Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Asking for disc when trying to install software packages?

  1. #1

    Default Asking for disc when trying to install software packages?

    Hi,
    im using OpenSuse 11.3 mounted in VMWare Player 3.1.3.

    im in Yast--Software--Software Management, when im there, it shows 5 packages to install.
    I click 'accept', then 'continue', and i got the message:
    "Insert OpenSuse 11.3 disc 1".

    I have burned the Opensuse .iso to a dvd, and the dvd is in my dvd drive right now, but i still got that message.

    What can i do so the system detects the disc?
    or is there another workaround?

    thanks..

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,743
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: Asking for disc when trying to install software packages?

    If you open Yast > Software > Media Check

    run that on the DVD
    Is it OK?

    Can't you mount the .iso in VmWare rather than burning the DVD?
    Leap 15.1_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  3. #3

    Default Re: Asking for disc when trying to install software packages?

    Quote Originally Posted by caf4926 View Post
    If you open Yast > Software > Media Check

    run that on the DVD
    Is it OK?
    When i go to Media Check, i dont see the dvd drive.
    this is what i got:
    http://img198.imageshack.us/img198/9060/snapshot1zr.png

    Quote Originally Posted by caf4926 View Post
    Can't you mount the .iso in VmWare rather than burning the DVD?
    how can i do that?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,743
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: Asking for disc when trying to install software packages?

    I don't use VMWare, so I can't answer that question. It's easy in Virtual Box, which is also much better IMO
    You can also check the DVD, by booting it as if to install and do
    http://dl.dropbox.com/u/10573557/11.3%20Install/1.jpg
    Leap 15.1_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    17,109

    Default Re: Asking for disc when trying to install software packages?

    On Sat, 29 Jan 2011 04:06:01 +0000, derok wrote:

    > What can i do so the system detects the disc? or is there another
    > workaround?


    You need to connect the physical device to the VM.

    Look under the "Virtual Machine" menu, you should see a "Removable
    Devices" option, and in there, you can configure so the DVD is connected
    to the VM.

    Jim



    --
    Jim Henderson
    openSUSE Forums Administrator
    Forum Use Terms & Conditions at http://tinyurl.com/openSUSE-T-C

  6. #6

    Default Re: Asking for disc when trying to install software packages?

    Quote Originally Posted by caf4926 View Post
    I don't use VMWare, so I can't answer that question. It's easy in Virtual Box, which is also much better IMO
    You can also check the DVD, by booting it as if to install and do
    http://dl.dropbox.com/u/10573557/11.3%20Install/1.jpg
    im watching this thread, in which u also posted:
    insert openSUSE 11.0 DISC 1

    the thing is that i want to get updates, which are in the dvd,
    but i guess i could get them also online,
    so, according to that thread, i could disable the dvd, and get the updates online.

    this could solve the problem right?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,743
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: Asking for disc when trying to install software packages?

    Correct
    Disable DVD in the repos section

    then update
    Leap 15.1_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  8. #8

    Default Re: Asking for disc when trying to install software packages?

    Quote Originally Posted by caf4926 View Post
    Correct
    Disable DVD in the repos section

    then update
    thanks a lot!

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,743
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: Asking for disc when trying to install software packages?

    Quote Originally Posted by derok View Post
    thanks a lot!
    You are most welcome
    Leap 15.1_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •