Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18

Thread: Clock time if off despite using "set automatically"

  1. #1

    Default Clock time if off despite using "set automatically"

    I have my clock set to use "Public Time Server (pool.ntp.org)" but it's actually off by 10 minutes (and I think it's getting off by more and more each day). Any idea what's wrong and how to fix this?

    I had previously had it set manually, but it was getting off by more and more every day, so I thought using automatic time set would fix the issue.

    How do I diagnose/fix this?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Ελλάδα(Αθήνα)-Россия (г. Красноярск)
    Posts
    2,919

    Default Απ: Clock time if off despite using "set automatically"

    Set it manually.
    Πάντα Φιλικά, Στάμος.
    Desktop: openSUSE Leap 15||x86_64||Gnome 3.14 & KDE 5||AMD Ryzen 7 8 core||Nvidia GTX 1070 Ti Gaming Edition
    Γλώσσες Προγραμματισμού: C++, Qt developing.
    http://bit.ly/fT8Hfi

  3. #3

    Default Re: Απ: Clock time if off despite using "set automatically"

    Quote Originally Posted by stamostolias View Post
    Set it manually.
    I think you didn't read my whole post.

    I had previously had it set manually, but it was getting off by more and more every day, so I thought using automatic time set would fix the issue.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    25,401

    Default Re: Clock time if off despite using "set automatically"

    Quote Originally Posted by 6tr6tr View Post
    I have my clock set to use "Public Time Server (pool.ntp.org)" but it's actually off by 10 minutes (and I think it's getting off by more and more each day). Any idea what's wrong and how to fix this?

    I had previously had it set manually, but it was getting off by more and more every day, so I thought using automatic time set would fix the issue.

    How do I diagnose/fix this?
    Did you use YaST to configure this? YaST normaly can check if the server works, did that succeed?
    Show the contents of the config file:
    Code:
    grep -v '^#' ntp.conf
    Henk van Velden

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    West Virginia Sector 13
    Posts
    15,769

    Default Re: Clock time if off despite using "set automatically"

    May indicate a MB battery going bad.

  6. #6

    Default Re: Clock time if off despite using "set automatically"

    Quote Originally Posted by gogalthorp View Post
    May indicate a MB battery going bad.
    Why should that matter if it's setting it via the network?

  7. #7

    Default Re: Clock time if off despite using "set automatically"

    Quote Originally Posted by hcvv View Post
    Did you use YaST to configure this? YaST normaly can check if the server works, did that succeed?
    Show the contents of the config file:
    Code:
    grep -v '^#' ntp.conf
    Here's the contents (and no, I didn't know YAST could do this. I just "right-clicked" on the clock):
    server 127.127.1.0 # local clock (LCL)
    fudge 127.127.1.0 stratum 10 # LCL is unsynchronized



    driftfile /var/lib/ntp/drift/ntp.drift # path for drift file

    logfile /var/log/ntp # alternate log file


    keys /etc/ntp.keys # path for keys file
    trustedkey 1 # define trusted keys
    requestkey 1 # key (7) for accessing server variables

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    West Virginia Sector 13
    Posts
    15,769

    Default Re: Clock time if off despite using "set automatically"

    Quote Originally Posted by 6tr6tr View Post
    Why should that matter if it's setting it via the network?
    BUt we are not certain it is if it was the time should be correct not 10 or so minuets off.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    25,547

    Default Re: Clock time if off despite using "set automatically"

    On 2011-02-23 16:06, 6tr6tr wrote:
    >
    > stamostolias;2294175 Wrote:
    >> Set it manually.

    >
    > I think you didn't read my whole post.
    >
    >> *I had previously had it set manually*, but it was getting off by more
    >> and more every day, so I thought using automatic time set would fix the
    >> issue.


    If the clock is off by too much, the ntp daemon will refuse to set up the
    clock - thus, again, *do it manually*.

    After that is done, explain your daily procedure.

    Do you boot each day, and just after boot the clock is bad? Or is your
    machine continuously on?

    Plus. On the ntp daemon, configure several remote servers - in the ntp.conf
    file you posted there is none. With that configuration, it will not work.

    --
    Cheers / Saludos,

    Carlos E. R.
    (from 11.2 x86_64 "Emerald" at Telcontar)

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    25,401

    Default Re: Clock time if off despite using "set automatically"

    The above people are corect:
    1) you have no NTP server configured.
    2) when the the time is off for such a big distance, NTP will not redress that in one big bang.
    3) when you have a time difference of about 10 mins a day,, I also guess your CMOS battery is near dead and should be replaced (for more reasons then only the time shift).

    And you placed the computer output of the command I gave you between QUOTE tags. Please do this next time between CODE tags to keep the computer lay-out: Posting in Code Tags - A Guide.
    Henk van Velden

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •