers
    Swap: 0M total, 0M used, 0M free, 164M cached

    PID USER PR NI VIRT RES SHR S %CPU %MEM TIME+ COMMAND
    10111 daniel 20 0 8732 1220 828 R 143 0.0 0:00.05 top
    1 root 20 0 12460 140 0 S 0 0.0 0:02.59 init
    2 root 20 0 0 0 0 S 0 0.0 0:00.00 kthreadd
    3 root 20 0 0 0 0 S 0 0.0 0:00.03 ksoftirqd/0
    6 root RT 0 0 0 0 S 0 0.0 0:00.00 migration/0
    7 root RT 0 0 0 0 S 0 0.0 0:00.00 watchdog/0
    8 root RT 0 0 0 0 S 0 0.0 0:00.00 migration/1
    9 root 20 0 0 0 0 S 0 0.0 0:00.00 kworker/1:0
    10 root 20 0 0 0 0 S 0 0.0 0:00.02 ksoftirqd/1
    11 root 20 0 0 0 0 S 0 0.0 0:00.82 kworker/0:1
    12 root RT 0 0 0 0 S 0 0.0 0:00.00 watchdog/1
    13 root RT 0 0 0 0 S 0 0.0 0:00.00 migration/2
    14 root 20 0 0 0 0 S 0 0.0 0:00.00 kworker/2:0
    15 root 20 0 0 0 0 S 0 0.0 0:00.01 ksoftirqd/2
    16 root RT 0 0 0 0 S 0 0.0 0:00.00 watchdog/2
    17 root RT 0 0 0 0 S 0 0.0 0:00.00 migration/3
    18 root 20 0 0 0 0 S 0 0.0 0:00.00 kworker/3:0
    19 root 20 0 0 0 0 S 0 0.0 0:00.01 ksoftirqd/3
    20 root RT 0 0 0 0 S 0 0.0 0:00.00 watchdog/3
    21 root 0 -20 0 0 0 S 0 0.0 0:00.00 cpuset
    22 root 0 -20 0 0 0 S 0 0.0 0:00.00 khelper
    23 root 0 -20 0 0 0 S 0 0.0 0:00.00 netns
    24 root 20 0 0 0 0 S 0 0.0 0:00.00 sync_supers
    25 root 20 0 0 0 0 S 0 0.0 0:00.00 bdi-default
    26 root 0 -20 0 0 0 S 0 0.0 0:00.00 kintegrityd
    27 root 0 -20 0 0 0 S 0 0.0 0:00.00 kblockd
    28 root 0 -20 0 0 0 S 0 0.0 0:00.00 kacpid
    29 root 0 -20 0 0 0 S 0 0.0 0:00.00 kacpi_notify
    30 root 0 -20 0 0 0 S 0 0.0 0:00.00 kacpi_hotplug
    31 root 20 0 0 0 0 S 0 0.0 0:00.03 kworker/3:1
    32 root 20 0 0 0 0 S 0 0.0 0:00.05 kworker/2:1
    33 root 20 0 0 0 0 S 0 0.0 0:00.09 kworker/1:1
    34 root 0 -20 0 0 0 S 0 0.0 0:00.00 ata_sff
    35 root 20 0 0 0 0 S 0 0.0 0:00.00 khubd
    36 root 20 0 0 0 0 S 0 0.0 0:00.00 kseriod
    37 root 0 -20 0 0 0 S 0 0.0 0:00.00 md
    38 root 0 -20 0 0 0 S 0 0.0 0:00.00 kondemand
    39 root 20 0 0 0 0 S 0 0.0 0:00.00 khungtaskd
    40 root 20 0 0 0 0 S 0 0.0 0:02.44 kswapd0
    41 root 25 5 0 0 0 S 0 0.0 0:00.00 ksmd
    42 root 20 0 0 0 0 S 0 0.0 0:00.00 fsnotify_mark
    43 root 0 -20 0 0 0 S 0 0.0 0:00.00 aio
    44 root 0 -20 0 0 0 S 0 0.0 0:00.00 crypto
    48 root 20 0 0 0 0 S 0 0.0 0:00.18 scsi_eh_0
    49 root 20 0 0 0 0 S 0 0.0 0:00.00 scsi_eh_1
    50 root 20 0 0 0 0 S 0 0.0 0:00.00 scsi_eh_2
    51 root 20 0 0 0 0 S 0 0.0 0:00.00 scsi_eh_3
    52 root 20 0 0 0 0 S 0 0.0 0:00.00 scsi_eh_4
    53 root 20 0 0 0 0 S 0 0.0 0:00.00 scsi_eh_5
    57 root 20 0 0 0 0 S 0 0.0 0:00.00 kworker/u:4

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    17,317

    Default Re: swap never used

    On Tue, 15 Mar 2011 17:06:03 +0000, lakeatmt wrote:

    > and my system runs quite slowly than before I worked on 11.3


    I'd do a root cause analysis on this rather than assuming it's because
    swap isn't being used. Swap being used generally slows things down
    (because it takes time to take memory and write it to disk and take
    swapped info and pull it back into memory).

    Start by looking in top and see what is consuming the CPU resources in
    your system.

    Jim


    --
    Jim Henderson
    openSUSE Forums Administrator
    Forum Use Terms & Conditions at http://tinyurl.com/openSUSE-T-C

  10. #10

    Default Re: swap never used

    processor : 3
    vendor_id : GenuineIntel
    cpu family : 6
    model : 26
    model name : Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU E5540 @ 2.53GHz
    stepping : 5
    cpu MHz : 2526.952
    cache size : 8192 KB
    physical id : 0
    siblings : 4
    core id : 3
    cpu cores : 4
    apicid : 6
    initial apicid : 6
    fpu : yes
    fpu_exception : yes
    cpuid level : 11
    wp : yes
    flags : fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush dts acpi mmx fxsr sse sse2 ss ht tm pbe syscall nx rdtscp lm constant_tsc arch_perfmon pebs bts rep_good nopl xtopology nonstop_tsc aperfmperf pni dtes64 monitor ds_cpl vmx est tm2 ssse3 cx16 xtpr pdcm dca sse4_1 sse4_2 popcnt lahf_lm ida dts tpr_shadow vnmi flexpriority ept vpid
    bogomips : 5053.12
    clflush size : 64
    cache_alignment : 64
    address sizes : 40 bits physical, 48 bits virtual
    power management:




    daniel@Office:~> cat /etc/fstab
    /dev/disk/by-id/ata-WDC_WD5000AAKS-75V0A0_WD-WCAWF5940489-part5 swap swap defaults 0 0
    /dev/disk/by-id/ata-WDC_WD5000AAKS-75V0A0_WD-WCAWF5940489-part6 / ext4 acl,user_xattr 1 1
    /dev/disk/by-id/ata-WDC_WD5000AAKS-75V0A0_WD-WCAWF5940489-part7 /home ext4 defaults 1 2
    /dev/disk/by-id/ata-WDC_WD5000AAKS-75V0A0_WD-WCAWF5940489-part2 /windows/C vfat users,gid=users,umask=0002,utf8=true 0 0
    proc /proc proc defaults 0 0
    sysfs /sys sysfs noauto 0 0
    debugfs /sys/kernel/debug debugfs noauto 0 0
    devpts /dev/pts devpts mode=0620,gid=5 0 0
    daniel@Office:~> free
    total used free shared buffers cached
    Mem: 12322504 1334856 10987648 0 23532 198984
    -/+ buffers/cache: 1112340 11210164
    Swap: 0 0 0
    daniel@Office:~>

Page 1 of 9 123 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •