Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 27

Thread: where are -edit-preferences in FF 3.6 ?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Ferragudo, Portugal
    Posts
    66

    Default where are -edit-preferences in FF 3.6 ?

    I just upgraded from SuSE 11.1 to 11.3
    On my 11.1 system I had Firefox 3.6 installed and worked fine.
    Now on the 11.3 system I have of course Firefox 3.6
    I only cannot access my edit- preferences. The whole -edit- menu is empty.

    I de-installed thru Yast2 the Firefox application, restarted the computer and installed thru Yast2 again the FF application. Unfortunately the -edit- menu is still empty.

    Anyone knows what to do? (I am still a freshman with Linux)

  2. #2

    Default Re: where are -edit-preferences in FF 3.6 ?

    -----BEGIN PGP SIGNED MESSAGE-----
    Hash: SHA1

    Try running the following command to clear things out (in a terminal...
    Alt+F2 then type in xterm if you are not familiar with any other terminals):

    mv ~/.mozilla/firefox ~/.mozilla/firefox.bak

    When done startup Firefox again and see if things are back to normal.

    Good luck.






    On 12/06/2010 04:36 PM, annevance wrote:
    >
    > I just upgraded from SuSE 11.1 to 11.3
    > On my 11.1 system I had Firefox 3.6 installed and worked fine.
    > Now on the 11.3 system I have of course Firefox 3.6
    > I only cannot access my edit- preferences. The whole -edit- menu is
    > empty.
    >
    > I de-installed thru Yast2 the Firefox application, restarted the
    > computer and installed thru Yast2 again the FF application.
    > Unfortunately the -edit- menu is still empty.
    >
    > Anyone knows what to do? (I am still a freshman with Linux)
    >
    >

    -----BEGIN PGP SIGNATURE-----
    Version: GnuPG v2.0.15 (GNU/Linux)
    Comment: Using GnuPG with Mozilla - http://enigmail.mozdev.org/

    iQIcBAEBAgAGBQJM/XgyAAoJEF+XTK08PnB58bEP/0DU1vb2+zPUgKn9MVq7pMw7
    zY6RBDYalSM0Nskw36kf1+rKAxvPtMWk5hkoPB50lutlvgOBRQBm0VyeaDuAXjSk
    twsye2ehyp/rLtFxbPep+jOpWfXPMa+zbW9N+A/5KEGKnWAEA4roT0YK6c/Dw1Dk
    A0XQxP3FpGPvykIMyDB2NiTOlc9/xGuOmMaqJbeVnpUychXfzh0Q6DxfEml1av0T
    4ScPemiiz82FuvHTBsVNTRuxZsh/kJTwxs0ZuHT9pEWteZh1NawUstiEFzGstAOC
    AJEmBlbBaxPhjIwTt+EGfLvzR4+BNPaYkXy7YYH0GW69Qr8KqFh4U7+qY8sc4OU9
    oF1a6fQxjnPumOlCikLYRcz787WLILyZu2XCzGN8oC+1oObKL2DSWRxCinnlzMBw
    /ZYL9Tp+MLIwTwlebBIz1yVo4AA61CCXjJU3RqWuxwFPVMgO40qXioePJOtYoIjC
    USQdCer+4wla8NnHpNCDEMhN5S1zrr0B4IF2CD2m5gFGMMTPCymHX9WoAHXGxUhB
    yTSk7GgT891RPF19tUN5XpINmIvW8oIXWgrZzFKY+mUwwtuhUEDta7uyjoz8s/wP
    0wAMzYUdIEfn1hmYs3kJGRNR/Ns36bWhBvUsyE4c0rsPfOvPADppvV40G+JW4Jky
    occI+IuHsnazBCQ8XVwp
    =v0Of
    -----END PGP SIGNATURE-----

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Austin - Texas
    Posts
    10,140
    Blog Entries
    48

    Smile Re: where are -edit-preferences in FF 3.6 ?

    The short description is I would add the Mozilla repository and switch to that repository. Everything that makes Firefox run will be replaced with the correct files. Other possible issues, your configuration files have become corrupted during the upgrade process. Consider that very few really recommend doing an upgrade and you can do a clean install while maintaining a separate /home area which does not need to be formatted, thus retaining all settings even as you do not really do an upgrade.

    OK, you need to add or confirm you have the following repository (YaST / Software Repository) added to openSUSE 11.3:

    Index of /repositories/mozilla/openSUSE_11.3

    Now, start YaST / Software Management. On the top left, select the view button and pick repository (view). Next, select on the left, the name you gave the Mozilla repository. Notice on the top window showing the packages it says: Switch system packages and select this. All loaded packages that exist in the Mozilla repository will be installed. Using this option should be done only if you are told it is OK. Due to the size of the repository, it is a safe bet to do this and it will not make your situation worse. You may want to restart after making this change.

    Now, try running Firefox again and see if the issue persists. If it does, next I would consider adding a new user to the system. Then log out and back in, trying the new user and run Firefox again and see if the problem still persists. Get back with us on the results of my suggestions.

    Thank You,
    My Blog: https://forums.opensuse.org/blogs/jdmcdaniel3/

    Software efficiency halves every 18 months, thus compensating for Moore's Law

    Its James again from Austin, Texas

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    25,547

    Default Re: where are -edit-preferences in FF 3.6 ?

    On 2010-12-07 01:06, jdmcdaniel3 wrote:
    >
    > The short description is I would add the Mozilla repository and switch
    > to that repository. Everything that makes Firefox run will be replaced
    > with the correct files. Other possible issues, your configuration files
    > have become corrupted during the upgrade process. Consider that very
    > few really recommend doing an upgrade


    Bah! :-P

    This system I use was "cloned" from another machine, 11.0 32 bits to 11.0
    32 bits. Then I upgraded that to 11.2 @ 64 bits. The other machine from
    which I did the cloning had been upgraded from around 8.1 to 10.0, and in
    turn was restored from a 7.3 which in turn had been upgraded from 5.2.

    So yes, this setup have been upgraded from 5.2 to 11.2 with an arch upgrade
    included.

    So don't tell me not to upgrade! >:-)


    Besides, AFAIK, the upgrade process doesn't touch the configuration files
    on user's homes.


    --
    Cheers / Saludos,

    Carlos E. R.
    (from 11.2 x86_64 "Emerald" at Telcontar)

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    25,547

    Default Re: where are -edit-preferences in FF 3.6 ?

    On 2010-12-07 00:36, annevance wrote:
    >
    > I just upgraded from SuSE 11.1 to 11.3


    How exactly did you upgrade? Details, please.

    --
    Cheers / Saludos,

    Carlos E. R.
    (from 11.2 x86_64 "Emerald" at Telcontar)

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Austin - Texas
    Posts
    10,140
    Blog Entries
    48

    Smile Re: where are -edit-preferences in FF 3.6 ?

    Bah! :-P

    This system I use was "cloned" from another machine, 11.0 32 bits to 11.0
    32 bits. Then I upgraded that to 11.2 @ 64 bits. The other machine from
    which I did the cloning had been upgraded from around 8.1 to 10.0, and in
    turn was restored from a 7.3 which in turn had been upgraded from 5.2.

    So yes, this setup have been upgraded from 5.2 to 11.2 with an arch upgrade
    included.

    So don't tell me not to upgrade! >:-)


    Besides, AFAIK, the upgrade process doesn't touch the configuration files
    on user's homes.
    Carlos, were you attempting to provide help to our OP here? Have we not seen issues here when upgrades are attempted? Has not clean installs been recommend by many individuals in our forum? I am extremely happy you have had no issues doing upgrades Carlos. You are very obviously an expert at using openSUSE, but not everyone can make that claim. Perhaps suggestions to fix the OP problem would be your best course of action in this message.

    Thank You,
    My Blog: https://forums.opensuse.org/blogs/jdmcdaniel3/

    Software efficiency halves every 18 months, thus compensating for Moore's Law

    Its James again from Austin, Texas

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Ferragudo, Portugal
    Posts
    66

    Default Re: where are -edit-preferences in FF 3.6 ?

    on the left view I only see the open suse 11.3 oss, non oss, update and twice 11.3-1.82
    I didn't give the mozilla repo a name
    when I click "switch system" I am afraid of a complete SuSE re install.

    I did a search for mozilla. deinstalled all the packages and installed the again.
    Maybe therefore there is no other name for mozilla?
    BTW All is installed in usr/lib/firefox . The usr/lib/mozilla directory has only one file the kmozillahelper.
    In usr/lib I have now a firefox directory and a firefox.old directory

    makes sense?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Ferragudo, Portugal
    Posts
    66

    Default Re: where are -edit-preferences in FF 3.6 ?

    I bought thru Amazon.com a dvd with the 11.3 version.
    When installing I had a choice of a new installation or an update.
    I choose new and this resulted in a successful installation except for the resolution which was too low. Eventually I installed 11.1 again (new install) and upgraded firefox from 3.0 to 3.6
    Result: a perfect running system.
    Then I decided to install 11.3 again but now use the update choice.
    Result: The high resolution, but now with this FF issue.

    Another complication I just experienced is that when I try the edit, preferences I see an empty menu. When after I close it, I cannot select my already open tabs anymore.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Austin - Texas
    Posts
    10,140
    Blog Entries
    48

    Smile Re: where are -edit-preferences in FF 3.6 ?

    on the left view I only see the open suse 11.3 oss, non oss, update and twice 11.3-1.82
    I didn't give the mozilla repo a name
    when I click "switch system" I am afraid of a complete SuSE re install.

    I did a search for mozilla. deinstalled all the packages and installed the again.
    Maybe therefore there is no other name for mozilla?
    BTW All is installed in usr/lib/firefox . The usr/lib/mozilla directory has only one file the kmozillahelper.
    In usr/lib I have now a firefox directory and a firefox.old directory

    makes sense?
    I normally do not suggest one uninstall and reinstall an application as it can have unintended consequences, such as folders being removed and not added back. It is OK to just update a program, but most often your two worst issues are, applications are loaded from mixed repositories that need to ALL come from the same one OR corrupted setup files which may be caused by a openSUSE update, but updates of openSUSE ARE allowed and many people do so successful, meaning that it is OK in trying a valid user option of updating your openSUSE version. OK, now that that is out of the way.

    You need to revisit YaST / Software Repositories. Find your Mozilla entry and edit it OR just delete or remove it and start OVER. Enter the following URL:

    Code:
    http://download.opensuse.org/repositories/mozilla/openSUSE_11.3/


    Now this time, name it Mozilla so that you can find it and then proceed with the procedure to switch to this repository. It is OK, it will work better or no worse than you have right no. You are only switching to use the Mozilla repository which only contains Mozilla files which do all work together, so trust me on this.

    Now, start YaST / Software Management. On the top left, select the view button and pick repository (view). Next, select on the left, the name you gave the Mozilla repository. Notice on the top window showing the packages it says: Switch system packages and select this. All loaded packages that exist in the Mozilla repository will be installed. Using this option should be done only if you are told it is OK. Due to the size of the repository, it is a safe bet to do this and it will not make your situation worse. You may want to restart after making this change.
    Thank You,
    My Blog: https://forums.opensuse.org/blogs/jdmcdaniel3/

    Software efficiency halves every 18 months, thus compensating for Moore's Law

    Its James again from Austin, Texas

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Ferragudo, Portugal
    Posts
    66

    Default Re: where are -edit-preferences in FF 3.6 ?

    I think I followed your instructions.
    deleted the two unknown packages and downloaded the new repository, called it mozilla and accepted the switch.
    Shouldn't the package now be in the folder usr/lib/Mozilla? cause that folder was not changed, the usr/lib/firefox folder however has the today's date.
    When I run FF from the icon in the plasma dashbord, nothing has changed.
    I would expect the link to the execute file to have changed or do I have to point to another file .
    Also changed to another user. But here again the same problem.
    But tomorrow is another day for solving this issue.
    Thank you sofar

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •