Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Compiling Workrave from source for KDE?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Belgium, Europe
    Posts
    192

    Default Compiling Workrave from source for KDE?

    I use Workrave on Windows to make sure that I walk away from my computer every now and then, but I can't find it in openSUSE's repositories although it is available for Linux.

    Then I tried compiling it from source, but I got this error...
    pdedecker@linux-s6cn:~/Desktop/workrave-1.9.3> ./autogen.sh
    **Warning**: I am going to run `configure' with no arguments.
    If you wish to pass any to it, please specify them on the
    `./autogen.sh' command line.

    Running intltoolize...
    Running libtoolize...
    libtoolize: putting auxiliary files in `.'.
    libtoolize: copying file `./ltmain.sh'
    libtoolize: putting macros in AC_CONFIG_MACRO_DIR, `m4'.
    libtoolize: copying file `m4/libtool.m4'
    ...
    checking for prefix by checking for workrave... no
    checking for platform... Unix
    checking for pkg-config... /usr/bin/pkg-config
    checking pkg-config is at least version 0.9.0... yes
    checking for X... no
    configure: error: X11 required on Unix platform
    Any idea what this could mean? Is Workrave incompatible with KDE4? Is openSUSE using a different windowing system?

    I'm willing to try similar software packages if they're easier to install.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Groningen, Netherlands
    Posts
    19,194
    Blog Entries
    14

    Default Re: Compiling Workrave from source for KDE?

    You may need the Xorg...-devel packages to be installed.
    ° Appreciate my reply? Click the star and let me know why.

    ° Perfection is not gonna happen. No way.

    https://en.opensuse.org/openSUSE:Board#Members
    http://en.opensuse.org/User:Knurpht
    http://nl.opensuse.org/Gebruiker:Knurpht

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    25,547

    Default Re: Compiling Workrave from source for KDE?

    On 2011-01-01 19:36, pdedecker wrote:
    > Then I tried compiling it from source, but I got this error...
    >> > pdedecker@linux-s6cn:~/Desktop/workrave-1.9.3> ./autogen.sh


    Typically, the first step is "./configure". To have to use autogen is
    strange. Are you sure this is what the instructions say?

    --
    Cheers / Saludos,

    Carlos E. R.
    (from 11.2 x86_64 "Emerald" at Telcontar)

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Groningen, Netherlands
    Posts
    19,194
    Blog Entries
    14

    Default Re: Compiling Workrave from source for KDE?

    software.opensuse.org: Search Results for 'workrave, not exluding user homedirs, tells me it's there as a package for openSUSE !!!

    This means some one else has already done the job for you. Please let us know if you got this to work.
    ° Appreciate my reply? Click the star and let me know why.

    ° Perfection is not gonna happen. No way.

    https://en.opensuse.org/openSUSE:Board#Members
    http://en.opensuse.org/User:Knurpht
    http://nl.opensuse.org/Gebruiker:Knurpht

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Belgium, Europe
    Posts
    192

    Default Re: Compiling Workrave from source for KDE?

    Am I still missing a package?



    I installed xorg-x11-devel and all dependencies. I haven't rebooted the X server yet - is this necessary? Cuz I'm still getting the error.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Groningen, Netherlands
    Posts
    19,194
    Blog Entries
    14

    Default Re: Compiling Workrave from source for KDE?

    See my post above, might save a lot of searching and puzzling.
    ° Appreciate my reply? Click the star and let me know why.

    ° Perfection is not gonna happen. No way.

    https://en.opensuse.org/openSUSE:Board#Members
    http://en.opensuse.org/User:Knurpht
    http://nl.opensuse.org/Gebruiker:Knurpht

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Belgium, Europe
    Posts
    192

    Default Re: Compiling Workrave from source for KDE?

    Quote Originally Posted by robin_listas View Post
    Are you sure this is what the instructions say?
    D'oh... I assumed the build process was almost the same with all packages so I didn't even go looking for install instructions. Sometimes I just forget about rule number 1 of tech support: Read The Manual. I tried ./configure like the install instructions suggested, but this results in the same error. I think ./autogen.sh automatically started ./configure because it hadn't been run yet.

    Anyway, I tried the homebrew RPM. I had looked at software.opensuse.org before that, but I didn't know that I could search for homebrew RPMs. The program seems to be working now, but I don't think it integrates with the KDE taskbar. In GNOME and Windows, it neatly integrates with the taskbar. The Workrave site doesn't seem to mention KDE, so I guess I'm outta luck. Are there any alternatives to Workrave that you know of that do work with KDE?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    25,547

    Default Re: Compiling Workrave from source for KDE?

    On 2011-01-01 22:06, pdedecker wrote:

    > tried ./configure like the install instructions suggested, but this
    > results in the same error.


    In those cases, I delete the directory and recreate from the tar archive.
    I'm not sure what my previous attempt/mistake created, so I delete it all.

    > I think ./autogen.sh automatically started
    > /configure because it hadn't been run yet.


    Yes, but I think it also creates the configure script from scratch, and if
    I were doing it, I'd suspect I did it wrong.


    > I'm outta luck. Are there any alternatives to Workrave that you know of
    > that do work with KDE?


    Dunno. I don't use those things. I could order my computer to go down and
    hibernate from a cron job, though >:-)

    --
    Cheers / Saludos,

    Carlos E. R.
    (from 11.2 x86_64 "Emerald" at Telcontar)

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Groningen, Netherlands
    Posts
    19,194
    Blog Entries
    14

    Default Re: Compiling Workrave from source for KDE?

    There's "rsibreak" in KDE. Not installed by default. Install it and see if it can do the job for you. Looks promising to me.
    ° Appreciate my reply? Click the star and let me know why.

    ° Perfection is not gonna happen. No way.

    https://en.opensuse.org/openSUSE:Board#Members
    http://en.opensuse.org/User:Knurpht
    http://nl.opensuse.org/Gebruiker:Knurpht

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Belgium, Europe
    Posts
    192

    Default Re: Compiling Workrave from source for KDE?

    Quote Originally Posted by Knurpht View Post
    There's "rsibreak" in KDE. Not installed by default. Install it and see if it can do the job for you. Looks promising to me.
    Looks very promising. I'll have to test that for a couple of days to see if I prefer Workrave without the desk applet (I still see a little popup with the break timers) or RSIbreak. Thanks for the tip.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •