Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 25

Thread: YAST IN TERMINAL MODE / OPENSUSE 11.3

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Europe
    Posts
    152

    Default YAST IN TERMINAL MODE / OPENSUSE 11.3

    Hello,

    my system will only start and run in terminal mode. This is due to "finger-trouble" (?) when trying to install the gcc fortran compiler. I have no access to the net, but seem to be connected. Also, when trying to initialize Online Update in yast, I cannot access opensuse.org ("connection failed"). kdeinit aborts with "cannot connect to X server :0.0". The machine is a standalone HP Pavillion connected to the outside world via a wireless network
    Anybody having a good suggestion re how to proceed?

    Best regards and thanks,
    J C Anker

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Ελλάδα(Αθήνα)-Россия (г. Красноярск)
    Posts
    2,919

    Default Απ: YAST IN TERMINAL MODE / OPENSUSE 11.3

    Well open a terminal
    Code:
    su
    Code:
    # zypper refresh
    And read this Slow application startup - Localhost error
    Πάντα Φιλικά, Στάμος.
    Desktop: openSUSE Leap 15||x86_64||Gnome 3.14 & KDE 5||AMD Ryzen 7 8 core||Nvidia GTX 1070 Ti Gaming Edition
    Γλώσσες Προγραμματισμού: C++, Qt developing.
    http://bit.ly/fT8Hfi

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Montreal, Québec
    Posts
    833

    Default Re : Απ: YAST IN TERMINAL MODE / OPENSUSE 11.3

    Hi,

    First thing first, let's solved the GUI problem. It seems you don't have access to your graphical desktop. Wich graphic card do you have ?

    Follow these instructions to troubleshoot : SDB:Configuring graphics cards - openSUSE

    And give us feedback.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Europe
    Posts
    152

    Default Re: Απ: YAST IN TERMINAL MODE / OPENSUSE 11.3

    Hello,

    zypper does not work since I have no access to the net.
    "Error code:Connection failed
    Error message: Couln't resolve host 'download.opensuse.org' "
    I think the main problem is the lacking access to the net.

    Thanks, more suggestions are much appreciated
    J C Anker

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Montreal, Québec
    Posts
    833

    Default Re : Re: Απ: YAST IN TERMINAL MODE / OPENSUSE 11.3

    Hi,

    Can you access the gui desktop or not ?

    Can you post the result of this command :

    Code:
    /sbin/lspci -nnk
    Have a look here too : Getting Your Wireless to Work

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Europe
    Posts
    152

    Default Re: Απ: YAST IN TERMINAL MODE / OPENSUSE 11.3

    Hello again,

    the graphics card is an ATI Mobility Radeon HD 3400.

    Is this why I can not acces the internet in terminal mode?

    Best regars,
    J C Anker

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Europe
    Posts
    152

    Default Re: Απ: YAST IN TERMINAL MODE / OPENSUSE 11.3

    BTW:
    When I start OpenSuSE, I get the SuSE Cameleon logo with background OK.
    I gather the graphics card is working OK. Sorry for not mentioning this
    earlier!

    J C Anker

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Montreal, Québec
    Posts
    833

    Default Re : Re: Απ: YAST IN TERMINAL MODE / OPENSUSE 11.3

    Can you post the result of the command I gave you ?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Europe
    Posts
    152

    Default Re: Re : Re: Απ: YAST IN TERMINAL MODE / OPENSUSE 11.3

    I am trying to figure out how to connect to my Linux Laptop or to mount an USB memory stick.

    Will forward the info when I have managed.

    J C Anker

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    25,547

    Default Re: YAST IN TERMINAL MODE / OPENSUSE 11.3

    On 2011-03-02 18:36, jc anker wrote:

    > the graphics card is an ATI Mobility Radeon HD 3400.
    >
    > Is this why I can not acces the internet in terminal mode?


    No.

    But you posted several problems, and we have to start with one.

    --
    Cheers / Saludos,

    Carlos E. R.
    (from 11.2 x86_64 "Emerald" at Telcontar)

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •