Where can I find the KDE Shelf widget?

I’m always struggling with desktop space. Widgets like Folder View and the ability to use the multiple virtual desktops are very helpful for me. I found an article about the KDE Shelf widget which I would love to have as another organizational tool but I can’t seem to find it…

Easy Organization with KDE’s Plasma Shelf Widget

I am a bit of a newbie with KDE and with Linux in general but I have found and added many widgets with no problem. I have been using computers for about 16 years and I’m pretty tech savvy (but unfortunately my skills have all been learned through Windows and some with Mac in college).

When I go to Add Widgets and type “shelf” in the search withing openSUSE KDE I get no results. I also checked on kde-look.org and an overall Google search but I’m not having any luck.

If anyone knows how I can find and add this widgets I would greatly appreciate it.

So far so good - now select Get new widgets.

On 02/09/2011 08:06 AM, robokops wrote:
> If anyone knows how I can find and add this widgets I would greatly
> appreciate it.

try
-right click on desk and pick unlock widgets
-right clich on desktop again and pick click add new widgets
-in the new pop-up click on the “Get New Widgets” button
-[follow your nose until the ‘getting’ process is finished, then]
-in add new dialogue scroll to the Shelf and double click it
-move it to where yo want it to be
-right click desktop and select lock widgets

ps: sorry your win skill set is sometimes a millstone around here…

DenverD
CAVEAT: http://is.gd/bpoMD
[NNTP posted w/openSUSE 11.3, KDE4.5.5, Thunderbird3.0.11, nVidia
173.14.28 3D, Athlon 64 3000+]
“It is far easier to read, understand and follow the instructions than
to undo the problems caused by not.” DD 23 Jan 11

In 11.3 with KDE45 or KDE46 “Shelf” is part of the package “plasma-addons”.