Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Why my kde 4.4.4 desktop background is floating?

  1. #1

    Default Why my kde 4.4.4 desktop background is floating?

    Hello everyone,
    I found that my backgrounds (6 virtual dekstops) can float around if you click on them(grab) and move mouse cursor around. This is something ugly to me and I would like to request your help to make my backgrounds fixed and stable.

    Could you please help me find that option?

    Best Regards
    Alex.

    P.s Runing 4.4.4 Release 3
    Opensuse 11.3

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Ελλάδα(Αθήνα)-Россия (г. Красноярск)
    Posts
    2,919

    Default Απ: Why my kde 4.4.4 desktop background is floating?

    Your graphics card is......
    Upgrade your KDE 4.4.4 to 4.6.0
    Πάντα Φιλικά, Στάμος.
    Desktop: openSUSE Leap 15||x86_64||Gnome 3.14 & KDE 5||AMD Ryzen 7 8 core||Nvidia GTX 1070 Ti Gaming Edition
    Γλώσσες Προγραμματισμού: C++, Qt developing.
    http://bit.ly/fT8Hfi

  3. #3

    Default Re: Απ: Why my kde 4.4.4 desktop background is floating?

    Quote Originally Posted by stamostolias View Post
    Your graphics card is......
    Upgrade your KDE 4.4.4 to 4.6.0
    Geia sou stamostolias. <..that is Greek for the rest
    I do not think I explained it pretty well. (Btw my graphics card is Geforce 210M, kde 4.4.4 release 3). What I meant is that the backgrounds are not 'fixed' and If i mis-click in the background I might move it around (which destroys the alignment of it). I think there is the option that 'locks' the background at a fixed place.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Adelaide, Australia
    Posts
    963

    Default Re: Απ: Why my kde 4.4.4 desktop background is floating?

    Quote Originally Posted by alaios View Post
    Geia sou stamostolias. <..that is Greek for the rest
    I do not think I explained it pretty well. (Btw my graphics card is Geforce 210M, kde 4.4.4 release 3). What I meant is that the backgrounds are not 'fixed' and If i mis-click in the background I might move it around (which destroys the alignment of it). I think there is the option that 'locks' the background at a fixed place.
    Just guessing here but right click on desktop and click Lock Widgets?
    Desktop: Gigabyte GA-Z270-HD3 - Core i7 7700K - openSUSE Leap 42.2 KDE
    Laptop: HP EliteBook 8770W - Core i7 3940XM - openSUSE Leap 42.2 KDE

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Ελλάδα(Αθήνα)-Россия (г. Красноярск)
    Posts
    2,919

    Default Απ: Re: Απ: Why my kde 4.4.4 desktop background is floating?

    Quote Originally Posted by alaios View Post
    Geia sou stamostolias. <..that is Greek for the rest
    I do not think I explained it pretty well. (Btw my graphics card is Geforce 210M, kde 4.4.4 release 3). What I meant is that the backgrounds are not 'fixed' and If i mis-click in the background I might move it around (which destroys the alignment of it). I think there is the option that 'locks' the background at a fixed place.
    Γεια σου και σε σένα φίλε alaios. As ANDREW said you mean the windgets lock/unlock. There is a driver for your nvidia, because I have amd products this driver will give you Andrew(ah7013). Upgrade your graphics interface to KDE 4.6.0.

    Always Friendly!!!

    Are you from Hellas? Because your name is like greek.
    Πάντα Φιλικά, Στάμος.
    Desktop: openSUSE Leap 15||x86_64||Gnome 3.14 & KDE 5||AMD Ryzen 7 8 core||Nvidia GTX 1070 Ti Gaming Edition
    Γλώσσες Προγραμματισμού: C++, Qt developing.
    http://bit.ly/fT8Hfi

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Ελλάδα(Αθήνα)-Россия (г. Красноярск)
    Posts
    2,919

    Default Απ: Re: Απ: Why my kde 4.4.4 desktop background is floating?

    Quote Originally Posted by stamostolias View Post
    Γεια σου και σε σένα φίλε alaios. As ANDREW said you mean the windgets lock/unlock. There is a driver for your nvidia, because I have amd products this driver will give you Andrew(ah7013). Upgrade your graphics interface to KDE 4.6.0.

    Always Friendly!!!

    Are you from Hellas? Because your name is like greek.
    Here is technique. The third post is for you.
    Αναβάθμιση Στο Τελευταίο KDE
    Πάντα Φιλικά, Στάμος.
    Desktop: openSUSE Leap 15||x86_64||Gnome 3.14 & KDE 5||AMD Ryzen 7 8 core||Nvidia GTX 1070 Ti Gaming Edition
    Γλώσσες Προγραμματισμού: C++, Qt developing.
    http://bit.ly/fT8Hfi

  7. #7

    Default Re: Απ: Re: Απ: Why my kde 4.4.4 desktop background is floating?

    I am indeed Greek. The Lock windgets fixed the problem
    Still I can not understand what is the meaning to have a floating background capability (when widgets are unlocked)

    Thanks a lot.
    Regards

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Ελλάδα(Αθήνα)-Россия (г. Красноярск)
    Posts
    2,919

    Default Απ: Re: Απ: Re: Απ: Why my kde 4.4.4 desktop background is floating?

    Quote Originally Posted by alaios View Post
    I am indeed Greek. The Lock windgets fixed the problem
    Still I can not understand what is the meaning to have a floating background capability (when widgets are unlocked)

    Thanks a lot.
    Regards
    I am glad to read that. If you want help you know I and Hellas subforum will give you help and Andrew(ah7013) of course.
    Πάντα Φιλικά, Στάμος.
    Desktop: openSUSE Leap 15||x86_64||Gnome 3.14 & KDE 5||AMD Ryzen 7 8 core||Nvidia GTX 1070 Ti Gaming Edition
    Γλώσσες Προγραμματισμού: C++, Qt developing.
    http://bit.ly/fT8Hfi

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    West Virginia Sector 13
    Posts
    15,649

    Default Re: Απ: Re: Απ: Re: Απ: Why my kde 4.4.4 desktop background is floating?

    Why the floating? Well when you unlock the widgets it lets you move them to new/other location. Also It allows you to initially place them where you want. Once you have things where you want you lock the widgets and they stay. If you want to move them or add new widgets you unlock the desktop and make things the way you want then lock it to keep all in place.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •