Thread: Help I am brand new as of three hours

Default Help I am brand new as of three hours

Hi to all the Opensuse 3.11 and linux geniuses, I have never used linux before and have always wanted to so after much reading last night I downloaded OpenSuse 3.11 Education to my laptop. I am trying to play a dvd in it and says I need a restricted codec which I found on this forum. Now I get the following message and I have no clue what it means locked pid 10386/usr/sbin/packagekitd but in the software center update will not install Thanks for your help.

Default Re: Help I am brand new as of three hours

Hello tgaston35 and welcome to the community!

Quote Originally Posted by tgaston35
    Hi to all the Opensuse 3.11 and linux geniuses, I have never used linux before and have always wanted to so after much reading last night I downloaded OpenSuse 3.11 Education to my laptop. I am trying to play a dvd in it and says I need a restricted codec which I found on this forum. Now I get the following message and I have no clue what it means locked pid 10386/usr/sbin/packagekitd but in the software center update will not install Thanks for your help.
    That error means another application is accessing the package management.
    And you can't have more than one application at the same time.

So check if you don't have YaST Software Management or YaST Software Repositories running in the background.
    Also make sure that there's no updater checking for updates and/or installing updates.

When running KDE there's an applet running in the background called KUpdateApplet.
    You should see it's icon in the bottom right corner.

Good luck!
    Where did I put my coffee cup?
    dir -R /home/* | grep "coffee cup"

To play the dvd and other multimedia please follow the sticky guide in the multimedia section of this forum.

About the error it looks as though You have to package managers opened at once. How are You trying to install the package ?