Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: creating contacts group in kontact - kde 4.6

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Southern Europe
    Posts
    352

    Default creating contacts group in kontact - kde 4.6

    After updating to kde 4.6, when I try to create a contacts group in kontact, it doesn't suggests anymore the contacts that match the letters already written. So, I have to write the complete name and the complete email address. Apart from the annoyance, it is a source of mistakes...

    Am I doing something wrong or is somebody else experiencing the same?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Southern Europe
    Posts
    352

    Default Re: creating contacts group in kontact - kde 4.6

    Should I conclude that nobody else has the same problem with kontact kde 4.6?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    sri mayapur, west bengal, india
    Posts
    958

    Default Re: creating contacts group in kontact - kde 4.6

    On Thu, 17 Feb 2011 14:06:01 +0530, wrbbt
    <wrbbt@no-mx.forums.opensuse.org> wrote:

    >
    > Should I conclude that nobody else has the same problem with kontact kde
    > 4.6?
    >


    just tried, and for me it works as supposed to: typing brings up a list of
    possible matches. (KDE 4.6.0 from KDE-distro-factory)


    --
    phani.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Southern Europe
    Posts
    352

    Default Re: creating contacts group in kontact - kde 4.6

    Quote Originally Posted by phanisvara View Post
    just tried, and for me it works as supposed to: typing brings up a list of
    possible matches. (KDE 4.6.0 from KDE-distro-factory)
    --
    phani.
    OK. That's already an answer. At least now I know that it should work properly. I'll try to understand what happens.
    Thanks, phani.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Southern Europe
    Posts
    352

    Default Re: creating contacts group in kontact - kde 4.6

    No way. It doesn't work. It doesn't look for contacts matching the letters that I type.
    I don't know what to do.
    I have renamed ~/.kde4/share/apps/kabc and created a new one. I also rebuilt the akonadi contacts resorce. But everything to no avail.

    Really nobody else has the same problem?
    If that is the case, any suggestion about where to find a solution?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    sri mayapur, west bengal, india
    Posts
    958

    Default Re: creating contacts group in kontact - kde 4.6

    On Tue, 22 Feb 2011 22:06:02 +0530, wrbbt
    <wrbbt@no-mx.forums.opensuse.org> wrote:

    >
    > No way. It doesn't work. It doesn't look for contacts matching the
    > letters that I type.
    > I don't know what to do.
    > I have renamed ~/.kde4/share/apps/kabc and created a new one. I also
    > rebuilt the akonadi contacts resorce. But everything to no avail.
    >
    > Really nobody else has the same problem?
    > If that is the case, any suggestion about where to find a solution?
    >


    i remember similar problems when i was using KDE 4.4 or 4.5, that akonadi
    resources wouldn't do what they were supposed to do. at that time i had to
    create, delete, and re-create them at different places, under KDE
    systemsettings and from within the KDE-PIM application until at some point
    they started to work. unfortunately i can't remember exactly what i did
    and what finally worked, and i'm not ready right now to delete my
    (working) resources and start over to find out.

    perhaps it would be better to ask in the opensuse-kde or straight KDE
    mailing lists?

    --
    phani.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Southern Europe
    Posts
    352

    Default Re: creating contacts group in kontact - kde 4.6

    Quote Originally Posted by phanisvara View Post
    i remember similar problems when i was using KDE 4.4 or 4.5, that akonadi
    resources wouldn't do what they were supposed to do. at that time i had to
    create, delete, and re-create them at different places, under KDE
    systemsettings and from within the KDE-PIM application until at some point
    they started to work. unfortunately
    Thanks again, phani. I'll try what you say.
    Quote Originally Posted by phanisvara View Post
    i can't remember exactly what i did
    and what finally worked, and i'm not ready right now to delete my
    (working) resources and start over to find out.
    No, please, don't try. Let's not spread my illness. It's enough what you say above.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •