Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: 11.3 crashed 5 times(!!!) within 25 minutes...UGH!

Exclamation 11.3 crashed 5 times(!!!) within 25 minutes...UGH!

hello, friends.
    i just installed 11.3 from live cd--after a recent update basically wiped my whole 11.2 setup into oblivion.

..i want to say that i like 11.3 better, however, i have not had a chance to even use it...
    ....after installation, and then updating and adding repos, i tried to install a couple programs through yast. on the three occasions of trying, the computer crashed--screen goes blank, the CAP/NUM lock lights flash on and off.
    ..i tried to install adobe reader from their site two times, and the same thing happened twice--screen goes blank, the CAP/NUM lock lights flash on and off.

i'm just beginning to get my computer back in order, after my 11.2 died.
    and since installing 11.3, i can even begin to begin!!

will someone please help me diagnose and resolve this?
    let me know what you need to know, and i will do my best to help you help me.

-->sbkra

Blog Entries

Default Re: 11.3 crashed 5 times(!!!) within 25 minutes...UGH!

Quote Originally Posted by sabaka View Post
    let me know what you need to know, and i will do my best to help you help me.
    We need to know details on your hardware ... what graphics (exact card ... ) , what graphic driver were you using ? If this is a laptop which model.

Did you do the md5sum comparison of the downloaded ISO file (before burning) against the md5sum posted on the openSUSE web site? If so, did the numbers match? When you burned the CD did you burn it on the same PC as you tried to install ? If you burned it on a different PC, was the age of their CD drives reasonably similar ? Did you burn at the slowest speed your burner allow to a high quality media (not some bargain basement sale CD). Did you burn to a CD +/- R and not to a CD RW ? Did you run the mediacheck on the installation CD before burning? Did it pass ?