Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: multiple screens/windows

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    245

    Default multiple screens/windows

    Hi,

    I like openSUSE 11.3 very much.

    I have a problem though : when I move the mouse pointer to the upper left corner of the screen, my active window is immediately replaced by 4, smaller windows (I think that at the beginning I had a cube).

    I'm afraid this gobbles up a lot of memory and henceforth slows down my computer.

    Is it possible to have only one window "active" at the time ? If I want, say a terminal screen, I can always activate it via the "Computer" button ?

    Thanks for your answer,

    W

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Austin - Texas
    Posts
    10,140
    Blog Entries
    48

    Smile Re: multiple screens/windows

    There is nothing to worry about, it is one of your many settings to view all active Windows. To modify its operation in KDE open the menu and select Personnel Settings / General Tab / Look & Feel / Desktop / Screen Edges. In the picture of the monitor, you will notice a box that is not filled in in the top left hand corner. This is set to display all active Windows. You can disable this function or change which corner, but it is not wasting memory per say unless you want to disable all such graphic goings on.

    Thank You,
    My Blog: https://forums.opensuse.org/blogs/jdmcdaniel3/

    Software efficiency halves every 18 months, thus compensating for Moore's Law

    Its James again from Austin, Texas

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    245

    Default Re: multiple screens/windows

    Quote Originally Posted by jdmcdaniel3 View Post
    There is nothing to worry about, it is one of your many settings to view all active Windows. To modify its operation in KDE open the menu and select Personnel Settings / General Tab / Look & Feel / Desktop / Screen Edges. In the picture of the monitor, you will notice a box that is not filled in in the top left hand corner. This is set to display all active Windows. You can disable this function or change which corner, but it is not wasting memory per say unless you want to disable all such graphic goings on.

    Thank You,
    Thanks for your answer. I forgot to mention I use GNOME. So I still do not know how to do it.

    This leads me to a question, which is probably hard to answer : which environment is better : KDE or GNOME ? For which environment will I find more programs and hints/tips ?

    Thanks for your answer,

    W

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Montreal, Québec
    Posts
    833

    Default Re : Re: multiple screens/windows

    Quote Originally Posted by wba View Post
    Thanks for your answer. I forgot to mention I use GNOME. So I still do not know how to do it.
    It is compiz that manage this. In the configuration panel (I don't remember if it's called like that in GNOME), you should have the Compiz config settings manager (or type ccsm in a terminal). here's some reference for you : CCSM - Compiz Wiki

    This leads me to a question, which is probably hard to answer : which environment is better : KDE or GNOME ? For which environment will I find more programs and hints/tips ?
    I would say : it is a matter of tastes and preferences.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Austin - Texas
    Posts
    10,140
    Blog Entries
    48

    Smile Re: Re : Re: multiple screens/windows

    Thanks for your answer. I forgot to mention I use GNOME. So I still do not know how to do it.

    This leads me to a question, which is probably hard to answer : which environment is better : KDE or GNOME ? For which environment will I find more programs and hints/tips ?

    Thanks for your answer,

    W
    Well, if you look around the forum, you may find several such threads on the merits of KDE verse Gnome. It all comes down to preference and I decided to go with KDE which is the default desktop for openSUSE, though it is hard to say just how much having the KDE bullet set by default during the installation is worth. Still, if you asked my opinion and wanted my help, I would go with KDE. Then, when I tell how to perform some function here, the instructions will be correct for you if you use KDE. Further, you do need to mention your desktop type when asking for help here.

    Thank You,
    My Blog: https://forums.opensuse.org/blogs/jdmcdaniel3/

    Software efficiency halves every 18 months, thus compensating for Moore's Law

    Its James again from Austin, Texas

  6. #6

    Default Re: Re : Re: multiple screens/windows

    System -> Preferences -> Desktop Effects
    uncheck "Enable desktop effects"

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    245

    Default Re: Re : Re: multiple screens/windows

    Quote Originally Posted by please_try_again View Post
    System -> Preferences -> Desktop Effects
    uncheck "Enable desktop effects"
    Thanks for your answer.

    However : desktop effects are and were unchecked. So this does not help me.

    I still have my four "boxes" - as a matter of fact, I think it formerly was a cube.

    W

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •