Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Plasma and Amarok: "Unable to create io-slave"

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Santiago, Chile
    Posts
    171

    Default Plasma and Amarok: "Unable to create io-slave"

    Sometimes the KDE notifier shows up an error that freeze up plasma creating a bucle for infinite notices saying the same thing: "Unable to create io-slave: klauncher said: unknown protocoll <<amarok-sqltrackuid>>".



    Sometimes same notice appears about 16 consecutive times before plasma crashes.

    This is:
    KDE 4.6, Amarok 2.4, openSUSE 11.3 32bits.
    HP pavilion dv6-6185la - Intel i7 - AMD Radeon 6770M - openSUSE 12.2 - KDE 4.9

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,726
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: Plasma and Amarok: "Unable to create io-slave"

    Have you tried removing all the following to let amarok rebuild;
    This folder: .kde4/share/apps/amarok

    These files:

    .kde4/share/config/amarok-appletsrc
    .kde4/share/config/amarok_homerc
    .kde4/share/config/amarokrc
    Leap 15.1_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Santiago, Chile
    Posts
    171

    Default Re: Plasma and Amarok: "Unable to create io-slave"

    Done. Now let's hope the notifier doesn't shows anything weird again.

    Thanks caf!
    HP pavilion dv6-6185la - Intel i7 - AMD Radeon 6770M - openSUSE 12.2 - KDE 4.9

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Santiago, Chile
    Posts
    171

    Default Re: Plasma and Amarok: "Unable to create io-slave"

    Seems that the amarok config files for plasma that I removed wasn't the solution (#2). Some hours later the plasma notifier began again with the amarok i/o error. Don't know where would be the reason for Amarok to get that confused.
    HP pavilion dv6-6185la - Intel i7 - AMD Radeon 6770M - openSUSE 12.2 - KDE 4.9

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,726
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: Plasma and Amarok: "Unable to create io-slave"

    Is the music collection on a external usb?
    And if you uncheck the scan recursively and watch for changes options, does it help?
    Leap 15.1_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Santiago, Chile
    Posts
    171

    Default Re: Plasma and Amarok: "Unable to create io-slave"

    All my music collection is in the user (/home/user) folder.
    I have unchecked the two options you suggest so I'll wait now if the notification shows up again.

    Thanks!
    HP pavilion dv6-6185la - Intel i7 - AMD Radeon 6770M - openSUSE 12.2 - KDE 4.9

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,726
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: Plasma and Amarok: "Unable to create io-slave"

    Try googling this

    Unable to create io-slave
    Leap 15.1_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •