Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 23

Thread: Configuring two monitors in 11.4 isfull of broken and fail.

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Taft, Republic of California. UTC -8
    Posts
    1,474

    Default Configuring two monitors in 11.4 isfull of broken and fail.

    Why are all the video configuration tools gone or broken in 11.4? Why does X11 not have a simple configuration? Why all this bogus **** just for the sake of change?

    I am pretty steamed. This stuff was simple in 11.1 and could pretty much be done from the GUI with the Nvidia drivers installed. That configuration tool doesn't know what to save and where in 11.4. KDE "Personal Settings" claims I have one monitor and refuses to detect the second monitor. It's not necessary to make this such a non intuitive and failure fill endeavor. Here is a giant screw you to the KDE Devs and the X11.org bunch. The openSUE forum would not allow me to post the words I want to tell you.

    Full rant mode is engaged. I am very angry. Your shiny stuff is BROKEN.
    Tumbleweed

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,733
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: Configuring two monitors in 11.4 isfull of broken and fail.

    Unfortunately I'm not able to assist as I have never had the need for or luxury of 2 monitors.
    But I do know, there are plenty out there that have and seem OK with it. I'm sure someone will come to your rescue eventually. If it's a matter of urgency, some find the IRC quicker.

    Have you run as su -

    nvidia-settings
    Leap 15.1_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Taft, Republic of California. UTC -8
    Posts
    1,474

    Default Re: Configuring two monitors in 11.4 isfull of broken and fail.

    Thanks for the idea caf4926 I'll try that when I get done with my exercising.
    It's not a luxury when you have three computer and apps you want to/need to keep a eye on.
    A KVM and a main monitor connected to it with two peripheral monitors connected directly to the computers.

    We know the Devs absolutely refuse to come to the forums and actually interact with the end users. Users are just noise that doesn't matter to them.
    Tumbleweed

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Oz
    Posts
    11,727
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default Re: Configuring two monitors in 11.4 isfull of broken and fail.

    Install the RPM nvidia-settings. You can "drag" the screens in that, make them relative to each other (and so on). When you like it you save the settings as an xorg.conf file and stick that in the folder /etc/X11, so it is invoked at each boot time.

    (works for me -- but I've only got two monitors, not three))
    Leap 42.3 & 15.1(Beta) &KDE
    FYIs from the days of yore

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Finland, European Union
    Posts
    1,879

    Default Re: Configuring two monitors in 11.4 isfull of broken and fail.

    If the nVidia drivers supported Randr properly this would not be an issue, you'd have multi-monitor and different spanning modes out of the box.

    On that note, 11.4 + kdesu nvidia-settings + nVidia 270.x + 2x30" Samsungs worked fine when I tested.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Taft, Republic of California. UTC -8
    Posts
    1,474

    Default Re: Configuring two monitors in 11.4 isfull of broken and fail.

    I am a hell of a lot less grumpy and frustrated today.
    I got my secondary monitor working last night.

    swerdna only two monitors here driven by Linux. The third is Windows 7 64 and drives a piece of hardware that has no Linux support at this time.

    kdesu worked to get nvidia-settings to create a new .conf file supporting both monitors. malcolmlewis pointed me in a direction that yielded results. Fine tweaking is still needed but I have it playing nearly as I want it to be.
    Tumbleweed

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Oz
    Posts
    11,727
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default Re: Configuring two monitors in 11.4 isfull of broken and fail.

    The third is Windows 7 64 and drives a piece of hardware that has no Linux support at this time.
    Is that one of the USB extender adapters, creates a VGA, HDMI etc socket? (I have one of those useless things).
    Leap 42.3 & 15.1(Beta) &KDE
    FYIs from the days of yore

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Taft, Republic of California. UTC -8
    Posts
    1,474

    Default Re: Configuring two monitors in 11.4 isfull of broken and fail.

    No actually it's a software defined radio transceiver that runs on firewire. The computer is one half of the radio. I just built a 6 core AMD Phenom II for it.
    I am running PowerSDR and WSPR on that Windows 7 64 machine. On the Main machine I am running my normal app like x-chat, browsers, Thunderbird and multimedia etc (11.3) and third machine is running another session of x-chat and WSPR(11.4).
    Tumbleweed

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Oz
    Posts
    11,727
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default Re: Configuring two monitors in 11.4 isfull of broken and fail.

    Quote Originally Posted by FlameBait View Post
    No actually it's a software defined radio transceiver that runs on firewire. The computer is one half of the radio. I just built a 6 core AMD Phenom II for it.
    I am running PowerSDR and WSPR on that Windows 7 64 machine. On the Main machine I am running my normal app like x-chat, browsers, Thunderbird and multimedia etc (11.3) and third machine is running another session of x-chat and WSPR(11.4).
    What a rig! Must e a large office.
    Leap 42.3 & 15.1(Beta) &KDE
    FYIs from the days of yore

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Taft, Republic of California. UTC -8
    Posts
    1,474

    Default Re: Configuring two monitors in 11.4 isfull of broken and fail.

    Actually it's pretty crammed into a small area. The radios all are stacked behind me and the computers are all on the two computer desks I have wedged into this end of the room. It's a mess as usual.

    Tumbleweed

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •