Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: I have a memory leak

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    St-Petersburg, Russia
    Posts
    22

    Question I have a memory leak

    Very often I get out of memory error. Even sometimes Linux becomes hanging and I'm sure it 'cause there is no enough memory. As I've tryed to understand why is it I can suppose to reasons. One of them is that some application seizes too much memory and I can suspect JRE. I've not understand what is JRE but OpenOffice always asks for JRE that isn't installed and the message contains only OK button. I've not solved what to do with it and I can suppose that it can seize too much memory, but I've not succeeded to check it. The second reason can be incorrect swap configuration. The only thing I've undestand looking over the Web is that I need to look for the output
    Code:
    swapon -s
    Filename                                Type            Size    Used    Priority
    That's what I get running this command. What does it really means - I'm not sure (especially 'cause there is a lot of information over the Web about swap files but I use a swap partition). I'm not sure does the command above shows some information only about swap files or also about swap partitions.

    Tell me please how can I check which application seizes what quantity of memory and how it's better to configure swap properly if it isn't configured so.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    West Virginia Sector 13
    Posts
    15,700

    Default Re: I have a memory leak

    typing
    top

    in a console may help see what you are looking for.

    How much memory do you have and how much swap?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Phuket, Thailand
    Posts
    26,549
    Blog Entries
    37

    Default Re: I have a memory leak

    Quote Originally Posted by Ilya81 View Post
    One of them is that some application seizes too much memory and I can suspect JRE. I've not understand what is JRE but OpenOffice always asks for JRE that isn't installed
    JRE = Java Runtime Environment

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    San Diego, Ca, USA
    Posts
    11,125
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default Re: I have a memory leak

    Surprisingly to me,
    I recently discovered that plenty of situations reported to be suspected application memory leaks are actually TCP buffer issues which are harder to detect because system monitoring apps don't usually report packet losses (at least that I've found so far). This can happen regardless whether you have a current active network connection, I've found that simply having apps open which once connected or tried to connect can cause buffer issues over a period of time.

    For a preliminary summary and description, see my post today in this thread
    Slow uploadrate

    Also, I recommend closing all network related apps, then wait a few minutes if you're already experiencing severe lockups.

    As I note in that posting, I hope to launch an up to date web page soon which should be more complete than anything that now exists on the Web.

    HTH,
    Tony

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    St-Petersburg, Russia
    Posts
    22

    Default Re: I have a memory leak

    Quote Originally Posted by gogalthorp View Post
    typing
    top

    in a console may help see what you are looking for.

    How much memory do you have and how much swap?
    The command has shown something like I've suspected. soffice.bin took more than 5% of memory but now I have not yet memory leak. Also XOrg took 5%. I'm not sure if it's normal.

    I've 1 Gb physical memory and a 3 Gb swap partition. But I'm not really sure that the swap partition is joined. May be I need to reconfigure it after I've ugraded Linux from 10 to 11.3, but I'm not sure how to configure swap partition properly, and suggests over the Web sometimes contradict one another.

    P. S. Talking about JRE I have Java installed and I don't understand what OpenOffice asks for. Especially when zypper ve says that everthing is OK.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Earth - Denmark
    Posts
    10,730

    Default Re: I have a memory leak

    On 01/31/2011 08:36 PM, Ilya81 wrote:

    > The command has shown something like I've suspected. soffice.bin took
    > more than 5% of memory but now I have not yet memory leak. Also XOrg
    > took 5%. I'm not sure if it's normal.


    seems they take what they need, which is normal..


    > I've 1 Gb physical memory and a 3 Gb swap partition. But I'm not really
    > sure that the swap partition is joined.


    either you have swap or you don't, run this in a terminal to see if
    you have a swap partition (might be the first listed), if you do, you
    do....three GB is more than enough..

    Code:
    cat /etc/fstab

    > May be I need to reconfigure it
    > after I've ugraded Linux from 10 to 11.3, but I'm not sure how to
    > configure swap partition properly, and suggests over the Web sometimes
    > contradict one another.


    no configuration of /swap is needed...if it is there and 3GB it is good..


    > P. S. Talking about JRE I have Java installed and I don't understand
    > what OpenOffice asks for.


    show us the error message!!


    --
    DenverD
    CAVEAT: http://is.gd/bpoMD
    [NNTP posted w/openSUSE 11.3, KDE4.5.5, Thunderbird3.0.11, nVidia
    173.14.28 3D, Athlon 64 3000+]
    "It is far easier to read, understand and follow the instructions than
    to undo the problems caused by not." DD 23 Jan 11

  7. #7

    Default Re: I have a memory leak

    On 01/31/2011 10:36 AM, Ilya81 wrote:
    >
    > gogalthorp;2284156 Wrote:
    >> typing
    >> top
    >>
    >> in a console may help see what you are looking for.
    >>
    >> How much memory do you have and how much swap?

    >
    > The command has shown something like I've suspected. soffice.bin took
    > more than 5% of memory but now I have not yet memory leak. Also XOrg
    > took 5%. I'm not sure if it's normal.
    >
    > I've 1 Gb physical memory and a 3 Gb swap partition. But I'm not really
    > sure that the swap partition is joined. May be I need to reconfigure it
    > after I've ugraded Linux from 10 to 11.3, but I'm not sure how to
    > configure swap partition properly, and suggests over the Web sometimes
    > contradict one another.


    To see which file systems are active, at the command line type:
    mount
    That will show you which partitions are currently mounted (including
    your swap partition).

    The cleanest way to see how much swap is being used, is to type
    free
    at the command line.

    It's very possible that no swap will be in use unless you have a large
    number of programs open at once.

    3 GB is probably overkill for your swap partition, but better to have
    more than you need than not enough. I generally set my swap space to
    512 MB to 1 GB. And most of it goes unused. No real point in trying to
    change it though.


    ....Kevin
    --
    Kevin Miller
    Juneau, Alaska
    http://www.alaska.net/~atftb
    In a recent poll, seven out of ten hard drives preferred Linux.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    St-Petersburg, Russia
    Posts
    22

    Default Re: I have a memory leak

    The outputs were the following ones
    Code:
    mymain:~ # cat /etc/fstab
    /dev/sdb4            /                    ext3       acl,user_xattr        1 1
    /dev/sdb6            swap                 swap       defaults              0 0
    proc                 /proc                proc       defaults              0 0
    sysfs                /sys                 sysfs      noauto                0 0
    debugfs              /sys/kernel/debug    debugfs    noauto                0 0
    usbfs                /proc/bus/usb        usbfs      noauto                0 0
    devpts               /dev/pts             devpts     mode=0620,gid=5       0 0
    /dev/fd0             /media/floppy        auto       noauto,user,sync      0 0
    /dev/sda5            /media/data          vfat       defaults,iocharset=utf8,codepage=866 0 0  
    /dev/sdb1            /media/FLASH         auto       noauto                0 0
    /dev/sda7            /media/data2         vfat       defaults,iocharset=utf8,codepage=866 0 0  
    /dev/sda1            /media/windows       ntfs       defaults,iocharset=utf8,codepage=866 0 0
    /dev/sdb11           /media/ubuntu        ext3       acl,user_xattr        0 0
    /dev/sdb12           /media/linux4        reiserfs   acl,user_xattr        0 0
    /dev/sda3            /media/asp           ext3       acl,user_xattr        0 0
    Code:
    mount
    /dev/sdb4 on / type ext3 (rw,acl,user_xattr)
    proc on /proc type proc (rw)
    sysfs on /sys type sysfs (rw)
    debugfs on /sys/kernel/debug type debugfs (rw)
    devtmpfs on /dev type devtmpfs (rw,mode=0755)
    tmpfs on /dev/shm type tmpfs (rw,mode=1777)
    devpts on /dev/pts type devpts (rw,mode=0620,gid=5)
    /dev/sda5 on /media/data type vfat (rw,iocharset=utf8,codepage=866)
    /dev/sda7 on /media/data2 type vfat (rw,iocharset=utf8,codepage=866)
    fusectl on /sys/fs/fuse/connections type fusectl (rw)
    /dev/sdb11 on /media/ubuntu type ext3 (rw,acl,user_xattr)
    /dev/sda1 on /media/windows type fuseblk (rw,allow_other,blksize=4096)
    /dev/sdb12 on /media/linux4 type reiserfs (rw,acl,user_xattr)
    securityfs on /sys/kernel/security type securityfs (rw)
    none on /proc/sys/fs/binfmt_misc type binfmt_misc (rw)
    /proc on /var/lib/named/proc type none (ro,nosuid,nodev,bind)
    none on /proc/fs/vmblock/mountPoint type vmblock (rw)
    /dev/sdb9 on /media/TEMP type vfat (rw,nosuid,nodev,uid=0,utf8,shortname=mixed,flush)
    /dev/sdb7 on /media/SOFT type vfat (rw,nosuid,nodev,uid=0,utf8,shortname=mixed,flush)
    /dev/sdb8 on /media/DATA3 type vfat (rw,nosuid,nodev,uid=0,utf8,shortname=mixed,flush)
    /dev/sdb5 on /media/MUSIC type vfat (rw,nosuid,nodev,uid=0,utf8,shortname=mixed,flush)
    /dev/sdb14 on /media/MUSIC3 type vfat (rw,nosuid,nodev,uid=0,utf8,shortname=mixed,flush)                                      
    /dev/sdb13 on /media/MUSIC2 type vfat (rw,nosuid,nodev,uid=0,utf8,shortname=mixed,flush)                                      
    /dev/sdb10 on /media/MOVIES2 type vfat (rw,nosuid,nodev,uid=0,utf8,shortname=mixed,flush)                                     
    gvfs-fuse-daemon on /root/.gvfs type fuse.gvfs-fuse-daemon (rw,nosuid,nodev)
    Code:
    free                                                                                                               
                 total       used       free     shared    buffers     cached                                                     
    Mem:       1021012     995860      25152          0      40792     259988                                                     
    -/+ buffers/cache:     695080     325932                                                                                      
    Swap:            0          0          0
    May be the swap doesn't mounts automatically. fdisk shows
    Code:
    fdisk -l
    
    Disk /dev/sda: 320.1 GB, 320072933376 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 38913 cylinders
    Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
    Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
    I/O size (minimum/optimal): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
    Disk identifier: 0x69205244
    
       Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks   Id  System
    /dev/sda1               1        3916    31455238+   7  HPFS/NTFS
    /dev/sda2            3917       31081   218202862+   f  W95 Ext'd (LBA)
    /dev/sda3           31082       34997    31455270   83  Linux
    /dev/sda4   *       34998       38913    31455270   83  Linux
    /dev/sda5            3917       19571   125748756    b  W95 FAT32
    /dev/sda6           19572       19963     3148708+  82  Linux swap / Solaris
    /dev/sda7           19964       31081    89305303+   b  W95 FAT32
    
    Disk /dev/sdb: 1000.2 GB, 1000204886016 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 121601 cylinders
    Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
    Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
    I/O size (minimum/optimal): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
    Disk identifier: 0xfaf6ef7b
    
       Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks   Id  System
    /dev/sdb1               2      121601   976752000    f  W95 Ext'd (LBA)
    /dev/sdb5               2       15667   125837113+   b  W95 FAT32
    /dev/sdb6           15668       31333   125837113+   b  W95 FAT32
    /dev/sdb7           31334       46999   125837113+   c  W95 FAT32 (LBA)
    /dev/sdb8           47000       62665   125837113+   c  W95 FAT32 (LBA)
    /dev/sdb9           62666       69193    52436128+   b  W95 FAT32
    /dev/sdb10          69194       84859   125837113+   c  W95 FAT32 (LBA)
    /dev/sdb11  *       84860       87572    21792141   83  Linux
    /dev/sdb12          87573       90285    21792141   83  Linux
    /dev/sdb13          90286      105950   125829081    c  W95 FAT32 (LBA)
    /dev/sdb14         105951      121601   125716626    c  W95 FAT32 (LBA)
    May be the reason is I have /dev/sdb6 instead of /dev/sda6, but if it's so I can't understand how Linux loads properly if I have /dev/sdb4 instead of /dev/sda4 for the point / ...

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    St-Petersburg, Russia
    Posts
    22

    Default Re: I have a memory leak

    By the way here is one of the most common messages of VirtualBox for a virtual machine that uses only 192 Mb of memory.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    West Virginia Sector 13
    Posts
    15,700

    Default Re: I have a memory leak

    Swap is shown to be from sdb6 but that is a FAT. Need to change the line in /etc/fstab to a /dev/sda6

    Also / seems to be wrong also. pointing to sdb not sda. I'm really not sure how this is working at all.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •