Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: Openoffice headless server

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    NW Alabama
    Posts
    54

    Question Openoffice headless server

    Does anyone Know how to set up Openoffice headless server on openSuse 11.3 ?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    UTC+10
    Posts
    9,686
    Blog Entries
    4

    Default Re: Openoffice headless server

    What is the usage scenario?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Mangfall, Germany
    Posts
    1,490

    Default Re: Openoffice headless server

    If you use Yast the depo is

    URL: http://www2.ati.com/suse/11.3

    and the category should be automatically set to YUM

    You cannot browse the URL. Is that what you mean by headless?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Earth - Denmark
    Posts
    10,730

    Default Re: Openoffice headless server

    keellambert wrote:

    > You cannot browse the URL. Is that what you mean by headless?


    http://www.answers.com/main/ntquery?s=headless+server

    --
    DenverD
    CAVEAT: http://is.gd/bpoMD [posted via NNTP w/openSUSE 10.3]

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    NW Alabama
    Posts
    54

    Default Re: Openoffice headless server

    Here is a link of what I'm trying to do YABS

    Here is the script named openoffice.sh that I put in /etc/init.d

    Code:
    #!/bin/bash
        # openoffice.org headless server script
        #
        # chkconfig: 2345 80 30
        # description: headless openoffice server script
        # processname: openoffice
        #
        # Author: Vic Vijayakumar
        # Modified by Uwe Stark
        #
        OOo_HOME=/usr/lib/ooo3/program
        SOFFICE_PATH=$OOo_HOME/soffice
        PIDFILE=/var/run/openoffice-server.pid
    
        set -e
    
        case "$1" in
        start)
        if [ -f $PIDFILE ]; then
        echo "OpenOffice headless server has already started."
        sleep 5
        exit
        fi
        echo "Starting OpenOffice headless server"
        $SOFFICE_PATH -headless -nologo -nofirststartwizard -accept="socket,host=127.0.0.1,port=8100;urp" & > /dev/null 2>&1
        touch $PIDFILE
        ;;
        stop)
        if [ -f $PIDFILE ]; then
        echo "Stopping OpenOffice headless server."
        killall -9 soffice && killall -9 soffice.bin
        rm -f $PIDFILE
        exit
        fi
        echo "Openoffice headless server is not running."
        exit
        ;;
        *)
        echo "Usage: $0 {start|stop}"
        exit 1
        esac
        exit 0
    I am trying to use Openoffice from another computer on my network

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    UTC+10
    Posts
    9,686
    Blog Entries
    4

    Default Re: Openoffice headless server

    Just ssh -X to the server and run OO on the server, displaying to your desktop's display.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    NW Alabama
    Posts
    54

    Default Re: Openoffice headless server

    Quote Originally Posted by ken_yap View Post
    Just ssh -X to the server and run OO on the server, displaying to your desktop's display.
    Can you explain a little more.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Earth - Denmark
    Posts
    10,730

    Default Re: Openoffice headless server

    sczlittle wrote:
    >
    > Can you explain a little more.


    do you know how to ssh to the server?

    what kind of computer are you wanting to use to contact the server?

    well, is there a good reason to not want to just install OpenOffice ON
    that same computer, rather than a server?

    --
    DenverD
    CAVEAT: http://is.gd/bpoMD [posted via NNTP w/openSUSE 10.3]

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    NW Alabama
    Posts
    54

    Default Re: Openoffice headless server

    I am using a program called YABS.
    No I have never ssh to a server.
    I 3 linux boxes(all Suse 11.3) and server (Suse 11.3).
    If I use openoffice with YABS on the personal computer openoffice becomes unusable on those computers. You have to KILL soffice manually. And sometime that doesn't work. YABS uses openoffice for templates and converting to pdf.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Earth - Denmark
    Posts
    10,730

    Default Re: Openoffice headless server

    sczlittle wrote:
    > I am using a program called 'YABS' (http://openyabs.org).


    ok, i need to back out of trying to help you because i don't the
    understand the benefit of using YABS to put openOffice on a server and
    then connecting to it..

    is that what are used to doing with Microsoft Office? one copy on one
    server and then everyone goes there?

    anyway, if YABS does not tell you (in their documentation) how to set
    it up and use it, then i don't know how i should be able to figure
    that out (without installing all of it) and then tell you how to do it..

    sorry....say, does YABS have a forum of experts to help you?

    --
    DenverD
    CAVEAT: http://is.gd/bpoMD [posted via NNTP w/openSUSE 10.3]

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •