Petite Linux?

Hello!

Could someone share their experience with petite linux?
How well is it. I am looking for a good e17 distro. Currently I am on Bodhi Linux but when they said it is minimal, they dind;t lie, I can;t even find a manager to see how does this version of Linux sees my hardware.

Yes I am still a Linux newbie.
I really liked how well opensuse 11.3 did see my hardware and offered suitable drivers etc. As I understand Petite Linux is same opensuse 11.3 just with a clean e17 desktop envo?

thank you for your patience and time to reply!

Have you tried Linux MangOeS? It’s been tried and tested for more than a year and a half.

MangOeS – SUSE Gallery

Hi Jetbird,

Petite Linux 11.4 should be publicly released over the next few days.
I recommend you give it a whirl.
Most notably on the E17 front, the focus bug has finally been fixed (kudos to e17 developers)
As for petite itself, there have been a few changes, and overall I feel the 11.4 version is faster and more responsive than the 11.3 version.

Hope you like it,

Robert

re: Jetbird request:

I am currently running opensuse-11.3-KDE4 on an ASUS eeePC 901 netbook using opensuse LXDE window manager. Opensuse LXDE runs well but it is not fully integrated with KDE (eg. no menu links to kcontrol or system settings) nor all that “easy” to configure. I have KDE4 libraries and other ‘experimental’ window managers installed on the netbook so if I am to stick with LXDE I will need to reinstall.

I am waiting for LXDE 11.4 studio release …