Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 47

Thread: CODE tags

  1. #21
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    20,193
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: CODE tags

    Maybe imagebeam should be educated on this...

  2. #22
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    1,391

    Default Re: CODE tags

    What dvhenry said, make it easy, like the quote button. I'm also having to go to Advanced too often, like above
    Yes, this is what I am trying to say.

    It annoys me that the full editor doesn't come up and I am forced to exercise my finger even more to get where I want to be. And I raised the issue with Kim, but apparently we are stuck with this ATM
    But perhaps one extra button in the basic editor, for code tags is negotiable? If a user can see a simple way to use code tags I think they are far more likely to use them.

  3. #23
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    25,547

    Default Re: CODE tags

    On 2010-12-04 02:36, ken yap wrote:
    >
    >
    >
    >


    This post came on NNTP empty. In the forum I see the +1.0000

    --
    Cheers / Saludos,

    Carlos E. R.
    (from 11.2 x86_64 "Emerald" at Telcontar)

  4. #24
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    5,500

    Default Re: CODE tags

    Quote Originally Posted by dvhenry View Post
    Yes, this is what I am trying to say.

    But perhaps one extra button in the basic editor, for code tags is negotiable? If a user can see a simple way to use code tags I think they are far more likely to use them.
    Yes please, let's have it.

  5. #25
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    UTC+10
    Posts
    9,686
    Blog Entries
    4

    Default Re: CODE tags

    Quote Originally Posted by robin_listas View Post
    On 2010-12-04 02:36, ken yap wrote:
    >
    >
    >
    >


    This post came on NNTP empty. In the forum I see the +1.0000

    --
    Cheers / Saludos,

    Carlos E. R.
    (from 11.2 x86_64 "Emerald" at Telcontar)
    Sounds like a NNTP gateway problem then. Maybe I should have made it a bit more than +1.0?

  6. #26
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    24,881

    Default Re: CODE tags

    I hope that the discussion about Carl's image is not swamping the OP's request.

    +1.000.000 from me.

    Why do we have to go Advanced to get the most used (well it should be) button available?
    I do it all the time and it seems to be just a small loss of time and energy, but the big thing is that new users (many uers) never learn to use the feature when it is hidden like it is!
    I am on the brink of refusing to read computer output not posted wth CODE tags, get a headache and still can not read/understand it.
    Henk van Velden

  7. #27
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,729
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: CODE tags

    Yep - It's a big pain in the butt.

    I noticed something on Mint forum recently when I was replying to a thread, that had been answered by someone else during the time I was typing my reply. When I click 'Submit' it didn't submit, but switch to show me the reply that had been added in the mean time, leaving me the choice to submit or not the reply I had prepared. Quite handy little feature.
    And the full editor is there from the the go. AND when you click #(code) the cursor is placed in between the tags, also handy.
    Leap 15.1_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  8. #28
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    24,881

    Default Re: CODE tags

    Code:
    This is code
    And the cursor was placed right between the tags, as you wished.
    Henk van Velden

  9. #29
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Earth - Denmark
    Posts
    10,730

    Default Re: CODE tags

    caf4926 wrote:
    > And the full editor is there from the the go. AND when you click
    > #(code) the cursor is placed in between the tags, also handy.


    you can have the full editor here "from the go" also, just click
    Settings > General Settings > [Scroll down to] Miscellaneous Options >
    Message Editor Interface > and pick "Enhanced Interface - Full WYSIWYG
    Editing" .. then you always have what you get by clicking "reply" twice..

    --
    DenverD
    CAVEAT: http://is.gd/bpoMD [posted via NNTP w/openSUSE 10.3]

  10. #30
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    24,881

    Default Re: CODE tags

    @DenverD, thanks for that, but the main pain lies in the fact that the button is not there by default to be used easily by newcomers. And when you try to teacgppl when and hoe to use it, that descriptiion is to be so elaborate that I allways think I am talking nuts to them: click the #, but you have to be in Advanced, which you can become ... blablabla.

    In Forums like ours it must be at the forefront and not hidden somewhere if this is a forum about cosmetics.
    Henk van Velden

Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •