Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 36

Thread: Google Earth

  1. #21
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Skogås Sweden
    Posts
    638

    Default Re: Google Earth

    Yes I just did a check on my Nokia N900, not using FF, same experience, strange behaviour for a website. I guess we need to have some patience with Google, Linux is pretty new to them.

  2. #22
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Earth - Denmark
    Posts
    10,730

    Default Re: Google Earth

    On 01/24/2011 09:36 PM, hcvv wrote:
    > I did all this in Konqueror. When I use FF on the same address I get a
    > completely different looking page where I can choose between four
    > downloads:
    >> 32 bit .deb (For Debian/Ubuntu)
    >> 64 bit .deb (For Debian/Ubuntu)
    >> 32 bit .rpm (For Fedora/openSUSE)
    >> 64 bit .rpm (For Fedora/openSUSE)
    >>

    >
    > Well, this is ........... Yes what is this?


    well, i say it is proof positive that Firefox is far superior to
    Konqueror...

    notice i did NOT say Firefox is faster....Konqueror is supersonic
    BECAUSE it is not encumbered with blah blah and yaya...so, you miss a
    lot of the fancy pages...you do know don't you that most 'commercial'
    sites test for browser/OS type and on-the-fly send them content best
    suited for the visiting browser....and, my _guess_ is that less than
    0.001% of the pages on the internet know what to serve when hit by
    Konqueror, Lynx, Linx and etc..

    unfortunately, to always know everything a site has to offer not only
    do you have to run java script, flash and whatever, you also must look
    at it with more than one browser....i find that Firefox, Opera and
    Konqueror almost always render differently (sometimes WILDLY
    different)....and, IE is different from all of those..

    by the way, the Firefox born with 11.3 is a HUGE bit faster than
    whatever i was using on 10.3 . . . (i'm actually amazed at how well
    11.3 runs on this machine--but, i HATE having to learn new symbols,
    new how-to, new switches, etc etc etc..)

    --
    DenverD
    CAVEAT: http://is.gd/bpoMD [posted via NNTP w/openSUSE 11.3, KDE4.4.4
    release 3, Thunderbird3.0.11,]
    "It is far easier to read, understand and follow the instructions than
    to undo the problems caused by not." DD 23 Jan 11

  3. #23

    Default Re: Google Earth

    Thanks guy for your help. I have managed to download it, but the icon bounces wonderfully for about 30secs and that is it. I have the same problem with Skype

  4. #24
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Skogås Sweden
    Posts
    638

    Default Re: Google Earth

    If you used the .run-installer you need to install lsb, go to yast software management and search for that, if you used the rpm it was install it by dependency.

  5. #25

    Default Re: Google Earth

    I have no idea how or why, but I have it working. Just wish I could get Skype that way now. Thanks for your help

  6. #26
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Berlin
    Posts
    2,061

    Default Re: Google Earth

    Could anyone provide a link to a 32bit SuSE .rpm, please? Both Konqueror and Firefox only offer me the .bin-file, no matter how hard I try. I'd like to give it a shot.

  7. #27
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    25,571

    Default Re: Google Earth

    A lot of posts while I was sleeping.

    @DenverD
    Nice story, some of it a bit OT I think. I doubt that Konqueror defectives are involved at all. The more while hank_se has the same with a different browser on his Nokia.
    My guess is that Google asks for the browser/system id (HTTP protocol) and then decides what to do. But I can of course not prove it.
    And while I am trying to prove it ATM, I can't even get FF to reproduce the list I got yesterday (either with NoScript blocking and without).

    @hank_se
    The name of the installer program is GoogleEarthLinux.bin and does not end in .run (at least that is what I have, but in this case I believe almost anything).

    @gropiuskalle
    See my remarks top DenverD above. ATM I can not get to the RPM list, let alone to the URL of an individual one. But I will try again later in the day.
    Henk van Velden

  8. #28
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Skogås Sweden
    Posts
    638

    Default Re: Google Earth

    hcw wrote:
    @hank_se
    The name of the installer program is GoogleEarthLinux.bin and does not end in .run (at least that is what I have, but in this case I believe almost anything).
    Sorry to have added to the confusion, was probably thinking of some other installer.

    As for now I still get the page with the rpms in FF, but Opera won't show it, IE8 in xp under VirtualBox will show a Linux download page for GE 5, but downloads an .exe file.

  9. #29
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Groningen, Netherlands
    Posts
    20,179
    Blog Entries
    14

    Default Re: Google Earth

    Quote Originally Posted by hank_se View Post
    IE8 in xp under VirtualBox will show a Linux download page for GE 5, but downloads an .exe file.
    Of course it will, the website "sees" a windu client, therefore offers a windu download.

    BTW: not getting any rpm links in Opera, Chrome nor FF
    ° Appreciate my reply? Click the star and let me know why.

    ° Perfection is not gonna happen. No way.

    https://en.opensuse.org/openSUSE:Board#Members
    http://en.opensuse.org/User:Knurpht
    http://nl.opensuse.org/Gebruiker:Knurpht

  10. #30
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    25,571

    Default Re: Google Earth

    @gropiuskalle
    Just tried again. Started FF with the .com download page shown by hank_se. No table of choice. Then I switched off NoScript for google.com and see: the table. Clicked on the 32-bit rpm. Then I get a window to choose between downloading or executing the RPM. It has as site: htpps://dl-ssl.google.com and as file: google-earth-stable_current_i386.rpm. But that is not enough because the path to the file is missing.

    I do not know if I can get more out of it.
    Henk van Velden

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •