View Poll Results: Whats your favorite web browser?

Voters
127. You may not vote on this poll
  • Konqueror

    17 13.39%
  • Firefox

    88 69.29%
  • Opera

    20 15.75%
  • Arora

    4 3.15%
  • Epiphany

    0 0%
  • Chromium

    25 19.69%
  • Lynx

    4 3.15%
  • Other

    10 7.87%
Multiple Choice Poll.
Page 2 of 8 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 76

Thread: What web browser do you use?

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    i am location
    Posts
    1,421

    Default Re: What web browser do you use?

    I have to admit that i indeed forgot some browsers. But i think that those i mentioned are the main browsers most people use.
    And of course there is the 'other' choice.

    Thats why, mention which one you use.
    There are so many browsers, one will forget one or two for sure.

    I still like firefox, but i am now married to Arora. Simply because its fast and not proprietary.

    In regards to rekonq, my apologys. Wasn't in the list and i did not hear of it. Have to check it.

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Chicago suburbs
    Posts
    12,373
    Blog Entries
    3

    Default Re: What web browser do you use?

    Mostly firefox here. I occasionally use opera when I want to try something with a different browser.

    I have tried Konqueror. I usually test it by playing sudoku. And every time, it has crashed before I could finish the game. That looks pretty buggy to me, so I wouldn't try it with anything important. (I was using "http://www.suntimes.com/entertainment/sudoku/" at the medium difficulty level, for those who want to try repeating this).

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    1,918

    Default Re: What web browser do you use?

    Quote Originally Posted by nrickert View Post
    Mostly firefox here. I occasionally use opera when I want to try something with a different browser.

    I have tried Konqueror. I usually test it by playing sudoku. And every time, it has crashed before I could finish the game. That looks pretty buggy to me, so I wouldn't try it with anything important. (I was using "http://www.suntimes.com/entertainment/sudoku/" at the medium difficulty level, for those who want to try repeating this).
    Are You using khtml or webkit with Konqueror ? For me it crashes a lot while using khtml but is much more stable when using webkit.

    Best regards,
    Greg
    Best regards,
    Greg

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Chicago suburbs
    Posts
    12,373
    Blog Entries
    3

    Default Re: What web browser do you use?

    Quote Originally Posted by glistwan View Post
    Are You using khtml or webkit with Konqueror ? For me it crashes a lot while using khtml but is much more stable when using webkit.
    I seem to be using KHMTL. I did not know that it was switchable. How do I change to webkit?

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Europe
    Posts
    657

    Default Re: What web browser do you use?

    Quote Originally Posted by nrickert View Post
    I seem to be using KHMTL. I did not know that it was switchable. How do I change to webkit?
    For a quick switch, when viewing a Webpage:
    Menu: 'View' > 'View Mode'

    To change the default:
    Menu: 'Settings' > 'Configure Konqueror ...' > 'General' > 'Default Web Browser Engine'


    If there is no WebKit to switch to you probably need to install something.

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Chicago suburbs
    Posts
    12,373
    Blog Entries
    3

    Default Re: What web browser do you use?

    Quote Originally Posted by Lord_Emsworth View Post
    To change the default:
    Menu: 'Settings' > 'Configure Konqueror ...' > 'General' > 'Default Web Browser Engine'
    Quick switch with the "View" menu works, except that it seems I have to do that for each page.

    I could not find the settings under that general tab. The only settings there were for home page and tabbing (and what to show when starting konqueror).

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Europe
    Posts
    657

    Default Re: What web browser do you use?

    Quote Originally Posted by nrickert View Post
    Quick switch with the "View" menu works, except that it seems I have to do that for each page.

    I could not find the settings under that general tab. The only settings there were for home page and tabbing (and what to show when starting konqueror).
    I see. In Konqueror on KDE 4.6.0 it is there definitely. Although, when I check on my second machine that has KDE 4.4.4 there is indeed no such option.

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Chicago suburbs
    Posts
    12,373
    Blog Entries
    3

    Default Re: What web browser do you use?

    Thanks for checking. And yes, I'm using KDE 4.4.4
    openSUSE Leap 15.1; KDE Plasma 5;

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Europe
    Posts
    657

    Default Re: What web browser do you use?

    Arora and Rekonq use Webkit though.

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Sogndal, Noreg
    Posts
    1,103

    Default Re: What web browser do you use?

    I use Konqueror with KHTML. When websites turn strange I change into Webkit which seems to be more conform.
    However, I can not say I agree with KHTML being more prone to crash than Webkit.

Page 2 of 8 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •