Thread: need help to install driver

Default need help to install driver

Good day all, i'm a pure noob with linux and trying to install some driver to be able to retrieve data from my USB blood pressure monitor.libomron - Open source driver for Omron USB products

I'm only running Suse 11.2 on my laptop and i did find some driver here no RPM https://github.com/qdot/libomron but just do not know how to install it, i tried to get in the folder ''CD'' and then ''Cmakefile'' but doesn't work for me and do not have a clue on how to do it, so i would really appreciate a step by step instruction for dummy if someone can actually run it thank you.

stephane@linux-posm:~/Download/qdot-libomron-2b0d69f> ls
    CMakeCache.txt CMakeLists.txt doc include osx README.asciidoc swig
    CMakeFiles compily_buildd examples LICENSE.txt python src
    stephane@linux-posm:~/Download/qdot-libomron-2b0d69f>

stephane@linux-posm:~> /home/stephane/Download/qdot-libomron-2b0d69f
    bash: /home/stephane/Download/qdot-libomron-2b0d69f: is a directory
    stephane@linux-posm:~> cd /home/stephane/Download/qdot-libomron-2b0d69f
    stephane@linux-posm:~/Download/qdot-libomron-2b0d69f> cmakefiles
    If 'cmakefiles' is not a typo you can use command-not-found to lookup the package that contains it, like this:
    cnf cmakefiles
    stephane@linux-posm:~/Download/qdot-libomron-2b0d69f> cmakelist
    If 'cmakelist' is not a typo you can use command-not-found to lookup the package that contains it, like this:
    cnf cmakelist
    stephane@linux-posm:~/Download/qdot-libomron-2b0d69f>

Default Re: need help to install driver

Hi there,

Glad to see you are adventurous enough to try to use Linux more and build this yourself. IMHO, this is one of the greatest strengths of Linux - the ability to build software and drivers which would otherwise be unavailable to you. However, it does take some learning.