Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: Help request - KDE 3 on 11.2 new install

  1. #1

    Default Help request - KDE 3 on 11.2 new install

    I have been using 10.1 with KDE 3 for a while. I'm testing installs of 11.2 and the main thing I discovered is I don't want KDE 4 (or gnome or xfce). Is there a way to get an install of 11.2 with KDE 3?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Austin - Texas
    Posts
    10,140
    Blog Entries
    48

    Smile Re: Help request - KDE 3 on 11.2 new install

    I found this that might help:

    How to install Opensuse 11.2 with KDE3 (From scratch) | Linux Ideaz

    I must say that you will be swimming upstream trying to stick with KDE3. Have you considered you can modify KDE4 to work like 3 and even load some apps from 3 into 4 and get them to work?

    First thing you do is to switch the desktop into Folder View. Next, switch the menu to Classic. Finally, I add the old KDE3 repository, compiled to work with newer versions of openSUSE. I normally then install all KDE3 games, screen savers and Kaffeine/KDE3. Utilities and system functions must still use KDE4 files, but many stand alone KDE3 apps work with KDE4.

    Good luck and Merry Christmas to you!
    My Blog: https://forums.opensuse.org/blogs/jdmcdaniel3/

    Software efficiency halves every 18 months, thus compensating for Moore's Law

    Its James again from Austin, Texas

  3. #3

    Default Re: Help request - KDE 3 on 11.2 new install

    Thanks for quick reply.

    I tried to customize 4 to work like 3. Unsatisfactory. I don't use the mouse if I can help it. KDE 3 "Most Used Applications" at the top of the menu and the way the same sequence at the keyboard always selected the same menu item are the way I work. Can 4 be customized to do that?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    /dev/swat
    Posts
    1,181

    Default Re: Help request - KDE 3 on 11.2 new install

    Linux[openSUSE, KDE], PHP, MySQL, Wordpress, Tech News, etc :
    http://anl4u.com

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    25,547

    Default Re: Help request - KDE 3 on 11.2 new install

    On 2010-12-25 19:36, nospam990 wrote:

    > Is there a way to get an install of 11.2 with KDE 3?


    Just add the KDE3 repo, and install things from it.

    --
    Cheers / Saludos,

    Carlos E. R.
    (from 11.2 x86_64 "Emerald" at Telcontar)

  6. #6

    Default Re: Help request - KDE 3 on 11.2 new install

    I suggest you install OpenSUSE 11.3 from this LiveDVD:

    64-bit version:
    http://susestudio.com/download/94f02...6_64-0.0.1.iso

    32-bit version:
    http://susestudio.com/download/0052e...i686-0.0.1.iso

    I do not see any reason to use the 11.2 release.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    25,547

    Default Re: Help request - KDE 3 on 11.2 new install

    On 2010-12-25 23:06, Ansus wrote:
    >
    > I suggest you install OpenSUSE 11.3 from this LiveDVD:


    What for?

    He asked for kde3 on 11.2, not on 11.3.

    > I do not see any reason to use the 11.2 release.


    I do >:-)

    --
    Cheers / Saludos,

    Carlos E. R.
    (from 11.2 x86_64 "Emerald" at Telcontar)

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Austin - Texas
    Posts
    10,140
    Blog Entries
    48

    Smile Re: Help request - KDE 3 on 11.2 new install

    I tried to customize 4 to work like 3. Unsatisfactory. I don't use the mouse if I can help it. KDE 3 "Most Used Applications" at the top of the menu and the way the same sequence at the keyboard always selected the same menu item are the way I work. Can 4 be customized to do that?
    nospam990, You can get Most recent applications used shown, which is showing the last five programs I ran. This setting is in the Application Launcher Settings (right Click on the main menu icon). Not sure what you refer to about using the keyboard and menu. If you can get KDE3 to work on openSUSE 11.2, then good for you. I am just suggesting that someday. it will not be so. But, I did not like using KDE4 at first either, but I am making the transition. Just something you should consider.

    Thank You,
    My Blog: https://forums.opensuse.org/blogs/jdmcdaniel3/

    Software efficiency halves every 18 months, thus compensating for Moore's Law

    Its James again from Austin, Texas

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,729
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: Help request - KDE 3 on 11.2 new install

    Quote Originally Posted by nospam990 View Post
    Thanks for quick reply.

    I tried to customize 4 to work like 3. Unsatisfactory. I don't use the mouse if I can help it. KDE 3 "Most Used Applications" at the top of the menu and the way the same sequence at the keyboard always selected the same menu item are the way I work. Can 4 be customized to do that?
    Thing is, I have tried it and it's possible as suggested, but for me it was not so pretty. Thats because kde3 isn't really being catered for as if it was part of the official release, so integration is not as it once was.
    Leap 15.1_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  10. #10

    Default Re: Help request - KDE 3 on 11.2 new install

    Quote Originally Posted by jdmcdaniel3 View Post
    nospam990, You can get Most recent applications used shown, which is showing the last five programs I ran. This setting is in the Application Launcher Settings (right Click on the main menu icon). Not sure what you refer to about using the keyboard and menu. If you can get KDE3 to work on openSUSE 11.2, then good for you. I am just suggesting that someday. it will not be so. But, I did not like using KDE4 at first either, but I am making the transition. Just something you should consider.

    Thank You,
    In KDE3, KDE kept track of my use of all applications and had "Most Used Applications" at the top of the menu. So, for example, my favorite browser was always the first item on the menu even if I had used every other application in KDE ONCE since the last time I opened the browser, which is what most "recent" applications does. As near as I can tell, 4 doesn't and can't do that.

    In KDE3 there was a keyboard sequence that selected any menu item. That sequence was determined by the first letter of the application's or submenu's name. If two items had the same first letter, the keyboard sequence required two strokes. As near as I can tell, 4 doesn't and can't do that. Instead it picks a single hot key for each menu item.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •