Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Firefox and JRE

  1. #1

    Default Firefox and JRE

    A bit of a newbie to openSUSE here. So, I have everything pretty much figured out on my laptop. At least everything I use. The only thing that isn't working yet is the java-1_6_0-openjdk and Firefox. Pages that use JRE still don't work. I know I have it installed because of YaST but how do I make the links so that Firefox can actually use it?

    Where is the Firefox directories to make the links? A step-by-step walk-through would be great. Also, just point me to another thread if I am bringing up something that has already been posted...

    Thanks.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    West Virginia Sector 13
    Posts
    15,762

    Default Re: Firefox and JRE

    You might try removing openjdk and installing real java. You can do that in Yast-Software Management

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,733
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: Firefox and JRE

    Leap 15.1_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  4. #4

    Default Re: Firefox and JRE

    Don't I have to link? If so, how do I do that?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,733
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: Firefox and JRE

    Quote Originally Posted by caleb782734 View Post
    Don't I have to link? If so, how do I do that?
    It should just work
    Are you saying it doesn't?
    Leap 15.1_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    1,926

    Default Re: Firefox and JRE

    Quote Originally Posted by caleb782734 View Post
    Don't I have to link? If so, how do I do that?
    Yast creates (or should create) the links for You. You probably have them already but they most likely link to the openjdk **** version (from my experience) of java. As the guys say install the proper one from sun or oracle or whatever its called nowadays.

    Best regards,
    Greg

  7. #7

    Default Re: Firefox and JRE

    Quote Originally Posted by caf4926 View Post
    It should just work
    Are you saying it doesn't?
    Yeah, it definitely doesn't work. I have the real Java from Sun installed too.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,733
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: Firefox and JRE

    If you do
    Code:
    rpm -qa | grep java
    You should see something like:
    Code:
    java-ca-certificates-1-5.3.noarch
    java-1_6_0-sun-1.6.0.u22-1.2.1.x86_64
    java-1_6_0-sun-plugin-1.6.0.u22-1.2.1.x86_64
    timezone-java-2010l-0.3.1.noarch
    It might be worth you reading this
    Installing 32-bit Java the Yast way
    Leap 15.1_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  9. #9

    Default Re: Firefox and JRE

    Quote Originally Posted by caf4926 View Post
    It might be worth you reading this
    Installing 32-bit Java the Yast way
    This was all I needed. Thanks. Problem resolved.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,733
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: Firefox and JRE

    Quote Originally Posted by caleb782734 View Post
    This was all I needed. Thanks. Problem resolved.
    Excellent - Thanks
    Leap 15.1_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •