Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: mc hangs temporarily when network is down

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    U.S., Canada
    Posts
    50

    Default mc hangs temporarily when network is down

    Midnight Commander startup is usually instantaneous, but when the network (eth0) is down, mct takes over a minute to start.

    This is a known problem. See:

    #40 (savannah: MC doesn't open if network gateway inaccessible.) (07 Jan 2007)

    for example. The problem seems to be caused by mc's use of samba.

    Is there a known solution or circumvention? The above file advises me to "comment out the eth0 interface from the smb.conf "; however, my /etc/samba/smb.conf seems to have no eth0 interface.

    The "man mc" file mentions that "smbfs" is one of the virtual file systems used internally by mc. I tried reducing the "vfs" timeout in the ".mc/ini" file from 60 to 5, but this had no effect on the startup time.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    25,547

    Default Re: mc hangs temporarily when network is down

    On 2011-03-03 20:06, NonZ wrote:
    >
    > Midnight Commander startup is usually instantaneous, but when the
    > network (eth0) is down, mct takes over a minute to start.


    In my laptop I have often that circumstance, and I have no problem with mc
    starting. I will have to try again...

    [...]

    Yes, instantaneous.

    --
    Cheers / Saludos,

    Carlos E. R.
    (from 11.2 x86_64 "Emerald" at Telcontar)

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    U.S., Canada
    Posts
    50

    Default Re: mc hangs temporarily when network is down

    Quote Originally Posted by robin_listas View Post
    In my laptop I have often that circumstance, and I have no problem with mc starting. I will have to try again... [...] Yes, instantaneous.
    --
    Cheers / Saludos,
    Carlos E. R.
    (from 11.2 x86_64 "Emerald" at Telcontar)
    Thanks! Your information was helpful. It led me to try mc on my laptop as well -- and I see that it works fine there when the network connection is down. So all I have to do now is compare laptop and desktop configurations.

    The desktop does have one strange problem. xfce always comes up with the following warning message:

    Code:
    Could not look up internet address for x1-6-00-0c ...
    I compared /etc/hosts files, and found only one difference:
    Code:
    Laptop:   127.0.0.2  linux-4xt8.site, linux-4xt8
    Desktop:  127.0.0.2  linux-vnpi.site, linux-vnpi
    I compared /etc/host.conf files and found no differences.

    I compared /etc/resolv.conf and found a big difference. Laptop has nothing, desktop has the following four lines:
    Code:
    search cgocable.net
    nameserver 24.226.1.93
    nameserver 24.226.10.193
    nameserver 24.226.10.194
    I see that "resolv.conf" is generated automatically by "netconfig". However, the laptop and desktop /etc/netconfig files are identical -- so why the difference in "resolv.conf", then?

    I looked up "man resolv.conf". That document suggests that the "nameserver" lines are optional: The default is to use "the name server on the local machine".

    I don't follow what "man" says about the "search" line. Later, however, under "sortlist", "man" mentions "gethostbyname" -- which, as I recall, was also mentioned in the "mc" bug file at the link I posted above.

    Interesting! What happens if I save the desktop "resolv.conf" then remove the extra lines?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    25,547

    Default Re: mc hangs temporarily when network is down

    On 2011-03-03 23:06, NonZ wrote:
    > Interesting! What happens if I save resolv.conf then remove the extra
    > lines?


    Don't.

    Read the comments in the file about not doing it.

    --
    Cheers / Saludos,

    Carlos E. R.
    (from 11.2 x86_64 "Emerald" at Telcontar)

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    U.S., Canada
    Posts
    50

    Default Re: mc hangs temporarily when network is down

    Quote Originally Posted by robin_listas View Post
    On 2011-03-03 23:06, NonZ wrote:
    > Interesting! What happens if I save resolv.conf then remove the extra
    > lines?


    Don't.

    Read the comments in the file about not doing it.

    --
    Cheers / Saludos,

    Carlos E. R.
    (from 11.2 x86_64 "Emerald" at Telcontar)
    The /etc/resolv.conf file refers me to /etc/sysconfig/network/config. There, I find another difference between the desktop and the laptop: On the desktop, I have:

    Code:
    NETWORKMANAGER="no"
    I think I will change the setting to "yes". But before I do that, I want to find out where the extra nameserver records in resolve.conf came from. That seems like a question that is best addressed to the network forum here. There's no mention of the nameserver addresses in /etc/sysconfig/network/config.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    25,547

    Default Re: mc hangs temporarily when network is down

    On 2011-03-04 19:06, NonZ wrote:
    >
    > robin_listas;2297924 Wrote:


    > Code:
    > --------------------
    > NETWORKMANAGER="no"
    > --------------------
    >
    >
    > I think I will change the setting to "yes".


    Don't, not directly. Use Yast network configuration. It changes a lot of
    things. If it is a desktop connected to an ethernet cable, don't do it, use
    the traditional ifup method (in yast).

    > But before I do that, I
    > want to find out where the extra nameserver records in resolve.conf came
    > from. That seems like a question that is best addressed to the network
    > forum here. There's no mention of the nameserver addresses in
    > /etc/sysconfig/network/config.


    They come from the network manager, if defined, which is not. Then they
    could come from automatic network configuration, ie, dhcp-client. Check YaST.

    --
    Cheers / Saludos,

    Carlos E. R.
    (from 11.2 x86_64 "Emerald" at Telcontar)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •