Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 20 of 20

Thread: Internet Exlorer 9, worse than ever....

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    1,938

    Default Re: Internet Exlorer 9, worse than ever....

    Quote Originally Posted by ken_yap View Post
    I think someone once defined IE as a utility provided by M$ to help you fetch a good browser.
    I've also heard that it's a tool to browse the Internet form your computer and vice versa.

    Best regards,
    Greg
    Best regards,
    Greg

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Adelaide, Australia
    Posts
    961

    Default Re: Internet Exlorer 9, worse than ever....

    Quote Originally Posted by glistwan View Post
    I've also heard that it's a tool to browse the Internet form your computer and vice versa.

    Best regards,
    Greg

    Someone like me just uses IE to download Firefox then I never touch it again. - Anyway I prefer to use an open source browser
    Desktop: Gigabyte GA-Z270-HD3 - Core i7 7700K - openSUSE Leap 42.2 KDE
    Laptop: HP EliteBook 8770W - Core i7 3940XM - openSUSE Leap 42.2 KDE

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Ελλάδα(Αθήνα)-Россия (г. Красноярск)
    Posts
    1,708

    Default Απ: Re: Internet Exlorer 9, worse than ever....

    My advice: do not use microsoft's products
    Πάντα Φιλικά, Στάμος.
    Desktop: openSUSE Leap 15||x86_64||Gnome 3.14 & KDE 5||AMD Ryzen 7 8 core||Nvidia GTX 1070 Ti Gaming Edition
    Γλώσσες Προγραμματισμού: C++, Qt developing.
    http://bit.ly/fT8Hfi

  4. #14

    Default Re: Απ: Re: Internet Exlorer 9, worse than ever....

    ?? so you can actually uninstall IE9 and NOT have windows explorer still 9 ??
    i had that issue with IE7 and HR block Tax cut
    ie7 ( and windows explorer) killed tax cut and i had to do a clean install of xp then use the corporate blocking tool from MS to keep IE7 off the system



  5. #15
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Istanbul, Turkish Republic
    Posts
    46

    Lightbulb Is it possible to use Internet Explorer (bah!) on OpenSUSE 11.4?

    Quote Originally Posted by ken_yap View Post
    I think someone once defined IE as a utility provided by M$ to help you fetch a good browser.
    The reason is that I have a software (SciFinder Web) which only works on Internet Explorer. The software relies heavily upon Java, so I think that is why it must work with IE.

    Secondly, I might consider installing a virtual system. I even tried to use "Install Hypervisor and tools" I saw in the OpenSuse menu. It opened a Xen boot option in the GRUB page. However, I could not install windows XP (which is quite enough for me), because the program says "the chips and hardware is not enough to allow full virtualization"

    As a last option, I am now considering to install Internet Explorer 8 or 9 to OpenSuse (via Wine?). I am not sure it will work though.

    What are your suggestions?

    Thank you.
    BA

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Earth - Denmark
    Posts
    10,730

    Default Re: Internet Exlorer 9, worse than ever....

    On 06/23/2011 10:06 AM, bakkurt wrote:
    >
    > The reason is that I have a software (SciFinder Web) which only works
    > on Internet Explorer.


    this page http://www.cas.org/products/scifindr...x.html#require
    lists Mac OS 10.5 and .6

    > The software relies heavily upon Java, so I think
    > that is why it must work with IE.


    i don't think so, your firefox has a Java plug in..

    now, it is true that the MS implementaion of Java does not conform to
    the standards set up by Sun (Java's creator) and there the web site's
    MS-Java may only work with a client runnign MS-Java..

    hoo hiss!!

    > Secondly, I might consider installing a virtual system. I even tried to
    > use "Install Hypervisor and tools" I saw in the OpenSuse menu. It opened
    > a Xen boot option in the GRUB page. However, I could not install windows
    > XP (which is quite enough for me), because the program says "the chips
    > and hardware is not enough to allow full virtualization"


    i can't help with that except to say: try VirtualBox...you can install
    it with YaST.. but, if you don't have the required "chips and hardware"
    you may run into some trouble....but TRY it if you have at least 1GB of
    ram and a modern CPU...it will probably work..


    > As a last option, I am now considering to install Internet Explorer 8
    > or 9 to OpenSuse (via Wine?). I am not sure it will work though.


    i don't know...maybe someone else will..

    >
    > What are your suggestions?


    do not let MS lock you in:

    1. write SciFinder a nice email and ask them to support firefox on Linux
    also

    and/or

    2. there are several addons which allow firefox on linux to appear to
    the web site to be IE.. try one of those, i have seen several web sites
    which claim to require IE but don't actually, they just require the
    browser to pretend to be IE...

    3. dump MS and buy a Mac

    --
    DD
    Caveat
    Hardware
    [url=http://tinyurl.com/DD-Software]Software[/ul]
    23 June: Sunrise 4:36 AM, Sunset 10:03 PM

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    1,938

    Default Re: Internet Exlorer 9, worse than ever....

    Quote Originally Posted by DenverD View Post
    On 06/23/2011 10:06 AM, bakkurt wrote:
    >The software relies heavily upon Java, so I think
    > that is why it must work with IE.
    This is complete nonsense If it's IE only it must be using something else except Java. The main purpose of Java is software "guaranteed" to being cross platform. (it's dependent on the Java virtual machine though and sometimes some OS underlying stuff)


    Quote Originally Posted by DenverD View Post

    > As a last option, I am now considering to install Internet Explorer 8
    > or 9 to OpenSuse (via Wine?). I am not sure it will work though.


    i don't know...maybe someone else will..
    The easiest way is IEs4Linux.

    Last time I used it was on Ubuntu when I needed IE 6 but they say there is beta support for IE 7, 8 and 9.

    Best regards,
    Greg
    Best regards,
    Greg

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    i am location
    Posts
    1,421

    Default Re: Internet Exlorer 9, worse than ever....

    Quote Originally Posted by glistwan View Post
    I wouldn't use Safari on Windows if I were You. As far as I've heard this version has huge security holes. If You want webkit I would really go for Chrome but if You only need speed I would recommend Opera 11.0. As far as I've tested it it's really fast and I think much less buggy than Safari + less google spying on You.

    Best regards,
    Greg

    Better Chromium. Its opensource.
    +++ ATH0

    . . . . . . . .
    LOGOFF COMPLETE

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    i am location
    Posts
    1,421

    Default Re: Internet Exlorer 9, worse than ever....

    Just to consider.
    If you run Windows you should always use the latest version of everything. They will be more secure than the old versions. Also, if i am not wrong, i think you need the IE for the update service. So it makes no sense to uninstall it and run Firefox instead.
    Haven't read a lot about IE9 and so i am not aware of whats broken or how many holes are there. Just always update.
    +++ ATH0

    . . . . . . . .
    LOGOFF COMPLETE

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Berlin
    Posts
    2,061

    Default Re: Internet Exlorer 9, worse than ever....

    Yet another Windows-thread...

    I know it chit-chat, yet I wonder why we should care about the Internet Explorer at all.

    Anyway, there obviously is a way to run Windows without IE; there is an restriction within the EU that obligates Microsoft to let the user choose which Browser he / she wants to use ( see →here). Choosing an alternative browser will not uninstall the IE, but deactivate it.

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •