Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: kalarm: only the first audio alarm works normally

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Southern Europe
    Posts
    352

    Default kalarm: only the first audio alarm works normally

    Since the last kde update I have observed that when an audio alarm is triggered everything is normal: you see the window with the message and hear the sound.
    But from that moment on the alarms show the window, but no sound is heard.
    If I quit the application and start it again, the same happens: first alarm works normally, the others are mute.
    I removed the config files and started again, but this resolved nothing.
    Any idea?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Ελλάδα(Αθήνα)-Россия (г. Красноярск)
    Posts
    2,919

    Default Απ: kalarm: only the first audio alarm works normally

    Go to start menu-->system settings-->multimedia-->phonon


    Go to notification and check sound there. Send me results.
    Πάντα Φιλικά, Στάμος.
    Desktop: openSUSE Leap 15||x86_64||Gnome 3.14 & KDE 5||AMD Ryzen 7 8 core||Nvidia GTX 1070 Ti Gaming Edition
    Γλώσσες Προγραμματισμού: C++, Qt developing.
    http://bit.ly/fT8Hfi

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Southern Europe
    Posts
    352

    Default Re: Απ: kalarm: only the first audio alarm works normally

    Thanks for your answer.

    There are four devices listed there. In this order:

    HDA Intell (STAC92xx Analog)
    default
    hw:0,0
    hw:0,1

    Clicking on "Test" for each one of them, everything is normal (test sound perfectly audible) for the first three. Nothing happens for the four one (hw:0,1).

    Anyway, sound works normally (other notifications, amarok, etc.). The problem is just in kalarm, except for the first alarm trigger after the launch of the application.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Ελλάδα(Αθήνα)-Россия (г. Красноярск)
    Posts
    2,919

    Default Απ: Re: Απ: kalarm: only the first audio alarm works normally

    Quote Originally Posted by wrbbt View Post
    Thanks for your answer.

    There are four devices listed there. In this order:

    HDA Intell (STAC92xx Analog)
    default
    hw:0,0
    hw:0,1

    Clicking on "Test" for each one of them, everything is normal (test sound perfectly audible) for the first three. Nothing happens for the four one (hw:0,1).

    Anyway, sound works normally (other notifications, amarok, etc.). The problem is just in kalarm, except for the first alarm trigger after the launch of the application.
    Try to up-grade your sound card there and check again. Could you send me picture of your phonon?
    Πάντα Φιλικά, Στάμος.
    Desktop: openSUSE Leap 15||x86_64||Gnome 3.14 & KDE 5||AMD Ryzen 7 8 core||Nvidia GTX 1070 Ti Gaming Edition
    Γλώσσες Προγραμματισμού: C++, Qt developing.
    http://bit.ly/fT8Hfi

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Southern Europe
    Posts
    352

    Default kalarm: only the first audio alarm works normally

    I think I have resolved it.
    In system settings-->multimedia-->phonon I went to the Backend tab and gave preference to Xine (before gstreamer had it) and everything seems to work normally now.
    I'm not sure that this makes sense. At least it works for now.
    Thanks for your suggestions.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Ελλάδα(Αθήνα)-Россия (г. Красноярск)
    Posts
    2,919

    Default Απ: kalarm: only the first audio alarm works normally

    Now you have sound. Right? Make reboot.
    Πάντα Φιλικά, Στάμος.
    Desktop: openSUSE Leap 15||x86_64||Gnome 3.14 & KDE 5||AMD Ryzen 7 8 core||Nvidia GTX 1070 Ti Gaming Edition
    Γλώσσες Προγραμματισμού: C++, Qt developing.
    http://bit.ly/fT8Hfi

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Ελλάδα(Αθήνα)-Россия (г. Красноярск)
    Posts
    2,919

    Default Απ: kalarm: only the first audio alarm works normally

    You mean that


    Firstly I wanted to make sure that your sound card is "up-grade" and then to set it with xine,vlc or gstreamer.

    Anyway now the problem has fixed.
    Πάντα Φιλικά, Στάμος.
    Desktop: openSUSE Leap 15||x86_64||Gnome 3.14 & KDE 5||AMD Ryzen 7 8 core||Nvidia GTX 1070 Ti Gaming Edition
    Γλώσσες Προγραμματισμού: C++, Qt developing.
    http://bit.ly/fT8Hfi

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Southern Europe
    Posts
    352

    Default Re: Απ: kalarm: only the first audio alarm works normally

    Yes, now everything seems to work normally.
    Before I had the backends preference as in your image. I put Xine on top of the list. That was what resolved the problem.
    Thanks again.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Ελλάδα(Αθήνα)-Россия (г. Красноярск)
    Posts
    2,919

    Default Απ: Re: Απ: kalarm: only the first audio alarm works normally

    You're welcome!
    Πάντα Φιλικά, Στάμος.
    Desktop: openSUSE Leap 15||x86_64||Gnome 3.14 & KDE 5||AMD Ryzen 7 8 core||Nvidia GTX 1070 Ti Gaming Edition
    Γλώσσες Προγραμματισμού: C++, Qt developing.
    http://bit.ly/fT8Hfi

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Tacoma WA USA
    Posts
    28

    Default Re: Απ: Re: Απ: kalarm: only the first audio alarm works normally

    I was having problems with analog sound until I moved Xine to the preferred backend also.

    11.4 RC4

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •